We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gem”
Review of Gunn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gunn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This wonderfully renovated motel is a great out of the way get away. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer and explore the town. Staff is very friendly. Rooms have a lot of charm. I would suggest you book rooms on the back side of the motel away from the busy street. Breakfast is unique and very very good. If you want the standard breakfast fare...go somewhere else....but you'll miss out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    127
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
105
182
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The only complaint I have is the in room air conditioner. It is loud but I'm not sure you can find a room without these in this small town. The breakfast was good...a bit too much sugar in the morning for my liking. They are very friendly and don't mind children.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifercsuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

For an extreamely resonable rate, the Gunn House is Sonora's Gem of a Site to see and stay. I have had their breakfast in the morning several times, and it is wonderful! Any family that comes up, we send them there. The pool is fun too. As a local, I am proud that we have such a nice place to refer others to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love2worknplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in early July '12. Staff is friendly and rooms are tastefully done. Breakfast is delightful. However, the hotel faces hwy 49 which goes down the main street of Sonora and rooms in the front of the hotel are about 20 feet from the road. Many large trucks and logging trucks use the road so found the noise irritating. Try to stay in back of hotel or bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood, california
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love this hotel! The friendly, helpful staff...the great old stone building...the neat old timey decor...that nice cool pool (it gets hot in Sonora!)...the wonderful free, delicious breakfast...it's just wonderful. There are so many great places to visit nearby, or you can just kick back and enjoy the pool.
I stay here every time I visit the Sonora area!
It's always a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back facing the pool are quieter...and closer to that great breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very pleasant staff at this property really made our stay. Sonora itself is not at all as we expected with a very busy road running right through the middle and not at all like sleepy-town America as we had hoped, but the Gunn House made up for it. Tons of character and with comfortable rooms, this hotel was ideal for a visit to the Sierra Nevada, Gold Country and Yosemite areas. The breakfast is a bonus and is very welcome before the start of a long day exploring. Only negative is all the steps, but in a way, this adds to the quirky character of the property.
We were fortunate during our stay to be there at the same time as the nearby 'Columbia Diggins' historical fair and were greeted at breakfast by people in victorian era costume. Quite a shock to the system at first when we read the review that seemed to think this place was haunted. (It isn't by the way.) Great place for a short stay, but Sonora itself is in need of a bit of a facelift.

Room Tip: Aim for a room at the back facing the pool area. The front rooms can get quite a lot of traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

By the title of this review you would think that I was unhappy with the Gunn House Hotel. But that is not the case. I thought that I had a reservation at the Gunn House Hotel in Sonora in March for a Celtic Festival that I work every year. Unfortunately, there was a mix up on my part and they did not have a room for me. I was extremely disappointed because I love this hotel. But, they helped me find another room (not nearly as nice but close by) and invited my traveling compainion and I to enjoy the wonderful Gunn House breakfast both mornings of our stay. And the manager made sure that I was the first person she contacted when she started taking reservations for this event next year. That is customer service!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scotsladye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
125 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#5 of 8 in Sonora
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunn House Hotel

Property: Gunn House Hotel
Address: 286 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5022
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gunn House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest historic hotel in Sonora. Experience a bit of the past in one of the antique apponted rooms. Innkeepers breakfast each morning. Easy walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Gunn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunn Hotel Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing