We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We are so happy to have found the Bissel House! What a perfect location for a walk around historic homes and cool, hip South Pasadena. Clean, comfortable and wonderful hosts. Grounds are lovely complete with pool and several sitting areas. We will make a point to return. Way more personality and value than standard hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
It's great to hear that you'll come back and visit us again, Kate! We all work so hard to help the huge personality of Bissell House shine, so your compliments here on TripAdvisor mean the world to me! I'm very happy that you enjoyed Pasadena and look forward to your next visit.

Till then,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    20
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
70
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B hidden on a residential street in South Pasadena. The room was lovely & the breakfast excellent; we slept well in the comfortable bed. The grounds are very pretty with a nice little pool. The sitting room is very pleasant to sit it for afternoon tea. Overall it's a great place to stay if you're looking for a nice quiet spot on the East side of LA!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinnaf521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It's great to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our beautiful grounds, Corinna! We've worked very hard to preserve the historic landscape and traditions here at Bissell House, so your compliments mean so much to us. I hope to see you again on your next trip to LA.

Till then,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved the beautiful house, lovely room and the delicious breakfast and friendly service.
Would definitely return! Great price for what you get as well! The grounds are beautiful as well and very close to downtown LA.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our house, as much as we enjoyed having you. I'll send our chef your compliments on the tasty breakfast! Next time you're in the area, I hope you come back and stay with us.

All the best,
Janet
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
1,372 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been to Los Angeles many times but never have spent any time in Pasadena. It is chock full of things to do except on Tuesday which happened to be the day we were there. We arrived at The Bissell House on Monday late afternoon and were greeted by Kari, a very high energy individual. She was very welcoming, showed us all around the beautiful house and back yard and pool area, touched on the history and showed us to our room. She also invited us to partake of a wonderful cake that was out for the afternoon snack. We opted to have an early dinner and drove around Pasadena a bit. The neighborhood is beautiful and right on the Tournament of Roses Parade route, so the streets are well-manicured and wide. I loved my walk the following morning. Breakfast was at 9:00. We had an egg strata, yogurt with fruit and a croissant with jam. The family that owns the home is quite knowledgeable about the history and shared much of it at breakfast. They had many suggestions about what we should visit, but again, it was Tuesday, and everything except the Descanso Gardens was closed. My husband left his blazer with our car key to our car at home in the pocket. When I contacted the B&B, the staff could not have been more willing to help get it sent to us as quickly as possible. We had a positive experience and will return on our next visit to California to see the things we missed that day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Kay,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We trust you received our package. I'm so happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We're very proud to help preserve a local cultural landmark, and I'm glad that you had a chance to learn a little bit about the history of Bissell House.

Sorry that so many of our local attractions were closed during your stay. It sounds like you still had fun cruising around Pasadena, but on you're next visit I'll make sure to point you towards anything you missed out on.

We highly value customer service, but also having the opportunity to forge personal relationships with our guests. I plan on passing your compliments on to Carrie and telling her to keep up the good work. If you have any suggestions on what we could have done to improve your stay with us, please let me know. I look forward to your next visit.

Till then,

Janet
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am of a generation that does not know what a non-electric Bissell broom is. The B&B is home of the inventor's family. It has maintained a nice old charm with history including a 'Einstein was here' moment.

You MUST stay for its 8:30 breakfast. Invite your friends in LA for this memorable event! It's worth the extra plate and conversation.

We stayed in the Morning Glory room. It was great with an extra bed for a child. Our only gripe is that the bathtub could not fit two people. Should have asked for the room with jacuzzi.

I jog. From San Pascual Stables, a short walking distance away, I could jog up Arroyo-Seca Park to the Rose Bowl along Los Angeles River. Norton Simon Museum for arts and the The Gamble House for architecture are close to the path.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannielNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Bissell House in January of this year. Janet & Julie, sisters, were very
personable without being intrusive or overbearing. We really enjoyed talking with them. They were very knowledgeable about the history of South Pasadena. One of the things that my husband liked about Bissell House was that it wasn't too feminine or frilly. The furniture was beautiful but was very authentic for the time. Unlike other places we have stayed at, we found ourselves imagining what it would be like to live and grow up in this house. Many of the furnishings were original. They have a terrific secluded pool and patio area that would be neat during warmer months. The bath tub was an original claw foot bath tub with genuine eagle talons. Most of the bathrooms in the house, we were told, were original. There was a special cooked dish for breakfast every day. For instance, we had french toast with pear/apple sauce & baked eggs with pesto sauce. Along with continental breakfast stuff like cereal,toast & fruit. Something for everyone. My husband felt more comfortable being there downstairs in the living room, library & dining room than any other B&B's we have stayed in. This was probably due to our excellent hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit; Janet & Julie, we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We often find ourselves wondering what it would have been like to grow up in Bissell House at the turn of the century, too! We especially love when past occupants drop by to visit and take a trip down memory lane, share new details each time, that we in turn pass along to interested guests. It's great to hear that you feel the sense of authenticity we've tried to preserve. Thank you for your kind words here on TripAdvisor and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Till then,
Janet Hoyman (and sister Juli)
Owner(s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Bissell House is a nice, comfortable, Victorian Bed and Breakfast. Although I was a little concerned upon arriving at a locked door with no one in sight and no answer on the phone, we quickly connected and host was welcoming telling us a brief history of the house and showing us around. They graciously accepted my Groupon with no complaints (although I did have to supply credit card info for security). The outside weather was cool, so we did not venture into the backyard or use the swimming pool. The large living room had a continuously burning gas fire and an assortment of teas available. Alas, no home-baked goodies in the afternoon, but there was a cheesecake (looked like a pre-packaged frozen one) if one needed something sweet.

Stayed in the English Holiday room which has a king size bed, desk, armoire, a couple of arm chairs, a small flat screen TV, and a private tiled bath, with a glass shower enclosure. The bed was confortable and the room and bath were clean. The room had it's own heat/air conditioning unit which we did not use.

Mature landscaping surrounds the house, so even though it at a busy intersection, it is visually isolated from the traffic, however the background growl (not load enough to be a roar) of traffic is audible. The room had a white noise generator which I did not need, but the traffic sounds were a constant reminder of being in the city and not in a bucolic setting. The house is located in a very nice, very well maintained residential neighborhood and a neighbor's gardener started a power lawn mower at exactly 8am.

Breakfast consisted on herb baked eggs (3?), orange juice, a small serving of yogurt with banana slices, coffee and a home baked biscuit. The food was excellently prepared and the chef was friendly.

Overall, a nice B&B.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sdtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
So happy to hear you describe Bissell House as a lovely Victorian. Even though this review was left some time ago, it's still wonderful to read about your experience. The English Holiday room is a great place to relax, with plenty of room and privacy -- I'm glad you found it to be clean and comfortable. With that being said, I apologize if the distant noise of traffic took away from our quaint estate setting, but we've never found it to be too distracting for any of our guests. As for the breakfast, it's great that our chef was able to prepare something you enjoyed.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts. I hope you'll stay with us again in the future.

Best,
Janet
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Pasadena
1.5 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
2.0 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,381 reviews
2.2 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
1.2 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#10 of 31 in Pasadena
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 201 Orange Grove Ave, SW Corner Orange Grove Ave and Columbia Street With Front Driveway Entrance Access From Columbia Street, South Pasadena, CA 91030-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South Pasadena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bissell House Bed and Breakfast, a uniquely charming, three story shingle Victorian, with craftsman style influence. Step back in time and experience a piece of Pasadena's heritage in a home that was built in 1887 and is elegantly situated in an upscale residential neighborhood located in beautiful, historic South Pasadena, California. Discover small town America a short half mile walk to Mission Street with it's many and varied eateries, metro station, bookstores, antique shops, wineries, art galleries, yoga studios and historic library. We are located approximately 1.5 Miles from the heart of historic "Old Town" Pasadena dining, shopping district and convention center and only six metro stops from Union Station in downtown Los Angeles. The Norton Simon Museum, Fenyes Mansion Estate, Wrigley Tournament House, Greene and Greene Gamble House and Rose Bowl Stadium all either line or can be accessed off Orange Grove Boulevard within one to two miles north of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing