We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plug your nose!”
Review of The Gold Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gold Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed at the Gold Lodge while doing a festival in December. Kind of cute on the outside right? Wrong, Changed the first room, The odor was so bad it actually brought tears to my eyes. Smelled like Cheap carpet deoderizer covering up stinky smelly feet. Had to be shown the special knack of how to work the heating system. Yikes! Second room I was moved to.....Vertical Blinds with tape on them holding them together. You could see through the slates so I hung clothes in front of the window. Rooms from probably 1960's Never updated or carpet changed. Spill marks on the walls. Hypodermic needle between the wall and the Vanity....This place should be shut down. All other Hotels were booked in the area had to stay. UGG! Slept with one eye open.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CINDERELLASTRUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

It's already been said, but the place is a DUMP! We made the mistake of arriving in Sonora late without a reservation during an event weekend. We got the room and immediately went out to eat without checking the room. By the time we got back it was very late and there was no where else to go. If we hadn't been travelling in a very, very small car we would have chosen to sleep in it. Seriously, stay elsewhere. This place is bad, bad, bad!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hometown1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We were on our road trip from San francisco to Yosimite park after driveing all day we thought we should find somwere to sleep before going on to the park
so we pulled into Sonora,nice little town
We booked into the Gold Lodge just outside the town.
We got the key to the room walked in and o my god
air con unit was falling off the wall there was a smell about the place floor was dirty
and the bathroom well i wouldnt wash my dog in it.
all i can say is dont book into this one

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

If this was the last hotel, we would sleep in our car! We arrived late after an event, but our room was so creepy we left and found another hotel in town.Old cast iron heater full of dirt/cobwebs, spiders on wall, peeling beat-up furniture, totally old and creepy! High priced because across from fairgrounds, but absolutely not worth it! Even though we didn't sleep there, only gave us 1 night refund. The offer breakfast, but after seeing the condition of the room, no way would I eat any food there!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tztater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The lodge was affordable but i was disappointed with the room my husband and i were in. The air conditioner was in like a closet with a fan in front of it and it wasn't cooling that well. The carpet had seen better days and the windows didn't open so you could get fresh air at night. My daughter and her family stayed there two and had a room on the front side of the lodge and it was nicer than ours. I did like the fact that it was close to town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptaker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is the first time I've ever been sooooo upset about a place that I felt I needed to write a review. I called and made reservations a week in advance for a " king" room, nothing available.. "OK", Ill take the new "Jr. suite". It has two Queens, micro , frig, and table with two chairs......sounds pretty good, especially for $99 plus $20 for my yorkie. The morning of my check-in, I get a phone call from Carmen saying that they have a "Queen" room with all the same things but more floor space and less $.....I let her change us to that room, everyone can use a few extra $s on vacation..........OH MY GOD! We get there about 9pm, drove up from Sunnyvale on Saturday, Memorial weekend and what a surprize. The room had the odor of bug spray, the bedspread and blankets were so stained that my husband took them off the bed. We got the quilt we take with us for picnics out of our car and used it. There was NO frig and NO table and chairs and the room was SOOO small . We were in the "back" building which was so dark that I could'nt see outside without using a flashlight. I thought maybe someone made a mistake so we walked up to the office and asked if they were sure we were in the right room.....No mistake, this was our room!!!!! I asked that at least they turn on the outside lights. At 2am we were woke up by veryy loud, fowl mouthed drunks in the parking lot. after about 20 minutes my husband asked that be quite to no avail. I calied the office, the night clerk called the room...Nothing!!!! At 3:30 I called the office and threatened to call the police. The night clerk came back to the parking lot and told them to "be quiet". Needless to say, I didn't stay for our second reserved night.....But I did get charged $25 for not staying!!!! So, do yourself a really big favor ....DO NOT stay at the Gold Lodge!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrspeck152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Good solid value at a no frills motel. The staff was helpful - gave good advice on restaurants, helped with a problem , served a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoaminHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
0.5 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
234 reviews
12.3 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gold Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gold Lodge

Address: 480 W Stockton St, Sonora, CA 95370-4807
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: $67 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gold Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are an one level motel close to downtown just a minute from Restaurants and Shopping 5 minutes away from Chicken Ranch Casino 20 minutes from Black Oak Casino 1 hour away from Yosemite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gold Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing