We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for large groups”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Oak Tree Inn
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level Contributor
304 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good for large groups”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Have been here many times with family and have always found the food excellent. Was particularly impressed on this occasion when I came with large party of 14 people. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mid-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
427 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“A top notch Chinese restaurant in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We were guests having a Saturday lunch with relatives and were blown away by the great food and excellent service. Our friends were very familiar with the style of Chinese cooking here -- it's not pretentious but very honest with well prepared dishes in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Peking Duck was exceptional with a perfectly seasoned and roasted bird. Their beef steak had a great honey flavor and was tender and succulent. Mayonnaise prawns, sautéed rock cod, salt and pepper pork chop, chicken chow mein, beef chow fun, sautéed gai Lon, hot and sour soup--you name it-- we're all done well and, while not something to blow you away , they were all done well and used fresh ingredients. The quiet and airy surroundings, very clean restaurant, and good service made the lunch something we treasured and enjoyed. There's plenty of good Chinese restaurants in LA but not many in South Passdena and few that know how to provide good comfortable service in a nice surrounding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shrimp oh so yummy”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a last minute food delivery...oh the shrimp dish was great! Delivery was fast and friendly. The portions were good. If you want your food spicy you need to tell them when you order. We will order from them again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Who'd Believe South Pasadena Has the Best Chinese Food in the Area”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am a crab nut! I love it when you sentence your crab to death and you know it is fresh. The ginger crab here is the best. I have now visited the place four times and each time the food was excellent. The service is excellent. I recommend Oak Tree without reservations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for anniversary”
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We just celebrated our 45th anniversary at Oak Tree. The food, service, atmosphere was perfect. Our party from five years old to 68 was from across the country and from Moscow; we like all kinds of food; everybody left happy. It was a very special night

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HondaDriver007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Tree Inn also viewed

 

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing