We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic taste of the Himalayas”
Review of Taste of Himalayas

Taste of Himalayas
Ranked #37 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exotic taste of the Himalayas”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was offered a warm and hearty welcome at this exotic Himalayan restaurant. The restaurant had plenty of choices to satisfy my craving for Himalayan food. I started with the Nepalese appetizer of Daal Bhat which was Naan bread served with spicy daal soup. This was followed by the vegetable tandoori with mixed vegetables served on a sizzling platter with flavorful Himalayan spices. It was accompanied by steamed and fluffy basmati rice. The raita on the side was thick and creamy with homemade yoghurt topped with mint and spices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZacharyToper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious place to eat during a day of wine tasting.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Food is authentic, filling, and tastes wonderful. It's a popular place among the town natives that we happened to stumble upon. And I'm so glad we did. Best meal of our visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LostButHappy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty Indian Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When you think of Sonoma wine country, you may not necessarily think of Indian food, but we were drawn here based on Yelp reviews and not disappointed. My husband made a comment about the service not being very "warm & fuzzy," but they were efficient and we had everything we needed, so no complaints on my end. The palak paneer was creamy and rich; he got a spicy chicken dish (forget the name) that was also good. Prices were VERY reasonable for being in downtown Sonoma. Tucked away in one of the cute alleys off the square, it was a nice place to retreat after a day of wine tasting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eg192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Your base camp in Sonoma”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great food and great service in a small restaurant. Best to sit inside to avoid the flys in this area of Sonoma. Wine from local producer Gundlach Bundschu was great with some of the best Indian food ever. Very reasonable prices for a tourist area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Triple7Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, MA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“When in the area, I will always visit”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really like this place. Discovered it on a CA trip in 2007, and when there twice on my 3 day stay. Found it again last week while visiting the area, and hoped to get one of the same dishes I had before, but unfortunately, selected the wrong dish - but it was still very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank methuenma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Himalayas also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Taste of Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing