We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“You get what you paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Sonora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Sonora
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Taipei
Level Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“You get what you paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are looking for luxury, this is not for you.

If you seek convenience, walking distance to multiple downtown Sonora bars and restaurants, you should consider Rodeway Inn.

Free Wifi.

Free breakfast.

Descent plumbing.

Hot shower.

Older structure so you do hear others if they are loud enough.

Clean enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willwu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The manager showed us the room before we decided and in his own words 'It's not perfect but it is clean' - It was just fine - the bathroom was a little pokey. We were able to walk to an excellent restaurant and have a stroll around the town after supper. Not sure I would stay there again, but it was clean, economical and very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Microwave and frig. Good internet strength. Room was quiet and clean. Cooling unit was loud. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was quite limited...looked like toast and english muffins. Great location in tiwn easy walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice and cosy place, close to Yosemite. Very friendly staff, always brimming with an eagerness to help you and provide any information one might require.

Only trivial issue we faced was that the wash-basin faucet needed a strong hand to prevent hot water from dripping.

They even have inter-connecting rooms, just in case you are a big group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We decided to stay in Sonora on our way to go skiing in Dodge Ridge and Bear Valley. I didn't realize that Rodeway Inn was a chain and had no idea to expect. The reviews on Hotels.com were favorable, so I thought I'd give it a try. Registration was still open when we checked in around 9:30, but closed soon after. The room was decent sized (but very dated and dark) with king bed (really hard and the pillows were really flat), night stands, dresser with TV on top (many channels to choose from), desk with chair, mini sized fridge and based microwave. The sink area was separate from the standup shower stall (took some time to warm up, but got hot and decent pressure) and toilette. Toiletteries are basic - just soap and shampoo. I didn't try to use the hair dryer, but it looked like a typical hotel hair dryer. The internet was wi-fi, although not a very good signal (and from Sonora Inn, so signal depends on your distance from the router). There is a basic complimentary continental breakfast (coffee, OJ, and prepackaged pastries, as well as white toast and English muffins). Parking was included on their lot and there were no issues parking there. Location was convenient, within walking distance to restaurants on S. Washington Street and Sav-On groceries.
Pros: Location, relatively clean, price
Cons: hard bed, flat pillow, spotty internet connection

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltsao01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
0.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
3.1 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Sonora

Property: Rodeway Inn Sonora
Address: 128 S Green St, Sonora, CA 95370-4643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Sonora 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing