We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here one night last week on our trip to the San Francisco area. I thought this was a great place to stay.....location was fantastic for walking to town square where there are great bars and restaurants. Had a Whole Foods across the street for wine and snacks for room. Loved the pool and garden area....thought it was very nice. Our room was a nice size and had everything we needed. Associates were all very friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again if we return to Sonoma.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    402
    131
    49
    28
See reviews for
193
501
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Hotel was a block and a half from the square and the stores, restaurants and the 4th of July Parade and rich in the history of California's beginning. There were wineries and tasting rooms very close. A great place and we will be back to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy to hear you found our property convenient and that you think we are a great place to stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Yes, it is walking distance to many places in the town, but the rooms built round a central courtyard with a pool are dated. Our, on the first floor was so dark, we had to have the light on to see anything, and there was only a small window looking at the pool. We were also next door to the metal gated entry to the pool which clanged loudly and frequently as guests went in and out.
The bathroom was very small, and the shower had a very old fitment.
The breakfast was in the adjoining Krug center, which was not a nice place at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello Dzonka,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologize that you did not have a great experience here at our hotel. We are currently in the process of revamping our courtyard area. We are replacing our patio/balconies with new woodwork, as well as getting all new patio furniture. We did also tighten the springs on the gate that you were next to so it no longer slams shut. We are looking into different light bulbs for our rooms; we are a “Green Hotel” and need to make sure that our bulbs fit into that requirement. Thank you again for your feedback.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location to explore all that the quint city od Sonoma has to offer. Easy walk to all the shops and restaurants. Pool and courtyard were amazing. Breakfast (despite the walk to an adjacent building) was ample and very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ccool68158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was prompted by a wedding at the Sebastiani Vineyards with family friends from California, Hawaii, Tennessee, Kentucky, and Florida. The location is conveniently within walking distance to nearby shops and restaurants. Facilities are clean with a reasonable selection for breakfast. Our room was on the ground floor with access to the adjacent courtyard, firepit, and pool area. Nice quiet part of town with lots of sights to see and shops to browse in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elnakaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Elnakaz1,
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool and garden area, your room and our location. Just a block from the plaza, we are in the perfect location to walk to our quaint plaza with shops, wine tasting and dining.
I am glad that you also enjoyed our hot American Style Buffet breakfast. We try to provide a large selection to cater to all of our guests.
Thank you again for your review and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue River, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is how well located it is. You can easily walk to the downtow square. The room was just average. Nothing special. We took the wind trolley tour and it picked us up at the front door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MKB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear MKB00,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that our location worked will for you but I am sorry to hear that our rooms were not special. We take great pride in our property and would like to invite you to contact me directly with any suggestions you may have to improve.

I am glad to hear that you booked the wine trolley. It is a wonderful experience and a very fun tour through the Sonoma Wine Country.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Honestly, I wish that ever one of my hotel stays could be like this and exceed expectations as this one did - the room, location, courtyard, staff and more added up to make it a truly perfect stay. The one woman who was often at the front desk (Debbie, I think?) was very pleasant, and awesome with restaurant recommendations. Incidentally, some of the best restaurants of my 11 night trip to Northern California were in walking distance of this hotel (should out to Harvest Moon Cafe and El Dorado Kitchen). The exterior of this older two story hotel with exterior corridors (no problem feeling safe though) is ordinary, but the courtyard in the center (containing an outdoor pool, seating area, hot tub, sauna and fire pit) was lush, quaint and picturesque. The rooms didn't disappoint either. They were reasonably roomy and very comfortable. The beds were comfy and it had a large television. I hope that the hotel continues to keep and maintain the awesome wood furniture (some if it matches picture frames), which also compliments the solid wood bathroom door and woodork in the bathroom, making the room feel more like it was part of a quaint inn. The rooms also have a fireplace, which burn only those little fake logs (they provide you one a day), but it's still nice ambiance. The bathroom was spacious and in extremely clean and good condition. The wireless Internet was easy to connect to and was stable. The number of outlets in the room was reasonable. The balcony had two chairs on it as well.

I noticed that some other reviewers complained of second floor rooms and no elevators -- this is true -- as it's an older property, so request first floor if that's an issue. Others complained about about having to "find" the breakfast across the parking lot -- yes, it's in the secondary building, a short walk across the small back parking lot, exactly where staff note that it is upon check-in, and it's not a bad breakfast,as it includes some good pancakes and outdoor seating in two different places is offered.

Room Tip: Second floor with a balcony (note, no elevator though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear coasterlink,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, our staff and our property. We take great pride in the service that we provide to our guests and I am so glad that you liked our recommendations. The Harvest Moon Café and El Dorado Kitchen are truly wonderful restaurants just a couple blocks away.
I also glad to hear that our rooms were beautiful and that our pool and garden area were beautiful and enjoyable.

Thank you for touching on previous questions and complaints that guests may have. It is very important to us that our guests know that they can make these types of requests to make their stay more convenient. We are here to help and do everything that is in our power to offer the best experience to our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to serve you and I hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing