We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pint”
Review of Murphy's Irish Pub

Murphy's Irish Pub
Ranked #33 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Pint”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

You got to love a pub in sonoma plaza. Great place to sit outside and enjoy a pint and watch the tourist. Great fish and chips and the beer oh my.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RickJodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    80
    39
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited late evening as it was one of the places that stayed open later on the plaza. Very cute little bar. We had cocktails and appetizers and the fried pickles were wonderful! Very much a casual dive and a lot of fun!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotati
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“so so!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

staff not that friendly! treat you like a tourist! which should be good but in this case, " give me your money and I'll probably never see you again" attitude. cosy little bar, food not great but just passes the smell test.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gweedore55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always there as a place to call home!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Murphy's is that kind of warm, comfortable place that when you go inside, you feel like you've been there many tiomes before. Great beers, excellent pub food (I like the lamb dip sandwich - like a french dip, but lamb!). My wife is a fan of the grass fed burgers - order them (medium rare, or they come out well done!). And mushy peas.... Love the mushy peas! And all this while watching great local bands play. A great place where locals and visitors mingle freely and friend-ily!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staff ignored customers”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We came here for a change from all the Wine places, just needed a beer and some appetizers. The place is styled like an Irish pub would be, nice TV screens everywhere showing sports. We were the only people inside and there were 2 or 3 tables outside full. The waitress took our order right away and the food was good. But then no one came back to check on us. The people outside kept getting service but not us inside. There were some little kids that were the owners grand-kids, or the bartenders kids .. not sure ... but they were sitting at a table coloring and all the staff was paying attention to them and talking to them and completely ignoring us. We had to get up and flag someone down to give us a bill so we could pay and leave.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZman8tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing