We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok”

Fair Oaks Pharmacy & Soda Fountain
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in South Pasadena
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
467 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My friend and I came here and ordered a pumpkin latte and and a pumpkin milkshake. The pumpkin latte was not sweet enough. It tasted like pumpkin but no sweetener at all. So it didn't even taste that great. The pumpkin milkshake on the other hand was great! The vanilla ice cream sweetened the pumpkin and blended so well. The milkshake was so thick we couldn't drink it out of the straw at first. We ended up waiting an hour when we were able to drink it with a straw and it was still cold!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nlee1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Trip To Yester-year”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love this place. There is a wonderful compounding pharmacy that can fill your order whether it be from scratch or commercial. The old fashioned soda fountain and candy/novelty gift store is a treat and blast from the past. It's always decorated for the season and there is even some outdoor sidewalk-seating so you can enjoy your ice cream cones and watch traffic and people go by, but best to do so when it is not rush hour. The scoops are generous too! I think they also have sandwiches too, but I'd stick to the ice cream.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kas235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A step back in time to the old fashioned drug store soda fountain”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had heard about this place and put it on our must see list when we were visiting there last week. It is a step back, including the service, decor, waitstaff and food. We had lunch and dessert. Of course we left so stuffed many of us skipped dinner. Truly a must visit for anyone in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deacontomgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great old time soda fountain”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I love places like this,takes u back to the old soda fountain stores in the 50's and 60's,sit at the counter and have a ice cream soda ,or have lunch.Outdoor sitting is nice.Has old time candy too,and toys,signs,gifts.Not much seating inside a couple of tables but I think the counter is fun.Been here a long time and can get very busy because it's that cool of a place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justsaying j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
1,377 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
“Felt Like a Kid Again”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I ate like we could afford the calories.m we are both old enough to remember a good old soda fountain. This place is especially known for its sundaes, but we had glorious burgers, sweet potato fries and onion rings to die for. I had a wonderful vanilla malt, and they brought the extra in a container. My husband had a cherry phosphate, and it was excellent as well. Very good service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Oaks Pharmacy & Soda Fountain also viewed

South Pasadena, CA
South Pasadena, CA
 
South Pasadena, CA
 
South Pasadena, CA
 

Been to Fair Oaks Pharmacy & Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing