We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little neighborhood place with great food, OK service”

Mike & Anne's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little neighborhood place with great food, OK service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Mike & Anne's is a nice neighborhood place in increasingly trendy South Pasadena, on Mission Street. It has expanded into an adjacent antique store space, so is no longer quite as crazy busy as the original, but still full every weekend and for Sunday brunch. The food is well prepared and reasonably seasonal, although some of the preparations are too fancy for the typical customer.

The downside is very inconsistent wait staff, some of whom are frankly lazy and others who try to push you out the door "NOW are you ready to order?" to turn the table quickly. The wine is reasonably priced but the selection is a little limited.

A great alternative to driving into Old Pasadena, but reservations are absolutely essential.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank South_Pasadena_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    47
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I expected more...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The food was fine, but nothing special. We went for breakfast. The outside area is pleasant to eat in, but it just seems a bit expensive for average food. I expected more.

Helpful?
1 Thank IrishLRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Rushed and hurried”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

The french fries were stone cold. A request for more catchup was never honored. Refill water was warm, no ice. Some of this due to the wait staff being overwhelmed on a busy night. The eating area was very noisy... again it was crowded so people must go there. Maybe weI caught them on a bad night.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vandal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nothing special and expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We only ate here once, and to me, I felt that the food was overpriced and little quantity. It was a bit bland for me also. So I left the restaurant not feeling any urge to return unless a friend made me. Even that, I would most likely try not to go back and will suggest somewhere else.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mike and Anne Margarita!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

OK, the food was delish, but the "Mike and Anne margarita?" Double YUM!!! I had the mushroom risotto after a light and lovely salad with lemon vinaigrette. What a great combo. I actually kept eating that risotto because it was so damn good and wound up going to bed with a way-too-full tum. It was worth every bite though. The outdoor patio was nice even on a nippy evening.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RBDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike & Anne's Restaurant also viewed

South Pasadena, CA
South Pasadena, CA
 

Been to Mike & Anne's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing