We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Service but Dirty Carpets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Service but Dirty Carpets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved the look, feel and location of this Best Western. It looks well maintained on the outside and is centrally located to the downtown square and many restaurants. We we met with a pleasant greeting and promptly checked in. We stayed in Room 204. Everything was great - room was clean, big comfortable bed, real wood burning fireplace.... BUT the room carpet was FILTHY! Even our white socks got dirty so we resorted to wearing shoes in the room. Simply cleaning the carpet would have made this a fantastic property at a great price. PLEASE CLEAN THE CARPETS!

Room Tip: Avoid 204 until they clean the carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msa1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay via TripAdvisor. We are so sorry about the situation you encountered with the carpet in your room. Generally rooms are on a regular schedule to have this done, but do to our high occupancy were not able to keep up with this. Based on your review, we shared this concern immediately with our Director Of Housekeeping to address this situation.

We are pleased to see that everything else regarding your stay met or exceeded your expectations. Again we appreciate your feedback and hope if you are ever in the area again, you will give us the opportunity to provide you an excellent stay.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    432
    149
    52
    31
See reviews for
208
565
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My aunt, mother, sister, and I stayed in this hotel for two nights. The staff was very polite and efficient. The lobby was clean and lovely. The rooms need some major updating. Although the tub, toilet, sink, and bedding were clean, the very dated carpet and tile looked like they had deep grime with stains. Yuk! The pool and hot tub area, along with the grounds were lovely. Overall, the hotel was fine, just needs some updating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyfunMBSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your input regarding your stay with us. We are currently in the process of replacing and cleaning carpets where needed. The process has been very slow due to the fact our hotel has been running at or near 100% since June. This is actually a good problem to have, but does inhibit our ability to clean or replace the carpets. For example; in order to clean a room carpet properly the room must be taken down for 24 hours. We are doing our best to stay on top of this issue. However, during this busy time that is not always possible. We are also determining which guest bathrooms have issues as the ones you mentioned so we can take care of those during our slower season. We apologize that these impacted your stay.

Again we appreciate your feedback and hope if you are ever in the area again, you will give us the opportunity to provide you an excellent stay.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our room was shabby, had low ceilings, was dark and gloomy and the carpets were dreadful. We didn't feel safe in this place as the patio doors opened right into the interior courtyard.

The breakfast food was not bad but the breakfast room was crowded with dirty tablecloths on communal round tables. Not the way I like to start my day.

The location was the only thing that was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Driverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights in Sept. The staff was wonderful, and we had a perfect room. Our room was on the second floor above the office, and it was much nicer than a normal room. It was on a corner and it had plenty of windows. It was within walking distance of the downtown which has some great restaurants. They have a decent breakfast which would certainly get us to lunch. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCgirl2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let's get the one minor annoyance out of the way. There's no night light so you have to leave the light AND fan on in the bathroom with the door ajar to find your way there in the wee hours.

Otherwise, superb. The staff was without fault, accommodating and eager to please. The room we stayed in with two queen beds was comfortable; the bed was divine and lots of pillows, which I love. The bath is simple but serviceable with great water pressure in the shower. You can walk out your back door to the pool area for a dip or to immerse yourself in the jacuzzi or steam room. Beyond those areas is a small patio area with a fire pit, which we enjoyed one evening and lots of room to sit and enjoy the company of others we had gathered for a three-day stay.

This feels more like a boutique hotel than a chain. It's a real gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina9153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and had a wonderful time, the rooms are very clean and roomy, the staff are great and very helpful with directions and suggestions. The location is wonderful as you can walk into the town square where there are some great restaurants and wineries. The hotel offers wine tastings periodically and their courtyard and hot tub are fantastic for gathering after a long day of visiting wineries. Would definitely return and stay here.

Room Tip: In the chilly weather a room with a fireplace is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalane1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is our first time staying here and we will again. The rooms are nice but they are probably more motel feel than hotel. But its nice, clean,comfortable (bed was great) with fireplace. What you really pay for here is first off location. We were right around the corner from downtown Sonoma...cutest liittle area!! Tons of tasting rooms, little stores, restaurants, big town square area where you can picnic. We happen to be there for their farmers market...unreal!! I'll post photos of it too. Your also paying for what a nice peaceful area it is to hang out. Right outside our porch was a cutest courtyard and it was so nice sitting there drinking out morning coffee and planning our day. There is also a hot tub and down further a pool. In the evening lots of people out there drinking their wine. This place includes breakfast and it is wonderful. You make your own waffles, great coffee, rolls, bagels, toppings, yogurt, egg sandwiches in frig to heat in microwave, juices etc. There is also coffee in the lobby all day and a computer in the lobby to use if you need to print out directions. And free wifi in room and courtyard. We were very happy with our stay there and will highly recommend it to everyone....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rio1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing