We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice spot for a last minute get away, they have a special rate and package for the nearby Casino. Clean room, good service and free full breakfast! It is a typical chain type room, but comfortable, clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Executive Kings, in the back, 2nd floor, nice and quiet, pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Aly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    367
    115
    22
    7
See reviews for
374
366
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Enjoyed a very comfortable night's stay. Hotel is in a nice quiet location. Bed and pillows very good and excellent outdoors hot tub which we greatly enjoyed. Super breakfast with voucher served at restaurant across the carpark. Close to shops. Our only problem was with our Tomtom sat nav which could not locate it so had to drive around a bit to find it- it was not too hard. Staff all very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I enjoy a quiet, bigger than a shoebox, comfortable room when I travel. This Best Western provided not only that, but a flat screen TV w/HBO, a microwave,a refrigerator and an excellant breakfast at their on site reataurant. All this included in one reasonable price.

Room Tip: I always request a room away from the ice machine, the elevator and the exit door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was my fifth hotel on my trip! I really liked it as it had a nice friendly air to it. My room was very clean and big. It was inside as opposed to some of the rooms - handy on a rainy night. To reach the bar and restaurant I had to walk across the car park but it was easy to find and no hassle. There was a nice welcoming atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. The food was very good - especially the cherry pie! It was good value too. On this type of holiday often most of the money is going on food. I don't mind if it's good though.One thing to note is that the restaurant closes quite early - about 8.30 - so late diners be aware.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtravellerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemitehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about the 8:30pm closure of our on-site family -operated restaurant; it is true that they close earlier than some others. In additional to the Pine Tree Restaurant/Lounge, there are many truly excellent restaurants that open a little later, including the Black Oak Casino restaurants. Our Front Desk team can guide you to your best choices in the area, and most are very close. I am also amazed that our small towns in this region have such a great array of fine and fun dining.

Thank you for making the Best Western PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel and Conference you choice. We appreciate you kind comments about the hotel and the restaurant/lounge.

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is an excellent best western with a more than acceptable eatery next door (very like a Dennys). All the rooms which form a horseshoe back onto a secluded garden which has a hot tub and pool and each (ground floor) room has a patio with table and chairs.
Like staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemitehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel and restaurant. As you noted, the restaurant is an excellent value with lunch and dinner, in addition to the complimentary Breakfast. Many guests compare it to a family-operated Applebee’s, too.
In addition to your wonderful description of the first building with the pool and spa in the park-like setting, we also have for other buildings that are nestled in the grove of ancient oaks. This was once an living area of Miwuk Indians and the Oaks were a source of food the tribe.

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
397 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were given a very nice room as a free upgrade, which was nice of the staff. They also helped us use our BW cash cards to pay the bill (some places have trouble with the cards).
The Wi-Fi was fast and stable.

Breakfast was in a large Greek restaurant on site; you could choose one of four standard full breakfasts or anything on the menu with a credit of $5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemitehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our new wireless upgrade. We now have the maximum speed in the area for our guests.

The Best Western Travel Cards, Best Western Rewards and Best Western ICARE CLEAN are excellent required programs and our team takes then very seriously; we are happy that they were able to assist you with the “cash card” transaction.

I will pass your comments about a nice room on to our teammates, too. They love to hear your comments!

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

i found the staff to be exceptional in helping us. i forgot to mention that i had my knee replaced recently and was put in a room upstairs without an elevator. They were wonderful to move us t o a lower level room and to maker sure that we were comfortable. This hotel is located in a very convenient place to see many local attractions. We easily drove to Yosemite, Columbia Park, Calaveras Big Trees. We loved our stay there and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The new section separate from the older main hotel. Quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonitaGardenValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemitehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
What a warm review of our hotel, our area and our team! We will share with the team. Although we do not have an elevator in this 3 diamond rated full-service hotel, we offer free luggage assistance to all our guests to/from you room, and we make accommodations for those that need first floor, whenever possible. We are pleased it worked out well for you.

We look forward to your next visit the the Best Western PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel and Conference Center.

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.6 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.6 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 6 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 19551 Hess Avenue, Sonora, CA 95370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Sonora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing