We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
INNS of California-Sonora
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed here as part of our Cosmos tour. The place was TERRIBLE!!! As part of this tour we stayed in 10 different hotels and this was by far the worst.

To start, the room smelt so bad that it took half an hour of standing on the verandah with the door open before we could go inside. Then the room itself was dirty and covered in dust. The bed had cobwebs and layers of dust hanging from it.

If it we had not been part of a tour group that was staying here we would have taken our bags and left.

Room Tip: Don't go here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annabelle2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNSofCalifornia, General Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
While I wish you had enjoyed your stay, I would like to apologize and thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our property.

It is our responsibility to be aware of problems and make sure they are corrected before you arrive. While we may not always catch them in time, please know that we will do everything we can to make sure you are happy with your stay. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you are ever unhappy or you experience a problem with your room. We want to know so we can fix it and turn your stay around. We would be more then happy to move you to a room that is to your liking.

I have taken your concerns to my staff and we will use your comments to improve the quality of our rooms. Our goal is to be the best hotel on your route!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    85
    34
    25
See reviews for
69
90
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We had a change of plans and were looking for accomodation in the Yosemite region at short notice. The INNS of California was a great price and ticked all the boxes. We arrived later than we expected and drove into Sonora from Mariposa on sunset/dusk. Beautiful drive in if you are into scenery over 3000ft and without guard rails! Beautiful but pleased to arrive.
Our check-in was easy our room was located in the Gold Rush building, the room was a little smelly when we entered and the heater, when turned on, also smelt of dust so we just assumed our room hadn't been opened in a while. We slept well and warm which was exactly what we were after. Free Wi-fi a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussie_possie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

The maid opened the door without knocking fairly early in the morning. When she saw we were still in bed she was nice enough to leave. We were loading the suitcase in the car and going to have breakfast when she came back and started cleaning before we checked out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miner95338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNSofCalifornia, Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our property. It is because of guest like yourself and your helpful comments that we are able to improve on providing great customer service to our guests.

I apologize that your stay was interrupted by our housekeeping staff. I am looking into the matter and want to assure you that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed here on the way from Yosemite to Lake Tahoe.

The hotel is on three floors, spread over 2 buildings, one with the reception and a swimming pool and hot tub and one with just rooms, they are situated either side of the car park.

The rooms were bitterly cold - AC - when we arrived but soon warmed up, there were two double beds and just enough room round the beds, the bathroom was large, with a walk in shower. Both were clean.

There was a coffee machine and coffee/tea in the bathroom.

Free wifi which worked great.

The swimming pool wasn't a bad size and the hot tub was surprisingly hot!

Breakfast was in the reception where you were provided with cardboard trays to take it back to your room. There was juice, coffee, tea, cereal, muffins, bagels, a toaster and yoghurts.

This is a good place to stop for the night

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNSofCalifornia, Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for your review on our property. We appreciate your feedback so we can focus on improving. I apologize that we set the A/C too high for your arrival. We will reconsider our temperature levels. We hope you will stop by and see us on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I chose Inn's of California Sonora because I needed internet access during my vacation, even if that implied paying a premium.

On the second day, the internet breaks down. I call the lobby and they say that it is working in the lobby. I explain that the lobby is probably not wireless, but they just say they will reboot the server, nothing works more. I am also told another customer complained about it. My spouse has another laptop with another operating system that also stopped working at the same time. I call multiple times and they finally ask me to call customer service for internet. This cannot do any good since the problem is with their wireless router. In desperation, I call the internet numbre, it does not even respond!

After two days of complaining, the attendant finally recognizes the problem and tells me that they will send maintenance but only on the next day. I explain to him that my previous requests were simply ignored. The only thing that the hotel offers in compensation is to give me an extra night at a "discount" fare of $50 ! The hotel is not full so they hope to give bad service and make extra money on it ! I told him that this could not do but nothing else was done. This "gesture" which I found offensive was the proposal of the 'manager' so this seems to be a policy from the chain.

I am extremely unhappy with the hotel. The staff was not helpful, not responsive to the problems, and not even trying to make a commercial gesture. There isn't even a email address where one can send complaints so obviously they do not care about their client. I forgot to mention, the Spa was broken and the breakfast is just some milk, some flakes and a danish with some terrible coffee, with no tables and all food taken out at 9am sharp.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNSofCalifornia, Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
I apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make sure that each and every guest has an enjoyable experience at our property. Please know that we are taking your feedback seriously so we can focus on improving our service.

I regret that you had problems with our internet during your stay. To answer your question, yes, the lobby internet is also on the same wireless service. We also have a 24-hour help desk if you ever experience any problems in the future.

I apologize that there seems to have been a miscommunication about a proposal of compensation. I regret that we didn’t have the opportunity to talk during your stay so that we could have discussed your concerns before you left. Please know that we are very much available to our customers. I can be reached directly at 209.532.3633 or by email at innscal@sbcglobal.net. All of our guests are also welcome to fill out a comment card which is supplied inside each room and at the front counter. Great customer service is our main priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We got to this hotel in the middle of the night after running away from another terrible hotel booked by friends for us. The desk person was so accomodating and even apologized for the other hotel. She gave us a discounted rate on a huge room with a spa tub that was just a wonderful room. We appreciated her kindness after our earlier experience and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tztater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNSofCalifornia, General Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Awesome staff and rooms.....staff was very helpful with our requests and very understanding (we had 5 children).......we needed a room on the ground floor cuz of gues with a bad foot. Rooms were very clean and everything just looked great. The only complaint I had would be the water pressure for the shower. And that the coffee maker is in the bathroom. Other than that.....I will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Other reviews said you could here the traffic if you stayed in the front....But I didnt hear anything.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkhammell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNSofCalifornia, General Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I’m glad you had a nice stay. I am looking into the issue with the water pressure and we should have it fixed by your next visit. I’m glad the staff was helpful and able to accommodate your request. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
387 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
0.2 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#5 of 8 in Sonora
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Sonora
Rodeway Inn Sonora
#6 of 8 in Sonora
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INNS of California-Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INNS of California-Sonora

Property: INNS of California-Sonora
Address: 350 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5020
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — INNS of California-Sonora 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Sonora, you will be within easy walking distance to many local restaurants and unique shops. Stay and enjoy our seasonally heated pool and spa, and then venture off and enjoy all that this beautiful community has to offer. Explore Moaning Caverns, gamble at Black Oak Casino, or stroll through the state historic parks-- whatever your interests, you will love coming back to your clean, cozy room at Inns of California Sonora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your INNS of California-Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of California-Sonora Hotel Sonora
Hotel Of California Sonora
California Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing