We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Hotel Needs Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Hotel Needs Improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I hate giving poor ratings, especially because Sonoma is one of our favorite places in the world and the staff at this hotel was so friendly, but we unfortunately did not have the best experience.

I must say that the staff is incredibly friendly and accomodating. Staff was very helpful with recommending wineries and restaurants in the area and always asked how our stay was, which was nice. The location of this hotel is across the street from Whole Foods, beautiful hiking trails and scenery, biking distance from wineries tucked away in the woods, and walking distance from restaurants, shops, and wineries located in the shopping center. So obviously the location is phenomenal and we've stayed in Best Western's in Napa that were 5 stars and privately owned.

The downside - the rooms were quite dirty and smelled musty. We also had issues with our air conditioner. The room was never very cold, even with the AC blasting, and our biggest issue - the Air Conditioner was extremely loud and rickety throughout the night, so we never slept well. We're lucky to even sleep through the noise, but luckily, we were so exhausted from biking all day so we fell asleep quickly.

I guess you get what you pay for but we compared this Best Western to the Napa Valley location and there is a big difference between the 2. But if you're looking for a good location, friendly staff, and basically a place to crash for the night, then this is fine.

Room Tip: Make sure to check your air conditioner upon checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KCNYC_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Sonoma Valley Inn this past summer. We appreciate our guests’ input and use it to do better in the future. I’m sorry about the situation with your room when you stayed with us in August. Due to our extremely high occupancy we had difficulty keeping up with our regularly scheduled carpet cleaning. This is not an excuse, but we have definitely addressed this challenge to make sure this situation doesn’t occur in the future.

Thank you for the praise of the staff re: their helpfulness in providing you assistance with planning your days in Sonoma. They really take pride in offering whatever they can do to make our guests feel at home here.

Again, we apologize for your experience, but appreciate your comments.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    432
    149
    52
    31
See reviews for
208
565
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Best Western was a great experience for us. We enjoyed the stay, especially due to the nice and attentive staff. Try the pool and grill! Nice: washing machine and dryer for free! Breakfast is basic but you will not starve.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia_Romeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a very comfortable, very quiet hotel situated a couple of blocks for the historical center of town but on a relatively quiet street. Located across the street is a shopping strip with a Whole Foods, pharmacy, and several places to shop or eat.

We stayed for 3 nights before Christmas in a room with 2 queen beds. The beds were very comfy and we had plenty of pillows (we tossed the 2 large ones and the bolster on the floor). The room was large enough for the 2 beds a smaller desk, a side table and a couple of chairs. The fireplace was terrific although we had to ask for a log the first night. There is a nice balcony facing the inner courtyard. We did have some noise from the hot tub (which we also used) but that quieted down by 10 PM. All in all, the room more than met our expectations. One of the best I've been in this year and better than some Best Western Plus hotels.

The entrance to the rooms is on the outside of the building so it can be noisy when guests walk by with luggage or loud children. Also, it was raining when we were there and the walkways were quite slippery.

Breakfast as in the conference center and due to the rain, was a bit inconvenient as it was past the overflow parking lot at the rear of the complex. I didn't like the large tables as it meant you couldn't eat in your small group if it was crowded. The food was standard fare (waffles, cereals, bagels, etc) but also with yogurt and premade breakfast sandwiches (the kind you heat in the microwave). We had to ask for tea with caffeine in it as all they had out were herbal teas. Overall, the breakfast will not disappoint but isn't anything special.

In the inner courtyard, accessed only with your room key was a nice pool, hot tub and sauna.

I did not see an elevator to the second floor. This could be an issue with luggage.

The parking near the rooms was often full and we had to use the overflow parking. This was on the property between the main hotel and the conference center. Given we were near the front of the hotel, it was a bit far for carrying things back and forth to the car.

Room Tip: The rooms with a fireplace are particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotThereYet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

First class treatment a a reasonable price. Well situated in Sonoma, close to the square and scores of wineries and restaurants. I've stayed there several times for business and leisure and have always been treated with the utmost professionalism. Front Desk staff are sharp and friendly and beautiful lobby and accomodations make one feel at home. Thanks to all, esp. Nikki!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room....east side is more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel was gorgeous; we found a deal for a cheap King size (huge and comfy bed) with a fireplace and we loved it. The staff was excellent and very helpful for suggestions about wineries and dinner. The breakfast was above average, and there was a fitness room (nothing special though). It was a great deal in a great location- an easy walk to the plaza (where all the shops and restaurants are), and an easy walk to a bike trail nearby. There is a Whole Foods right across the street, and a gas station on the corner. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Kristen H.,

Thank you for your lovely review of our property and for your appreciation of our staff. Our staff takes great pride in serving our guests and doing their best to make their stay enjoyable.

We feare glad we were a part of your memorable experience in Sonoma Wine Country.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

A good place, not too expensive, in town and excellent service. We were able to get am extra night as well. And, the breakfast was adequately provided. Easy parking,boarding passes can be printed, everything covered and nicely done.

Room Tip: Well heated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sesphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our 3-day, midweek stay in this hotel exceeded our expectations, and we highly recommend it for anyone traveleing to Sonoma, especially if you're traveling with a dog. The staff was extremely friendly, and had great recommendations for everything we asked about. The complimentary wine (and olive oil tasting) at Cline, and Jacuzzi wineries a short drive away were an added bonus. The property itself is very attractive and well maintained, with a pool and jacuzzi in the courtyard and seating area with fountain and fireplace. We upgraded our reservation, and stayed in a king suite w/ jacuzzi tub and fireplace (and 2 televisions). There's also a stereo/cd, with speakers throughout the suite. Our suite was located was on the second story of the Krug Event Center, at the back of the property. I don't know if I'd want to stay in the suite if there's an event going on, because of noise/privacy, but if nothing's going on, it's a great choice. The room was large, very comfortable, and suited our needs perfectly. The bed, and pillows, were a favorite, as was the large tub! The hotel is centrally located near the Square, and has everything you need within a very short walk. There are many wonderful restaurants in the area, but there's a large shopping center right across the street from the hotel with a Whole Foods market, so dining "in" is a great choice. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection of items, and coffee, tea and cocoa are always available in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb8996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your extensive, positve review of your stay at our property. We really appreciate your taking the time to let others know about your experience here. So many travellers depend on others so they can make informed choices in their travel arrangements.

Thank you again for your valued input. We hope to serve you again, if you find yourself in the area agan.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing