We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was exactly what we expected from a Best Western: good, neat, clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and the room was a good size with a comfortable bed and ample room for our luggage. The location is good since it's right by the highway but still quiet. We were hiking in the area and we liked being at a relatively convenient distance from trails but also close to Sonora, which offers a greater choice of restaurants and shops for the evenings.
The slight downside in my opinion is that breakfast is served at a restaurant near the hotel and not as a buffet at the hotel itself, but the food was also decent and the restaurant is right across from the hotel entrance.
Overall we felt that we received a good value for our money and would come back if we decide to go hiking in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esti_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here on my way home from a cross country trip. Hotel was well landscaped with a great pool just outside your sliding glass door. But the best part was the service, everyone went out of there way to welcome you. They also gave out many travel related items which were nice touches. They also had hot breakfast in am at on site restraunt. Well worth your money!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Room was spacious and clean. Room was just slightly below street level so we had to keep the curtains closed in order to block views from pedestrians walking by. A little noisy from traffic, but overall a nice stay. Office staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid main building that houses the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveskauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

...to this lovely property have prompted me to write a review that should help you with your decision as to where to stay in this area.
First, BEST WESTERN Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center is easy to find, just off the highway, but tucked down into a lovely wooded setting with no noise. Parking is superb.
Rooms are large, clean and updated. No "uber modern" vibe; the decor is just perfect for the area and surroundings. Some of the lower units have fireplaces and some rooms offer sliding glass doors leading to a walking path. The hotel is pet-friendly and, though I have seen several small dogs walking on leashes, I have never heard the sound of dogs barking - or any other noise from adjacent rooms.
The on-property coffee shop is great, and for our visits, we were treated to a complimentary breakfast for each morning we were there. There is a separate bar area, as well, and a "Happy Hour" service is held daily in the hotel lobby.
Of course, we would never have returned a second time had it not been for the staff:
consistently excellent and accommodating. Twenty visits later, we can still sing the praises of this hotel, and think you might, too!

Room Tip: We choose a lower unit in the Executive Suite for easy parking an access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

So we first stayed here in April 2011 to go to Dodge Ridge (42 minutes away). So here are the updates from my last review. This time we had similar room (Rm 126) inside corridor on the 1st floor. Check-in and check-out was fast. Straight forward and overall friendly.
They had manager's reception this time (since we were here on Thursday through Saturday stay) from M to F, 5 - 6:30 PM - you get to pick 2 drinks and get cookie if available.
Also the bkft has more offerings and not just the 4 choices but now a vegetarian option (choices of pancakes/cream of wheat with home fries/hashbrowns, etc) and the kids also can order from the junior menu - service is good at the Pine Tree restaurant - food seems to have come faster when we came at 9 AM then when we came at 7:15 AM or maybe it's b/c we were in rush to get going. This time we used the WiFi service - pretty reliable. Refrigerator was less noisy compared to last time. The noise from the heater was solved by keeping it on to warm the room up and turning it off for the night so it wouldn't turn on and off at set temperature - the beds/blanket/pillows were comfortable and kept us warm. As per the white sock test, well, it wasn't as bad this time but comparable to any other hotel we have been at. Same good amenities including Wolfgang Puck coffee.
This time I paid the AAA rate of $89.99/first nigh and then $99.99 and the rate was booked just a few days before we stayed this past weekend - rate kept dropping as I originally booked months earlier. Still haven't tried the pool yet. As for noise level - can hear the TV next door to us but was turned off before we went to sleep - overall, the neighbors were fine. Our door was a bit sticky and easy to close from the inside but harder to pull closed upon leaving - minor problem - hopefully the noise didn't disturb the other neighbors when trying to shut our door closed. We ate at Applebee's and Mike's Pizza of Sonora nearby for dinner - both were good but Mike's was better deal.

Room Tip: request 1st floor (no elevators)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This place advertises many cool rooms...however if you have a dog they will let you book any room you want online and then when you check in tell you that you have to have a room in another wing of lesser value with less amenities(fireplace/jacuzzi tub). It seems to me the dog friendly part is that I can stay in a room I wouldn't want to stay in with my dog. As you will discover when staying in Sonora or Jamestown that the hotel options are slim.

I have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express hotels and been able to get the room I want with my pet when advertised pet-friendly. I think you should make this more clear on your website and I think you should make the dog option a part of your online reservation service. The other dog friendly popular name hotel Days in is very clear on thier website about the room restrictions for people with dogs.

Room Tip: You have to call if you have a dog online reservations are not honored if you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexisnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here because it's the closest to Black Oak casino. They gave us coupons for BOC and a special rate. Check in was fast and the rooms were clean and decent. It's hard to pay for a hotel since we are usually comped rooms at casinos so for $100.00 it was better than average but nothing fancy. Breakfast across at a local restaurant was very good and it was included in the price. We ordered off the reg.menu and used the coupon to get credit off the bill. Definitely worth it! The only complaint was the A/C/Heater kept turning on at night after we shut it off & kept waking us up. I finally unplugged it and slept great in the comfy bed the rest of the night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m0m23rats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
168 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
11.2 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
590 reviews
2.6 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 19551 Hess Avenue, Sonora, CA 95370-9720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: $125 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Sonora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing