We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arroyo Vista Inn
Nearby Hotels
$310
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GreenTree Pasadena Inn(Pasadena)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$163
$147
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$108
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town(Pasadena)(Great Value!)
$149
$139
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alhambra Hotel(Alhambra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
177
33
16
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
33
16
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesepasadena areathe san gabriel mountainsbed and breakfastcraftsman styleother guestsprepared breakfastoccidental collegelargest roomrose bowlhuntington gardensoak terracelos angelesa wonderful place to staydowntown layogurtcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 235 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Even seeing all the high online ratings before our trip, Arroyo Vista Inn exceeded our expectations. Very pleasant staff and owner, excellent breakfasts, clean and comfortable. We definitely are planning to stay here again on our next visit to LA!

Room Tip: First time staying at Arroyo Vista Inn, and highly recommend the Veranda room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Tucked into a hillside in Pasadena, you will find historic home, run by very welcoming and very helpful people. We walked to dinner, through a small residential neighborhood, less than a mile from the Inn, and also walked less than a mile to the South Pasadena Metro Rail stop in the same nice neighborhood. It seemed to take just minutes to get there and then on to Chinatown, Union Station -- connecting to the entire rail network -- and on to Little Tokyo. Every morning out for a jog along the Arroyo Seco National Trail, without even having to get into the car -- and this is in metro LA ! The Huntington Museum, Descanso Gardens and Nuccio's Nursery (with one of the highest quality and greatest variety of camellia's for purchase in the U.S.) are all within a 5 and 7 mile drive. I agree with the reviewer "baywanderer", that this is not your classic small 5 star B&B, in a unique tourist or natural setting. But, when you look at each element being rated separately and consider the context of greater urban L.A., this is a special place to stay, well worth experiencing

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I am not one to write these reviews, but I recently stayed again at the Arroyo Vista Inn and thought it deserved to be recognized as one of the hidden treasures of South Pasadena. I have stayed here for both business and pleasure. With every visit, I marvel at the tranquil surroundings, beautiful appointments, and consistently excellent service. I love the eclectic furnishings, with leanings toward the Restoration Hardware look. I am not one to like frilly B&Bs, so this is right up my alley. The owners are charming and welcoming. There is nothing like sitting on the front porch watching the sun set and sharing wine and cheese with the owners, Pat and "Farmer" Russ. They are not intrusive, but ask them join you for some of their complementary wine and you won't be disappointed with the company! Breakfast has never let me down. The fruit is always fresh (frequently grown by "Farmer" Russ), the lattes are perfection, and the healthy choices are always delicious. On top of it all, the place is eco-friendly. Last word of advice - don't miss the cookies and toffee.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

There are several pluses: (1) an isolated location up the hill: (2) a well prepared breakfast and (3) good management, but the rooms and overall interior while decent simply do not come up to the standard of top class b and bs we have stayed in elsewhere. The neighborhood can best be described an mediocre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a stately refurbished victorian style home, happily, retrofitted to be "Green". The rooms are spacious and graciously furnished with period pieces. The owner, Pat, along with her week-end chef assistant serve beautiful, healthful, and delicious breakfasts. The living room always has home baked chocolate chip cookies under a glass cover, and wine and cheese are offered at the end of each day. The Inn is hidden in plain sight up a narrow winding road. We missed it almost each time we returned in the dark. A ight at the entrance might help. We look forward to returning on future trips to the area.

Room Tip: choose a room on a lower floor if stairs are an issue. There is no elevator. There are 3 floors.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquieHamptonBays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews