We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
INNS of California-Sonora
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I arrived at The Inns of California after a visit to Yosemite National Park.It is a three storey hotel in two buildings situated just off the main street in Sonora.I was allocated a room on the ground floor.The room was a good size with a very large bed,T.V,Coffee-Maker,Fridge,Microwave and an Iron/Board.The En-Suite was adequate.There is free internet access in the lobby.Complimentary Continental Breakfast is also provided in the lobby although you have to take it back to your room to eat.There are a number of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
Complaints:- The noise from the traffic on the road outside and also when the people in the room above flushed their toilet there was a terrible smell.A couple of minutes later I noticed about an inch of dirty water sitting in the base of the shower.There was obviously a serious plumbing issue.
I contacted the front desk straight away and was eventually offered another room,which I gladly accepted.Hopefully,this was a one off but to me The Inns of California-Sonora is a very basic hotel and I didn't particularly like it,and would not recommend to friends or family.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peregrinus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNSofCalifornia, Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Unfortunately we can not predict when a plumbing problem may arise, but we did our best to resolve the problem as quickly and courteously. Sometimes events beyond our control can delay the resolution of a problem. I am glad that we were able to get you into another room and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

I am glad to hear that you found the room size good and the amenities to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 246 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Date of our visit: 17th September 2012. As a stop-over on a Cosmos Western Wonders Coach Tour
Our room was barely adequate for our overnight stop-over. The room we were allocated (on the third level was nothing like the lovely rooms displayed in the ‘Official Hotel Photos’ on Tripadvisor). Was the room small? I swear, there was not enough floor room to lay down and open up two suitcases. The bathroom was OK, at least it was big enough to move around, which is more than can be said for the bedroom..
Décor/fabrics/colours in our bedroom were dated. I’ve never stayed at a small town motel lodge before, so maybe, I expected too much. Perhaps the Tour Company budget dictated the quality of hotel stop-overs.
Free use of the hotel internet was useful to catch up on messages. A complimentary ‘Rudimentary’ breakfast was given by management. Although it was a bit of a scramble to get to the pre-wrapped offerings and coffee, which then had to be carried back to our room and eaten at our mini table). All in all, this kindness was appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarloBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is on the main street in Sonora, so easy to find.
The swimmingpool is small but functional.
The check-in was efficient and the lady who helped us changed our room from 2 double beds to a king, with no questions.
The room was comfortable with a fridge and a microwave. Bathroom was big enough too.
We could park right outside our room, which was great. Bed was very comfortable - great pillows too. Airco was a bit noisy, but we wore earplugs.
Breakfast in the morning wasn't much to our UK taste, but the toast was fine.
The real treat was the restaurant we found here with the locals we chatted to all night.
It is a good 2 hours drive from the good part of Yosemite NP, so just be prepared.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_rosbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was near the caverns. The hotel was nice. The room was large and so was the bathroom. The staff was extremely friendly. A fair selection of continental-breakfast items were offered. It is within walking distance to several restaurants. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFlores111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

POSITIVES:
They had a vacancy, when other places were booked full.
The young lady at the front desk was very friendly.
NEGATIVES:
The stairs and balcony walkways were filthy and littered. I would have asked for a refund before I even looked in the room if I could have found a vacancy elsewhere.
The room I stayed in faced the street and traffic noise was loud late into the night.
The exterior facade looked good from a distance, but opening the door to our room was an unpleasant experience.
The room smelled of some type of strong, unpleasant and unidentifiable chemical.
All of the furnishings looked old and outdated.
Even though the place looked somewhat clean, it didn't feel clean.
I paid about $100 for a $30 dollar room.
My wife was right. The room felt "Icky". Enough said.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNSofCalifornia, Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

From the information you provided, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the friendly service provided by our staff. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the grounds and the room provided. I wish that you would’ve brought your concerns to our staff; maybe a change of rooms would’ve provided you with a better experience. It is our policy to do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here one night after being in LA Disneyland, visiting friends in Modesto. Wanted to revisit the area as we always enjoy this area..spur of the moment decision to stay overnight on a Friday. Got a room here as my girlfriend had stayed here many years ago with family.
Place is older two story motel consisting of two buildings adjacent, but not close. Parking was adequate.
Room was spacious with TV, microwave, coffee pot, small fridge. It was orderly, but really needed some updating and elbow grease with lots 'o soap, if you know what I mean. Had it been longer than one night it wouldnt have worked for us...half of the rooms front the main street in Sonora and unless you run the air conditioner all night to drown out the traffic and late night parking lot barkers , you aint gonna sleep!
Check in was fast, easy but this place is no value. For your $$ you can find better accomodations in the Sonora area. Wasnt interested in partaking of the "continental breakfast" so cannot comment on it.

Room Tip: On the backside of the hotel and upstairs, not facing the street, if you want some peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hook026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Location - we chose the town of Sonora as our key destination was Yosemite. It was about a 90 min drive to get to Yosemite. The motel is on the main street, Washington. The hotel actually has 2 buildings which are not right beside each other. We were lucky to be connected to the main building (where the check-in is and breakfast, as well as the pool is). We had a room that faced the back so it was not noisy at all.
Room - it actually looks better than in the pictures. They've updated the bedspreads! The room was dimly lit but appeared quite clean. The beds were fairly comfortable. The air conditioning set on low was still quite noisy though. The TV is an old 16". The bathroom was large but only has a shower, not bathtub, but that didn't matter to our family but may be an issue for families with small children.
Breakfast - mediocre continental fare, all individually wrapped. Good enough. Awful coffee though.
Value - had blindly bid on Priceline but only got $10 off (about 10% off) which is the worst deal I've ever received using Priceline. I usually get 40% - 70% off! So I don't think it was worth prepaying with no refund for just $10 off. I wasn't expecting much when I found out I ended up with Inns of California and saw the pictures on their website so I had warned my husband and 12 year daughter. When we checked in, my daughter said "it's not too bad."
Pool - small pool which we got to enjoy after a hot day of hiking in Yosemite. We had it to ourselves. It seemed to have a lot of chlorine in it.
To be fair, the neighbouring motels in the area all looked of similar quality, that is, a little worn and rundown. This motel seemed fine in comparison.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facin the back and in the main building, not thenother building down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
0.2 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Sonora
Rodeway Inn Sonora
#6 of 8 in Sonora
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INNS of California-Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INNS of California-Sonora

Address: 350 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5020
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: $76 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — INNS of California-Sonora 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Sonora, you will be within easy walking distance to many local restaurants and unique shops. Stay and enjoy our seasonally heated pool and spa, and then venture off and enjoy all that this beautiful community has to offer. Explore Moaning Caverns, gamble at Black Oak Casino, or stroll through the state historic parks-- whatever your interests, you will love coming back to your clean, cozy room at Inns of California Sonora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your INNS of California-Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of California-Sonora Hotel Sonora
Hotel Of California Sonora
California Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing