We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is easy to find, great location - easy walk to the Square. Rooms are spacious, beds are very comfortable. The rooms open out to a courtyard that includes a pool, hot tub, sitting area with a fire pit .. It's really very well done. Staff were very helpful, friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Bikes are available to rent on site .. And breakfast is included. Whole foods and CVS is across the street. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear JoAlberta,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very fortunate to be located so close to the Sonoma Plaza, making it very convenient for our guests to park and play! We strive to provide a good experience for our guests I very much hope that we will have an opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    446
    157
    55
    33
See reviews for
225
593
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I decided for our one year anniversary that we would explore San Francisco.. We of course had to visit wine country! Upon our check-in, the day time staff was very accommodating. When we asked where to visit on our winery exploration, they were nothing but helpful and pleasant.
Our room was decent. For the rate in comparison to surrounding Sonoma hotels, it was our best bet. They were clean! We even upgraded to a King room with a fireplace.

Note: there is no elevator so carrying your bags up two flights of stairs is somewhat of a pain.

We decided to venture out to a neighboring restaurant early in the evening for a bite to eat and a couple of drinks. We returned to our hotel room about 10:30pm. The sign above the fireplace encourages patrons to utilize the one fire log you are given per day and that all you need to do is lite it.. You are directed to not touch anything, which we followed.

Well, about 2 hours later we were traumatically woken up to a smoke filled room and our phone ringing. The woman on the other end (Marggie) informed us that our fire alarm was going off. Why isn't there a fire alarm in the actual hotel room? Seems a little backwards to me.

After my husband opened the sliding door and aired out our room we notified Marggie that our room seemed ok and we retuned to sleep. It wasn't until an hour later that our room was so full of smoke that we both woke up coughing and choking. However, this time no one had called us to let us know our fire alarm was going off. We aren't sure if it was, because Marggie never called us back.

My husband called the front desk notifying her that someone needed to come to our room right away. As we rush around our room trying to pack our things a maintenance man arrives. He tells us we closed the "flu". No, sir we didn't. We followed the directions and didn't touch anything. So, did someone else close it before us? Housekeeping? Prior Guests that never used the fireplace? All we know is that we did not touch the flu.

We quickly arrived at the front desk, told Marggie we wanted our money back and that we would not be staying in the room she had offered us. Margie's disbelief in how our room became full of smoke was nothing less than disappointing. She began accusing us of being too drunk. Marggie, we had been sleeping for a couple of hours and had just awoken in a smoke filled room..twice. A tad traumatic. The fact that there is no one else working the front desk (no manager) was a hassle. Marggie quickly called the police, who moments later pulled us over, but due to that fact that we were not intoxicated, we were on our way back to San Fran only moments later.

All-in-all, what a terrible night and a terrible experience. My suggestion to you if you are visiting Sonoma is to spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else. It'll be worth it for better customer service and a nicer room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinFischer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear KristenFischer6,
My most sincere apologies to you and your husband. The way this was handled is certainly not a good representation of our policies and procedures. I can assure you that this situation has been addressed with our night audit staff.
Unfortunately we are unable to refund an Expedia reservation but what we did do was inform Expedia of the situation and we did not charge for the second night stay. In turn, Expedia was able to refund you.
We do have smoke detectors in our rooms. I will have our Maintenance Engineer follow up to ensure this does not happen again.
I would very much like to discuss this with you further at your convenience. Please feel free to call (707-938-9200 ext 452) or email me (kendall@sonomavalleyinn.com).
Sincerely,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I really wish I could give 3.5 stars for this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff is friendly, the rooms are a nice size, and the location can't be beat. The only negative that I can think of is the bed isn't very comfortable, but I am picky. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

While the photos of the courtyard are accurate and the property is charming, it is a much smaller scale than is portrayed by the pictures. The room I stayed in was in the Best Western (they are somehow attached to the hotel behind them as well). It was an older style room with a fireplace put into one corner. THere were cracks in several of the tiles in the bathroom floor, and the frames of the photos were screwed to the wall --not a bad thing-- and the holes were left unplugged/unfinished. The light fixture in the bathroom had a bare energy efficient bulb. For the going rate of a fireplace room with a balcony, a little more attention to detail is definitely necessary! The front desk staff is wonderful - very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is an average BW breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a fairly conventional motel style property with large rooms and pleasant surrounding which is very conveniently located for access to Sonoma Plaza about a 5min stroll away.
There was a complimentary wine-tasting on the Friday evening I arrived and the central courtyard venue near the pool & spa is a very pleasant area with plenty of greenery.
Reception staff were friendly & helpful, providing good recommendations for dining options in the area.
The room I had overlooked the pool but there were no noise issues during my 3 night weekend stay. The fireplace was a nice touch but, with daytime max temps in the mid-80s, it was the aircon that got used.
This leads to my only real gripe - the in-wall box-type unit seemed very out-of-date for this property & was not particularly effective in cooling the room in the afternoon heat. The balcony was private & quite large but the hum of multiple aicons running detracted from the experience & was very reminiscent of the time before modern quiet split-system units.
With modern aircons & flat-screen TVs in place, I would up my rating to 4.5!

Room Tip: Upper level at the rear of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Pinot47,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Im glad you were able to enjoy our Friday Night Wine Tasting. We always enjoy the opportunity to have our guests relax in our garden courtyard on a Friday evening over a glass of Sonoma Valley Wine.

I did want to let you know that we are replacing all of our TVs with brand new Flat Screen TVs as well as continuing the ongoing process of installing new AC units.
We hope to have you return to stay with us again for a cool and more quiet experience.

Best Regards,
Kendall C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in Sonoma as part of our honeymoon and chose to stay at the Best Western as it wasn't too expensive and a few minutes walk from the main plaza. The hotel exceeded expectations! Our room was huge and had a small balcony which backed onto the pool. We were also across the road from a shopping complex (but not too busy and it was quite quaint) which included a Whole Foods where we bought yummy food for a picnic and ate it on the balcony. There were two double beds in the room, lots of storage space and the bathroom was a good size. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet so you didn't really hear other people staying at the hotel. The staff were great too and recommended us wine tours and booked for us (we were picked up by the wine tour company the next morning). I was also ill during the trip and they helped me get an appointment at a walk in clinic. You're only a few minutes away from the main plaza where there are lots of fab restaurants and wineries and the hotel parking is free. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sonoma.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasBride_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear VegasBride_12,
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so pleased that you chose our hotel as the location for your Sonoma Honeymoon. Our staff loves to hear that they were able to be a part of making something as special as someone’s honeymoon a memorable experience. Congratulations to you both and we very much hope to have you back for an anniversary!

Cheers!
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Inn is in a great location and is a good value. It was a little hard to find because there are two 2nd Streets and we were on the wrong one. Once we found it, we were very happy with the location since you can walk to all the local shops and restaurants. We had a double queen room facing the event center and parking lot which was fairly quiet and a short stroll to breakfast. The room was comfortable and was fairly clean but could use a deep cleaning. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was one of the better free breakfasts around. The grounds surrounding the pool area are very nice with fountains and seating areas. The same for the outdoor seating area for breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INTANDEMBIKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear INNTANDEMBIKES,

We really appreciate when our guests take the time to write a review about us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room and your stay in Sonoma. Thank you also for your comments about the breakfast. We strive to provide a nice breakfast for our guests that they will enjoy.
Cleanliness is important to us and we are about to start a new ICARE Clean deep cleaning program so when you return you will be able to have an even more enjoyable experience.

Warm Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
202 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing