We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE!!”
Review of Arroyo Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arroyo Vista Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Upon arrival my girlfriends and I were pretty impressed with the place. The place was really cute and the view in the morning when you wake up is spectacular. Right away we discussed coming back and using this place as our little getaway from the outside world. It's too bad that we didn't leave this B&B feeling the same way....

We woke up in the morning to the smell of breakfast and my girlfriend and I were pretty excited about eating there. We were served coffee and within 2 minutes the owner came out (Pat) and introduced herself wanting to know exactly which room we stayed in. We told her and she was said she was trying to figure out what was going on because no one told her we would stay for breakfast and then she walked away. Apparently there must have been a miscommunication and if there was a problem I really think she should have talked to us about it. Instead she chose to go into the kitchen and talk about us to one of the workers while we were still within earshot! On top of that there were other guest having breakfast and I'm pretty sure everyone knew she was in there talking about us.

My girlfriend decided to address the issue with the owner and ask if there was anything we could do. That's when she went off about how she was a small business owner and wasn't aware that we would be staying for breakfast and it didn't make her feel good that she didn't know we would be there. Apparently this whole thing she was going off about was over 1 extra breakfast. The cost of it was $15 which we happily paid for the misunderstanding. My problem with the situation was she should not have made us feel uncomfortable and talk behind our backs to her employees and in front of other guests. She made us feel like we were thieves stealing from her or something.

Bottom line, I would never come back here because of the way I was treated.

Note to Pat: I really hope that $15 goes a long way for you. My girlfriends and I are not only never coming back here or referring you any business, but now you have this review to show how you treat guests.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WandaWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 21, 2011

First, the person who wrote this review was never a registered guest at Arroyo Vista Inn. I had no knowledge that she was even coming to the Inn. Second, the person who did register for the room told me very specifically the night before that she could not stay overnight because she could not find a babysitter for her child. In fact, the registered guest said no one would occupy the room overnight. The registered guest said she just wanted a quiet place to talk to her friend for a few hours. In an effort to be accommodating, I brought the guest wine even though it was well after the wine and cheese hour.
The next morning I was in disbelief to see there were two extra guests at breakfast, neither of whom was accounted for in any way. The bed and breakfast is an extension of my home. I feel a responsibility to the other guests to know who is in the building and to keep it safe and secure. We keep a white board with names of guests for convenience, safety and liability reasons. Needless to say, these two women were never on the white board. Apparently, all three of these very young women did not appreciate the security concerns others guests might have or the liability concerns that I have, not to mention the surprise of unexpected guests for breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have been staying at the Arroyo Vista frequently for several years when I was on business in the LA area. It is a lovely place. After a long day of travel and business it is soothing to arrive at the Arroyo Vista.

In addition, I recently brought a group of colleagues to the Arroyo Vista when we had meetings near by. We could not have hoped for a more hospitable experience. The food is great and you get service when you need it and privacy when you want it.

This is a great place for business and leisure travelers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Enjoyable B&B with first rate accommodations and great breakfast. Large rooms with great views; large bathroom; good towels and bedding. Easy access to S. Pasadena and Pasadena. Walkable neighborhoods. Nice indoor and outdoor sitting areas. Breakfast, afternoon wine & cheese, newspapers and comfy chairs make being there a treat. Would easily recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor - Sunrise View; it was a large room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 280traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

What a surprise to get off the highway and find the inn so close yet so secluded from the roadways. A winding drive from street level leads a very atractive compound tucked into the side of the hillside. The broad porch with comfortable seating, with the sound of water from the fountain and vista through the trees out to the valley and hills beyond makes for a peaceful setting. It's a short car ride from downtown Pasadena.

Wonderful breakfasts, Very comfortable room in a beautifully detaiiled craftsman style house. Porches on the second floor allow for private space to read and chat, or to star gaze. The innkeepers' service was perfect, friendly, and gracious. We had the additional need to host a special event and the innkeepers were able to accommmodate seamlessly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have reviewed many hotels. I booked it early. It looked amazing. I knew I was choosing the least expensive room, but was so disappointed when I heard that a huge discount was given to my fellow travelers. I inquired about an upgrade, but the owner was very distracted and rude. Beware: the rooms on the third floor do NOT have windows that open. This was a worry for me and I felt very claustrophobic. It is such a BEAUTIFUL place. The breakfast and staff are A+. I left really sad and disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay +++to have the amazing rooms. DO NOT book the third floor. Do not expect any sincere personalit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 3, 2011

This guest indeed chose and booked one of the least expensive rooms which have fewer amenities. When she saw the more expensive rooms that her companions had booked, she said in front of them and me, ”Why couldn’t I get a room like that?” I told her she could have any room available and receive the same discount that her friends got. Instead of taking that offer she asked for a free upgrade to one of our most expensive rooms and threatened to write a bad review unless I upgraded her for free. I was not about to give away a more expensive room just because a guest threatened to write a bad review. I’m glad that this person found the Arroyo Vista Inn “a BEAUTIFUL place” and “the breakfast and staff are A+,” but am taken aback that someone resorts to personal attacks when they don’t get what they want for free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This bed and breakfast is so well designed and accomadating it is like being at your own home... only the best part is you do not have to do the cooking or cleaning. I always enjoy my stays at Arroyo Vista Inn because all the rooms have a unique feel to them and the view is absolutely gorgeous. I love the inn keepers and the food is amazing. The comfort and accomadation is some of the best I have ever revieced. I truly recommend this bed and breakfast to all my friends and family because I would not want anyone I know to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a jacuzzi tub :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had been doing another South Pasadena B&B for years for our spring getaway. But it had gotten a bit grey around the edges, so we tried the pricier Arroyo Vista. Beautiful craftsman home, breath-taking view. Comfy and roomy room with awesome candy by the bed. Walkable to South Pas and just far enough to walk off one of the gourmet dinners of the various South Pas eateries. Ohmigosh, the hot breakfasts were to die for, hot and tasty. Great cookies in the common room. Enjoyed talking with the owners and other guests the first morning. What interesting folks! I stopped short of giving the place an excellent rating only because the second night the room had not been made up (and I had been spending all day thinking about that bedside fudge!) and the second morning the owners were nowhere to be found. The overall experience was so awesome that I couldn't bring myself to try to find them to ask whether making up the room was or was not to be expected, but it leaves a question mark hanging about whether we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirdBikingBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 7, 2011

We strive to provide an excellent experience for every guest who comes to Arroyo Vista Inn. We hope this can be seen from the overall tone of our guest reviews. We are happy that this guest enjoyed the breakfasts, the homemade cookies and candy, the views, the great old house, and the other guests. (We have the most interesting and fabulous guests...Check out our blog, "Arroyo Vista Inn Guests Are Talking About...") Because this guest visited five months ago (April), we are unable to determine how the cleaning of his room was overlooked. In order to avoid a future recurrence for any guest, we have instituted a new cleaning checklist that will identify the individual who cleans each room. This new procedure should provide the extra accountability to prevent a recurrence of inconvenience to any guest. We look forward to the return of this guest so we may try again to earn his "excellent" rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Pasadena
1.5 mi away
GreenTree Inn & Suites Alhambra
3.2 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.1 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
3.1 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,424 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroyo Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Vista Inn

Address: 335 Monterey Rd, South Pasadena, CA 91030-3524
Location: United States > California > South Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Pasadena
Price Range: $151 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arroyo Vista Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 Craftsman home completely restored with all modern amenities perched on top of a hill on a 2-acre property. Many of the rooms have fabulous views of the city and the mountains. Several rooms have porches or balconies. Several have state of the art spa tubs. All the rooms have luxurious linens and window treatments. The rooms are furnished with a simple yet sophisticated combination of antiques and contemporary furniture. The Inn is centrally located 15 minutes from Downtown Los Angeles and 5 minutes from Pasadena. Vacation travelers will enjoy the fact that we are within one hour's drive of many Southern California attractions - Disneyland, Universal Studios, Getty Center, Huntington Library, Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach, Norton Simon Museum, Regan Library, Old Town Pasadena, Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the South Coast Plaza (shopping). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arroyo Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing