We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, average accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location, average accomodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

So we decided to take a last minute trip to Sonoma. We live close and the weather was supposed to be gorgeous so why not? We wanted to take our 2 year old swimming and have a nice dinner. Well...we waited a little too long to make reservations at our usual Sonoma spots: Fairmont and Lodge at Sonoma...both 4 star properties so we decided to give the Sonoma Valley Inn a try.

First off, this place is in the absolute best possible location for proximity to the plaza and all the great restuarants. We ate at Girl and Fig for lunch, and had dinner at The Eldorado Kitchen, which is also a hot spot for partying. They had live music on sat. night. Great meals at both places.

As I digress...Before reviewing this hotel it is important to note that we usually stay in 4 star properties, and if we stay in 3 star it is a Marriot etc. and remodeled etc. This hotel did not meet our usual criteria in any way other than location. Our room was 217 in the very back of the property....but not a suite as other posters have mentioned. Those rooms sound a lot better than the regular courtyard rooms, which we had. Our balcony was blocked by trees so our room received no sunlight, and the lighting in the room was dim. It was listed as a non-smoking room, but the room stank horribly of cigarettes. It was overwhelming. The bed was average...again...it depends on what you are used to. The room was an average size, and the bathroom was old with a couple of cheap upgrades. The floor was also lifting, the wallpaper peeling, the towels were thinning with holes. This motel is definitely "no frills". I would only stay here, if for 1 night, if the room was under $150, or if I couldnt get in anywhere else.

Oh..the whole reason why we decided to stay here was for the pool, and it was really cold. They don't heat it, which is unusual for Sonoma. Their hot tub was OK, but there was dirt and sand on the seat and floating in the water.

Don't expect much from this place other than a place to sleep and to leave early in the morning. This is not a hotel (actually a motel) where you want to stay in the room for longer than sleeping or to change your clothes, but is in a great location and you can walk everywhere. If you do stay here, make sure you get in a room that doesn't stink of cigarettes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckygrlllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    433
    149
    52
    31
See reviews for
208
567
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We arrived in Sonoma after canceling our reservations for two nights in San Francisco. We just couldn't bring ourselves to return to the city. We went to AAA first and asked where a good hotel would be. They said, "We always recommend the Sonoma Valley Inn right up the street." So we went there. There was a construction crew working across the street (they soon quit and never returned) so I asked if we could get a room away from the noise. The young woman at the desk said, "I'm going to put you way at the back". The room was amazing. It had a fireplace, a jacuzzi tub, and covered decks. Even though it was on a side street, the landscaping had tall trees right off the decks and you felt like you were in a secluded garden. Everyone at the desk was so nice and enthusiastic. The location was right across the street from a small but very tasteful mall with a bookstore run by a couple who had been mentored by the owners of our hometown bookstore two states away. There was a family style restaurant right across the street frequented by locals. You couldn't ask for a better recommendation than that. We were also two blocks away from the very center of Sonoma. These two nights were the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Honda, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

Things started off well enough - we arrived late on a Friday night and the night manager was very attentive. When he saw that we brought our dog, he was kind enough to upgrade us from a standard room to one with a fireplace so we would be closer to the dog run. The room itself was a little dated, but very clean, especially since it was a dog room (usually dog rooms are the crappy ones). You definitely can't beat the location for the price either. At one and half blocks from Sonoma town square it was very easy to walk to restaurants and shops. The trouble with this hotel however, was the bed and the noise factor. The bed sagged in parts and the pillows were totally flat. Also, we could hear every single step our upstairs neighbor took --and it wasn't like this person was light on their feet either. Honestly it sounded like they were doing calisthenics up there! I even tried sleeping with earplugs and could still hear them stomping around. Any boy did they stomp - boom! boom! boom! - at great length and all hours. It totally ruined our sleep. So, if you want a clean room of good size and good location, but don't mind not sleeping, then this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treasuringlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

We've stayed here twice, both times in the suites (in a separate building from the main hotel). The suites are large and very comfortable--great beds and bedding, and a 2-person jacuzzi in the suite. The free breakfast is pretty plain, but, hey, it's free, and there are several great bakeries within a couple of blocks, plus a Whole Foods across the street. We have paid about $200 per night for a suite, which I think is a discount from rack rate; I wouldn't want to pay any more than this. Overall, a very positive experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugeno_montoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

I decided to book via the hotel site a jacuzzi room for one night prior to an event near by a few weeks from now based on reviews.

What I didn't note, was they CHARGED me for the room at the time of my reservation. Thanks to that, I incurred a series of charges I was not budgeted for. I cancelled the reservation and it took and while they did refund the charge, I'm still out quite a bit because I use my bank card for everything. Getting a hold of them has been a NIGHTMARE.

I've been unable to find any documentation on their site that support this action. I can understand if I'd booked a few days prior to the reservation.

I will never book anything at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

Booked two rooms at the Sonoma Valley Inn for two nights through AAA for myself and three others about seven days prior to our stay. The front desk staff was very attentive, pleasant and offered to move another booked room so that our two rooms were adjacent to each other. The lobby, although on the small side is quite nice and offers a well-appointed buffet of coffees, fresh brewed iced tea, and water at no cost. To supplement this, each guest in a room has the ability to order a continental breakfast which is delivered to your door before 9am. All of the items, delivered on a wicker tray are fresh and delicious.

Our rooms were very spacious, covering a large space with lots of room to spread out with a side sitting area, fireplace (with free duraflame log!) and balcony facing the interior courtyard, pool and hot tub. The sink and minifridge were conveniently located on a large vanity outside of the bathroom and also included a coffeemaker and glasses/cups. We had one room with a king and the other with two queens and they were excellently appointed.

The pool, hot tub and steam room in the courtyard were very nice and rarely crowded. All of the rooms on the first floor have interior access to the courtyard via balcony while the second floor shares a common staircase. Towels and chairs were abundant.

The hotel is located 1.5 short blocks from the Sonoma city square and is a very short walk to all major restaurants and shops. There is a neat network of paths from the rear of the hotel which wind into an adjacent conference center and eventually onto 1st ave.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Sonoma Valley Inn for long or short stays and is an excellent departure point for many winery destinations or other area attractions. We were able to make a day trip all the way north to the Dry Creek area, just southwest of Geyserville with the drive taking only an hour. There is a 7Eleven and Whole Foods immediately adjacent to the property, making lunches and snacks very easy to procure. Enjoy your stay, and if I ever make it back from snowy New York I would definitely stay here again considering the price!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattyry38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I visited Sonoma Valley for our Honeymoon at the end of August and stayed in Sonoma for 4 nights. We wanted to get a hotel with a swimming pool and something that would be close to the winery's. Sonoma Valley Inn's location is great. We were very close to many restaurants, winery's and a great shop called the Cheese Factory. The hotel service was great and our room was cleaned everyday which was nice. The pool is an outdoor pool in the middle of the hotels with trees and bushes for shade if need be. We only spent one afternoon in the pool but it was very fun. We also spent time in the hot tub one evening which was fun. The company was pleasant the night we were out there. There is a fireplace area also ourside by the pool which you can use and spend a night around.

Each day we got a breakfast delivered to our room. (small continental breakfast with bagels, cereal etc.) It was great to eat in our room each morning.

I would definetley recommend this hotel to anyone as we enjoyed it on our trip to Sonoma Valley.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NdAllie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing