We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Garden - CLOSED

Main Street Garden
Price range: $15 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Soquel Dr.
Description: Main Street Garden & Cafe is located in downtown Soquel, CA and serves California - Italian cuisine
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife said her wood fired pizza was one of the best she's ever had. My Pappardelle with pork ragu was outstanding. Very nicely spiced. The service was great also. And live music that was just perfect for this California experience. This is not a fancy or upscale restaurant, but the food is well thought out and delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RustyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Solid dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

After hearing so many wonderful things and glowing reviews, we finally had a chance to dine at Main Street Garden with friends on a Saturday night. Menu selections were limited primarily to a half-dozen pasta dishes and wood-fired pizzas, with a couple special entrees. The pasta and ingredients were fresh, as was the wood-fired pizza, but both were a bit understated on the palate for my taste. However, I will say the pizza crust was perfect. While the restaurant is small and located in a quiet neighborhood, and not expected to be all things to all people, I do believe both the menu and the wine/beer list could be expanded to provide a little more variety. The service was prompt and friendly, too. There is absolutely nothing negative about Main Street Garden, just not much that was really that special, either.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorCalBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Has become an elite restaurant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This restaurant took over the location that Theo's used to occupy. While they are quite different from Theo's, they are now quality-wise, in the same class: great food, great service, great experience. They are committed to local and organic - and you can tell its their passion, not just a marketing gimmick.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and Exciting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was our second visit. We LOVE the changing menu that changes based on the season and availability of the ingredients. Everything is wonderful. Highly recommend and also recommend eating outside.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cvmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and exciting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is our 2nd time at the restaurant. LOVE the constantly changing menu (based on seasonality of ingredients). Sit outside and enjoy the atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cvmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Garden also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing