We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent, clean and friendly”
Review of Gunn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gunn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent, clean and friendly”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed at the Gunn House Hotel this past weekend. This has been my 4th time here (boyfriend has family here) and it is still a great little hotel. Sonora is a small town and I would say that this place is the best for the price, location and quality.

The bathrooms were clean (they have all the necessary ammenities - hairdryer, iron etc), bed was very comfortable and the people were so nice. The in room heater made us toasty after coming back late (it gets chilly at night during the winter), they had WiFi and a flat screen TV. Each room is a different theme and has a little teddy bear on the bed greeting you (a cute and positive detail). Although an older Inn, it shows that they are doing their best to take care of the guest.

One of the best things about the Gunn House is the breakfast (from 7-10am!). Shirley and her staff make the best pastries and quiche (not as dense but still packs in a bunch of flavor). I had a chocolate raspberry muffin that was SO GOOD. The parlor is comfy and staff makes waffles to order!

I am booked to come back next month. Thanks for the homey stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor facing the pool are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    120
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
104
174
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I have spent many weekends in Sonora, and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in. Yes it is old, but fairly well maintained with a kitschy sort of charm. We've stayed in one of their larger rooms and smaller queen room and both were nice, but the large room was by far the winner. While we enjoyed the smaller room, the fact that we were staying in an older-ish hotel was much easier realized (for example, the windows aren't very new and let lots of street noise and cold air in- though the strong heater made up for the latter). The hotel is located right downtown so restaurants are within walking distance. Our favorite feature is that the upstairs rooms out in front have tables and rocking chairs overlooking the main drag, which are great for relaxing in with a drink and talking with your neighbors, etc. The delicious breakfast in the morning is also a bonus. Oh, and the free wifi is nice too and comes in handy if you don't get data coverage in the area! I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who want to stay somewhere with lots of personality and charm.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaaBlaaBlaaVideos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed for a week in April 2011. Room was good although noise from street was a problem until we got used to it. Bed was good, bathroom was excellent and a good standard of cleanliness was achieved. Without doubt the best feature was the inclusive breakfast - home made goodies, cereals, waffles made on the spot. Friendly and interested staff. Relaxed atmosphere, there was quite a mix of people whilst we were there and we all chatted and compared notes over breakfast - something I've never experienced in any of the big chain motels or hotel restaurants. We used the hotel as base to visit all the local sights (lots of them) and a day trip to Yosemite. Unbelievably the cost was less than any of the other motes we stayed in during our time in the USA and was by far the best value. We recommend Gunn House unreservedly - particularly if you enjoy meeting other people.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Just had the misfortune to spend the Christmas holiday at this hotel. I have never been in such an unkept place before. You know when you walk into a room and they can't spend a $1 to replace a broken outlet plate, it's bad. The place had hair all over the bathroom upon check in, the sheets, albeit clean, had stains on them, there was no hot water in the evening and the closet had a leak in it that soaked the extra pillows and blanket. Most disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittySniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
one08, Owner at Gunn House Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
As the owner and management of the Gunn House Hotel we take great pride in the satisfaction of our guests. We are very unhappy that your stay with us was less than exceptional.

We take great pride in our hotel and as one can see from the many reviews that we receive, the majority of our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay with us. Upon first reading this review we responded quickly to the reviewer and made a personal response and accommodation to them. We encourage all of our guests, during their stay with us, to let us know at anytime if they have a problem with their room or our customer service. The management and owners of this establishment are available 24/7 to assist with problems. If we are made aware that a guest is not happy during their stay, with their room or the services provided of our hotel we will work to immediately correct the issues. We can even help our guest find accommodations in another hotel in our wonderful area.

As always, when a problem does occur our staff and management are informed and we quickly work to rectify any problems in service, maintenance, housekeeping or any other hospitality issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I loved my stay at this historic inn in Sonora. I was there on business for 4 nights. the live in manager is wonderful and she has a huge black mastiff, Smalls, that greets you over the door when you come in. the rooms were cute, the hotel had lots of nice historic touches. the breakfast was great! the staff was exceptional!! I will stay there every time I am in Sonora from now on.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tish l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Arrived during a power outage and the front desk was very helpful. Decided to have dinner and she would call when it came back on. She called during dinner and all was good.
The room(#8), was very nice, great shower and good bedding. Only negative was the street noise which was known from other comments. I suggest side or rear rooms if that is a concern.
The breakfast was very good with lots of fresh baked items and is served in a nice, light room.
Easy walking to the shops and main street. Friendly people everywhere we went. Will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a quick trip down old HWY 49 from Sacramento after visiting my family for Thanksgiving. Even though the website said a 2-night stay was required on weekends, we were able to secure a single-night stay. The drive down 49 was really wonderful (we stopped in San Andreas and visited the museum in the old courthouse) and we arrived at the Gunn House around 5 p.m. Based on TA reviews, I had requested a room at the back, on a higher floor when placing my reservation. We were in Room 20 which was on the 3rd floor facing the pool. We don't mind stairs, but if you have any concerns with them, you should request a lower floor room.

I had read that each room was decorated in a different theme and, unfortunately, ours was dedicated to golf! Neither of us play golf and, honestly, have no interest in it at all. We would have preferred one of the rooms with a more historic or Victorian feel, but the room was clean. It was a little bit smallish, but since we were only staying one night, we didn't need anything bigger. The bathroom is a good size. We were definitely glad to have a back room, as the traffic on Main Street can be quite loud. We didn't hear a sound in the back.

The bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows. In the morning, breakfast is served until 10 and there was a wide selection of items. I'm not sure what some TA reviewers were complaining about -- in addition to the sweets, there was an egg & cheese baked dish, toast (with butter and jam), cold cereals and fresh waffles if you wanted one (with Nutella, even!). There was coffee and orange juice, too. I thought it was quite the spread and I think anyone who complains should spend their next night at a motel with a continental breakfast consisting of a packaged danish and coffee that tastes like mold.

I didn't have any issues at all with the service. The check-in and check-out were very friendly and the woman at breakfast was really great, too. My only issue (if there is one) is that I wish the Gunn House felt a little more historic (as in 1800s historic) instead of feeling like a 1970s motel that has been updated. All that said, however, it is a clean and comfortable option and if you are wanting to spend time in Sonora, there's no better location -- you can walk to everything!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor at the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spycygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunn House Hotel

Property: Gunn House Hotel
Address: 286 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5022
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gunn House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest historic hotel in Sonora. Experience a bit of the past in one of the antique apponted rooms. Innkeepers breakfast each morning. Easy walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gunn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunn Hotel Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing