We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I thought” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than I thought”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having stayed at Best Westerns and not expecting more than a clean room this was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were large, clean with a fireplace. Drinks in the lobby and a nice breakfast included. Pool area was very nice and there is free laundry facilities. Across the street from Whole Foods market and within walking distance to Sonoma Plaza for shopping and eating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear strawberryden,

I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations It pleases me to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, location and added amenities. I truly hope that you will stay with again and look forward to having you return as out guest!

Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    428
    144
    52
    31
See reviews for
207
554
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a lovely 2-night stay at this hotel! Our room was very clean, spacious and had a fireplace, with one log provided each night. We were greeted warmly at check-in, and Lisa at the front desk was very helpful with suggestions for dinner in town, as well as suggestions for wineries to visit. We were in a first-floor room right next to the lobby, which I was afraid would be noisy, but that was never an issue, and the location made bringing our luggage in and out of the room really easy, with parking right by the room. There is a separate sink area outside the bathroom, with a small refrigerator under the vanity, and a magnifying mirror on the wall, which is always a nice touch. The ice machine was a little far from the room, and the dining room for breakfast is in another building, but those were minor inconveniences. The hotel is in a great location for walking to the town square with shops and restaurants, and I'd recommend the Red Grape for a nice, casual dinner. I'd be happy to stay here again, and would highly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: I'd suggest asking for a room with a door to the inner courtyard, which was a really pretty sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Beth W,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a nice experience at check in and Lisa was so helpful and friendly. She is a great team member and we are very happy to have her. The Red Grape really is a local Gem and never fails to give consistently good service and great food! I am also glad you enjoyed our amenities and location. I sincerely hope you will stay with us again in the near future!

Best Regards
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I took my wife and daughter to California for vacation and one of the stops was at Sonoma. We stayed one night and did check in on May 13th. Upon arrival to the front desk the lady didn't even smile (in hotel, restaurants, etc. that always means that something is not right) and I told her I was there for check in. I told her that I have a kid and that I will need a crib. She said they don't have cribs but something similar but it has a fee. I then asked her if the room has 2 beds and she said "yes". At that point I told her "OK either of us can sleep with the baby". She never showed interest for helping us and I was still waiting for the courteous smile. Before leaving I asked her where can we smoke as we are social smoker. Her answer was "no you can not smoke in the hotel" and I reply saying "I know, my question is WHERE" and then she pointed with the finger saying back there toward the Krug Event Center. OK I left. I told my wife about the crib and you can imagine how a mom will feel like. My wife went inside and in few minutes she came back and told me that we have a crib. My wife told me that the manager was present and after my wife asked that "why you charge for a crib?" the manager said "NO, its free" Oh well. Now after all we decided to go and put our stuffs in the room. We had a stroller with the bottom part full of things and the baby sleeping, and our room was in the second floor. For my surprise there is no elevator. But we made it happen. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couple without kids. The hotel location is super great, The room was old but well kept with a nice view to the court yard and the breakfast was delicious. We had a good night there and beside having the plaza within 5 minutes walk, this hotel also has a CVS and Whole Foods crossing the street which was a plus for baby supplies and/or needs. The hotel was quiet in the night and they have free ample parking. The lady in the breakfast room was very friendly though.

Room Tip: If you have kids I definitely recommend to use the first floor as they don't have elevators. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmortis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear jmortis
Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry to hear about your check in experience and the unfriendly service you received. That is absolutely not up to the standard of service we strive to provide. I did some investigating and learned that the person who checked you in was a trainee that was with for a very brief period of time. This does not excuse your experience here however I do hope that this would encourage to you give our hotel another try should you choose to return to Sonoma.
I was pleased to hear that you did enjoy the hotel, its amenities and our location and I thank you again for taking the time to write a review and giving us a nice recommendation.

Best Regards
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very nice Best Western! Conveniently located a 3 minute walk to Sonoma Plaza where there are restaurants and shops. The hotel is clean and the rooms well appointed (our room had a fireplace!). Free parking right outside your door. Free breakfast was sufficient (pancakes, eggs, breakfast meats, pastries/breads- enough variety to find something for everyone). The breakfast area could use some more seating- it was fine for us coming in early, but I could see it being an issue during peak hours. Fridge in rooms is helpful for storing snacks/beverages. Hot tub and pool are a nice touch (though we didn't get to take a dip). Free wine tastings offered daily in the courtyard. Water and iced tea available in the lobby. (FYI Sonoma is a quiet little town and shops/restaurants close early- wish we had known that because everything was shutting down when we finally checked in after tastings at the vineyards all day!)

Room Tip: There is a pool/hot tub in the courtyard which was pretty noisy during the late afternoon with child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed out hotel and its amenities. Our wood burning fireplaces are a great addition to our rooms and we are so pleased that our guests our able to relax in front of afire after a long day exploring Sonoma. I sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here for three nights to attend a friend's wedding in Sonoma and this hotel was a great choice for me. The hotel is in an excellent location about a block from the square and within walking distance of attractions and restaurants. The room itself was huge with a comfortable king bed, a mini fridge, free wifi, and a bath/shower with good water pressure. Breakfast was free and featured free coffee, tea, toast, and yogurt. While it was nothing special, being able to grab quick food before heading out to explore the region was a nice convenience. The hotel does not have a restaurant onsite, but there is shopping center across the street that has a Whole Foods and other quick, inexpensive restaurants if you're just looking for something to grab and bring back to the room. What this hotel lacks in atmosphere (the decor is pretty hotel/motel standard) and charm, it makes up for with convenience, cleanliness, and friendly service. While it is pricey considering what you get, when you factor in the location and the prices of other places in the area, this hotel does represent good value and I would recommend it for people who need a good place to sleep at a non-exorbitant price.

Room Tip: This hotel has two levels and is motel-style, so if you have accessibility issues, it would be more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdeportesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear dcdeportesfan,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review! We truly strive to offer our guests an experience that provides comfort, cleanliness, convenience and competitive rates.

We always feel very gratified to know that our guests have enjoyed staying with us.
Thank you again and have a wonderful summer!

Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center is a comfortable, affordable, and clean hotel within short walking distance of the main dining and shopping in the city of Sonoma. This is a great property for families, as it has a heated salt water pool, hot tub, and steam room. A decent breakfast is served in the mornings, that caters to all tastes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSkier05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Rskier05,
Thank you very much! I am pleased to hear that our hotel, its location and amenities worked so well for you. We feel very proud of our property and are very fortunate for our great location and appreciate when our guests take the time to give us a review as nice as this one.
I very much hope that you will visit Sonoma again and I look forward to having you stay with us here at the Sonoma Valley Inn.
Sincerely,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We chose this hotel during the "Northern CA/Wine country" leg of our California road trip. It suited our needs perfectly; proximity to locations of interest (Napa/Sonoma attractions, Santa Rosa, etc.). The included hot breakfast is hearty and offers something for everyone (the automatic pancake maker is fascinating...I'd never seen one before). You have to walk outside and across a parking lot to get it, but it's not a huge deal - at least it wasn't to us. The first morning of our stay there was one room where the breakfast was served and not enough tables, so many people ended up eating outside during peak times (and it was chilly) or taking food back to their rooms. The second morning they had opened up a wall partition so that there was plenty of indoor space to eat, which was good that they were paying attention and making adjustments. Accommodations are decent and comfortable, which is really all you need because you're most likely not coming to hang out in your hotel room all day with so much to do and see! The fireplace was a cute little surprise; we used it the second night of our stay. We went to an AWESOME restaurant called Cafe la Haye for dinner one night; highly recommended. Oh, and there's a Whole Foods across the street as part of a little outdoor mall. Definitely a great thing! For the category below I chose "friends" but it was actually a trip with my mom (who is my friend, but a different kind of friend than my social friends).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Globetrotter71,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a kind review of your experience while at our property.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We offer many options for our guests for all of our guests and we are always pleased to hear when our guests enjoy it.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your room. Our fireplaces are great additions that will make any evening even cozier!
I’m so glad that you were able to enjoy our location. Our location is perfect for visiting the Historic Plaza, and also across the street from Whole Foods. Perfect for a convenience!
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing