We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Here And We Will Be Back”
Review of Gunn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gunn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“2nd Time Here And We Will Be Back”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Booked this hotel for the second time back in March 2013. Asked and got the same room we stayed in last time. Normally we stay in hotels operated by the likes of Best Western, Hilton, Marriott but this privately run hotel is up there with the best. The rooms are quirky to say the least but well looked after and clean. Shirley, the owner is the person who makes the stay memorable with an Innkeepers breakfast to die for! All the normal breakfast stuff if you want but also lovely freshly made egg based casseroles and cakes and muffins that are so light and tasty that you will eat more than you should! The combinations of ingredients were amazing - sweet potato, plum, peach, chocolate, raspberry, blueberry, ginger and much much more. Shirley, the amount of work you put into keeping your customers happy is to be commended - especially as the book in the room suggests your move to this hotel was geared towards your retirement - getting up at 4.00 a.m. in the morning and then starting work at 6.00 a.m. does not seem to me as a move towards retirement - but keep it up as the customers love the results!
Apart from my love of Shirley's baking which is probably apparent from the above comments, the hotel is well situated in the centre of town and within walking distance of many fine eating places. The town has a great farmers market on Saturday mornings and the fruit and produce on offer was top quality. It may be a few years away but we look forward to returning to Sonora and particularly the Gunn House.

A last few words to compliment all the staff who were so friendly and helpful during our visit. You are a credit to the hotel.;

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. It is on the main street in Sonora and while this is not bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesandrhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    128
    36
    17
    12
See reviews for
106
184
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay island
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Love the room that we stayed in. We booked the smallest room, but it has a great interior! Enough space if you are passing through. The swimming pool is nice and the allround ambiance of the hotel is old colonial, very nicely done.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviavanderleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a totally unexpected delight! The room was decorated with teddy bears and old treadle sewing machine bases were made into cute tables. The bed was very comfortable and the room cozy. We used the swimming pool and very much enjoyed it. The breakfast that was offered the next morning was fabulous! Many homemade breads, fresh fruits and a quiche. My husband is lactose intolerant and they made eggs to order for him!!! This is definitely on my list of favorite places to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue33130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent three nights here in a very comfy, clean room with a nice, large bathroom. This is a good location from which to visit the Yosemite Valley and many other nearby attractions. We spent one whole day by the Gunn House's lovely pool, which we had all to ourselves, reading, drinking tea, and watching birds and butterflies. I guess we were lucky in that our AC worked well - sorry someone else had a different experience with that. What a surprise awaited us the first morning - breakfast was outstanding, served in a bright, cheerful room! I felt so lucky that we got to partake three mornings in a row. The staff was friendly and helpful. We plan to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We just visited last week and unfortunately the Rim Fire is burning now. The town was smokey but the community is pulled together to pray for firefighters and do what ever they can to help. The community output is amazing in this small town. The Gunn House Hotel is our favorite and we enjoy meeting guests and staff each morning in the dining room for a fabulous breakfast ! We are already booked for our next trip in September.

Room Tip: The back side rooms are more quiet and I love the chairs outside our room. The pool is also on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCarabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is quaint with the bedrooms being interestingly decorated. However the AC is horrendous in the room we stayed in. We stayed at the hotel in August with temperatures reaching the high 30s C. We were left with the choice of either melting in our rooms our sleeping with an AC unit that sounded like a tractor and still did not cool the room down that well. They should really upgrade their ACs.

The breakfast was as described by other, however if you are not a cake lover or are watching your calories there was not much other choice. Something to consider.

Overall though it still looked like the best hotel in Sonora but please - update the AC.

Room Tip: Suggest a romm at the back as the front road is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I took my mother, mother in law, 7 year old and 21 month old baby to visit the area, this was the PERFECT hotel for us. We had a king room which was huge. Mothers had a queen double. The breakfest was amazing, waffles to order, great breakfest cassarole and scrambled aggs for dieting MIL! and the staff were so kind and helpful. location is excellent and perfect for quick links to different areas.

This is not a fine 5 star hotel. It IS a comfortable, clean, child friendly hotel with a pool. We WILL be back!

Room Tip: we found our rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliottb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#5 of 8 in Sonora
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Sonora
Rodeway Inn Sonora
#6 of 8 in Sonora
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Palm Hotel
The Palm Hotel
#3 of 3 in Jamestown
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunn House Hotel

Property: Gunn House Hotel
Address: 286 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5022
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gunn House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest historic hotel in Sonora. Experience a bit of the past in one of the antique apponted rooms. Innkeepers breakfast each morning. Easy walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Gunn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunn Hotel Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing