We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff, wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good choice for location and value”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The central location (walk to all the sights of downtown Sonoma in a few minutes), and the comfortable rooms make this BW a very attractive option. Note that the hotel is split with the best rooms across a parking area in a conference centre. The rest of the rooms surround the swimming pool / hot tub. This is a green and lush space and nearly all rooms have balconies which face the pool. Oddly our room was in one of the corners and by design there was no balcony (and the windows did not open). Not a problem for us as we were out all day and it was chilly in the evenings so the fire was going - but this set-up may not be to your taste so check with the hotel when you book if you want a balcony. Overall, good experience with nice people behind the counter. We will stay again when we are in Sonoma.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    442
    155
    54
    32
See reviews for
218
585
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was spending a few days in the wine country by myself until my husband got into town for us to travel on to Yosemite together. For that reason, I wanted a nice safe hotel that was within good proximity to Sonoma's downtown and without being exhorbitantly expensive. The BW Sonoma Valley Inn was perfect.

I got a free upgrade to a king room with a fireplace. It had a slight view of the pool. Price was ideal. The free continental breakfast each morning met my needs - yogurt, fruit, baked goods and Starbucks coffee. It was only a few blocks to walk up to the plaza to all the great restaurants each night, which was also good to not have to worry about parking. Most of all, as a female traveling alone, I felt totally safe here. The staff at the front desk was also warm and welcoming.

The only issue I had was that there were some unruly kids out at the pool during each night of my stay until about 10:00pm, and it was annoying to hear them hollering and splashing about. The air conditioning unit was rather loud when it would kick on, but that's pretty typical of any motel like this. A fitness center would have been nice, but again, I was looking for a good value and didn't expect a place with a lot of extra perks. I just paid $15 to use the gym as a guest at the nearby Fitness Factory.

I would definitely stay here again if I wasn't looking to splurge on lodging.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mainliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very good value for money stay given Sonoma is not an inexpensive destination. Yes, the decor maybe a little dated but the corner suite we had suited us down to the ground and was clean and tidy. Two balconies, jacuzzi bath, shower with two roses (heads) fireplace (we didn't use it as it is the middle of summer and warm) and even a gratis bottle of wine in the fridge on our arrival. Staff friendly and helpful, winery coupons a plus and breakfast was ok. The pool was a little small and shallow (5 feet at the deep end) for me but the garden surroundings were very pleasant. the main jacuzzi was very good and we spent some time enjoying the hot water jets on a few aches and pains. The king size bed was very comfortable. Location excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here after staying at a more luxurious hotel in Napa (Avia) and there definitely was a contrast. This is a motel and the bathrooms are pretty dated and modest with the door of the motel room opening right into the sink/vanity area. But everything was clean and the bed and linens were comfortable. Our room had a little balcony which provided a nice place to sit outside secluded from the sun. It was also nice having a refrigerator in the room. The best thing about the hotel - and why we chose it - is the location which is walking distance to everything in the cute little Sonoma town. The worst thing was the air conditioner which sounded like an airplane taking off. When we checked in, I was afraid I wouldn't be able to sleep. But even when the temps were high in the day in July, they cooled off at night and we could get by with the door to the balcony being open. The staff was also helpful. If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room and want a good location, this is the place.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank denizenRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

With a large clean room and two queen beds, just a block off Sonoma's main square, the location and amenities of this hotel were perfect for two middle-aged girlfriends escaping the demands of family and work for a weekend. The furnishings are uninspired, but you won't be spending much time in your room, anyway. The room has everything you'd want: I liked having a small frig in the room for leftovers and snacks, and having a balcony off the room to dry suits and read.

The pool is small, but there's plentiful vegetation around it, so it doesn't feel sterile. And there are many tables with umbrellas on the nearby patio, and comfy chaises around the pool.

The breakfast was plentiful, but uninspired in the extreme: hard boiled eggs were the only source of protein, and you could have plenty of fruit as long as it was oranges and bananas. Carbs included minimal cereal, toast, bagels, Costco-style muffins, and waffles you could make yourself.

We got an internet special price, so were quite satisfied with the value compared to the cost of surrounding venues.

Room Tip: Use the internet to book your room, and ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristfromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Best Western hasn't been high on my list but our friend had stayed here and liked it.... Then there was the price, which was about half that of other hotels in the area.

We had a great time. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean; The beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and relaxed. We had a gate that led from our patio room to the pool, where there were plenty of chaise lounges and shade. Very relaxing; a room we were happy to fall into after a day of wine-tasting and great food..

The only critical remark I have to offer; the walls are a bit thin and there could be more insulation in the cieling. Otherwise, a perfect stay and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landscapeartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The positives: Great location two blocks from downtown, comfortable beds, refrigerator in room, decent size room with small balcony, nice courtyard. Walk to many good restaurants. Free guest laundry. Paid $200 a night.

Negatives: Rooms need facelifts, breakfast is passable...pastry selection is terrible...with a great bakery three blocks away, lots of kids in the pool. Workout room is ridiculously small.

If you are seeking a great Sonoma location as we were, with a pool, this is the place for you. We walked to the bakery for pastry in the am and spent little time in the room, so our stay was a good one. We were there for three days and found the pool quiet between 1 PM and 3 PM. Ask for coupons for local wineries...they had them for two we planned to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
196 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing