We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just stayed here with our family (2 kids + wife and I) and we had a nice time. Rooms were really nice for a Best Western...staff was very nice and helpful. Pool was heated and they have a nice jacuzzi spa.

Breakfast was included and was okay, nothing special but acceptable.

It's convenient to the Sonoma Square...walking distance to shops, restaurants and tasting rooms.

For the money, it's an excellent value in Sonoma. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    417
    134
    50
    28
See reviews for
201
527
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Best buy for the money Great location Staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. Ask for winery coupons and get the discounts. Buena Vista winery in Sonoma is one of the best Harvest moon cafe is great for dinner and Sunday brunch, Jen is the owner. Black Bear restuarant accross the street is terrible. Golden Hawk Cafe accross from BB restuarant has a GREAT breakfast and the scones are the best. Go down 4 blocks west to Sonoma Valley Market and it has a deli area that is much better than Whole foods.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel. Perfect location. Everything was very clean and the people were all very nice. Two suggestions: Get better toliet paper. One ply and too rough. Lower your rates. The price was too high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a fancy Best Western. Our room has huge and the fire place had a real burner log that was perfect on a chilly night. We stayed at another BW like this in Healdsburg but the fireplace there was gas burning which was not as cool. The bed was huge and plush. The rooms have a nice boutique hotel feel despite it being a major chain. It is only a few blocks walk from the square and there is a nice Whole Foods across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supernovagirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The property itself may be a bit dated, but the attention the staff pays to the details makes up for it! From the tissues being fanned out in their box to the wonderfully welcoming front desk staff, the service here was nearly as good as the four-star big-name hotel we stayed at in the city a day prior.

No, there's no elevator; and no, there isn't a bellman waiting to call you a cab at the drop of a hat (and a hefty tip). But, when it's a cool and rainy winter NorCal day, and you have easy access to a spotless spa, heated pool & sauna, and a roaring fire to warm the chill after a quick winter dip in the pool, what more could you ask for?

The staff were incredibly accommodating, ensuring we had a room with a fireplace (even though we booked through Hotwire). They even dished about the latest local gossip with us when we mentioned we used to live in the area. The iced & hot tea & coffee available in the lobby at all hours were a nice touch.

The breakfast isn't anything to write home about; we skipped it after the first day as we could get fresh, reasonably priced exotic produce in East Bay asian markets that we can't come close to touching at home in Wisconsin. (Dragonfruit are seriously 10% of the price here as at home!) But, it's included, and the staff were attentive and welcoming.

Our one complaint about the room was that the chairs in front of the fireplace were more for show than for use. A big comfy chair to relax in at the end of the day would have been very appreciated.

Room Tip: If you plan to use the pool often, ask for a room with direct access. We felt a little guilty traips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sauvignonblanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very nice,large 2 queen room with log fireplace,balconyoverlooking very nice garden patio area. Large well done.Very clean carpet just cleaned. Up grade breakfast with waffels,pancakes hard boiled eggs,cereals,bagels,toast +. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rates with internet special was great. Super location 2 blocks from plaza and lots of restaurants and shops

Room Tip: Loved 2nd story balcony/fireplace room. Upgrade recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and comments. We greatly appreciate the opportunity to host your stay in Sonoma. Thank you for choosing the Sonoma Valley Inn. We hope to see you back again in the future.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived in town after a 5+ hour flight and an hour+ drive from San Fran to a very nice staff that was very helpful! We had never been to the area and had several questions about dining, etc. The front desk staff was very nice and answered all of our questions.

The room was almost right above their offices. It was a very spacious room, but had no fireplace. Not a huge deal, but I was disappointed. The room itself was clean and in good repair, but was dated. This didn't bother us, though. The shower had good pressure, the drain worked well and there was even a fridge in the unit! Given the class of hotel, this location was above average.

Downfalls? Breakfast is served in another building, a short walk away. Not ideal. Breakfast was average, but the area was clean. There are no elevators. That's not good if you are on the second floor like we were. The exercise room is terrible. A bike, a treadmill and a small weight machine are shoe horned into too small of a space. It's a complete after thought. While clean, it's not useful at all.

Upside? Clean, great service and centrally located. If you are okay with a no frills hotel that's clean and located in a great spot, this is it!!

Room Tip: Try the Black Bear Restaurant across the street for b-fast. There is a whole foods, CVS, etc. in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and input regarding your stay with us. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Standard Rooms. Most of our rooms do have fireplaces, but I don't know the circumstances of how you booked or what our occupancy was at time of your stay. Depending on the circumstances I wish we could have resolved that for you while you were here.

Your appreciation of the staff means a great deal to them, because they pride themselves on doing their best to make sure all our guests have a great time on their vacation.

All of your input regarding your stay, including breakfast, helps us to work harder to make ourselves better.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing