We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Probably a good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here after staying at a more luxurious hotel in Napa (Avia) and there definitely was a contrast. This is a motel and the bathrooms are pretty dated and modest with the door of the motel room opening right into the sink/vanity area. But everything was clean and the bed and linens were comfortable. Our room had a little balcony which provided a nice place to sit outside secluded from the sun. It was also nice having a refrigerator in the room. The best thing about the hotel - and why we chose it - is the location which is walking distance to everything in the cute little Sonoma town. The worst thing was the air conditioner which sounded like an airplane taking off. When we checked in, I was afraid I wouldn't be able to sleep. But even when the temps were high in the day in July, they cooled off at night and we could get by with the door to the balcony being open. The staff was also helpful. If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room and want a good location, this is the place.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank denizenRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    420
    137
    50
    29
See reviews for
206
532
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

With a large clean room and two queen beds, just a block off Sonoma's main square, the location and amenities of this hotel were perfect for two middle-aged girlfriends escaping the demands of family and work for a weekend. The furnishings are uninspired, but you won't be spending much time in your room, anyway. The room has everything you'd want: I liked having a small frig in the room for leftovers and snacks, and having a balcony off the room to dry suits and read.

The pool is small, but there's plentiful vegetation around it, so it doesn't feel sterile. And there are many tables with umbrellas on the nearby patio, and comfy chaises around the pool.

The breakfast was plentiful, but uninspired in the extreme: hard boiled eggs were the only source of protein, and you could have plenty of fruit as long as it was oranges and bananas. Carbs included minimal cereal, toast, bagels, Costco-style muffins, and waffles you could make yourself.

We got an internet special price, so were quite satisfied with the value compared to the cost of surrounding venues.

Room Tip: Use the internet to book your room, and ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristfromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Best Western hasn't been high on my list but our friend had stayed here and liked it.... Then there was the price, which was about half that of other hotels in the area.

We had a great time. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean; The beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and relaxed. We had a gate that led from our patio room to the pool, where there were plenty of chaise lounges and shade. Very relaxing; a room we were happy to fall into after a day of wine-tasting and great food..

The only critical remark I have to offer; the walls are a bit thin and there could be more insulation in the cieling. Otherwise, a perfect stay and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landscapeartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

The positives: Great location two blocks from downtown, comfortable beds, refrigerator in room, decent size room with small balcony, nice courtyard. Walk to many good restaurants. Free guest laundry. Paid $200 a night.

Negatives: Rooms need facelifts, breakfast is passable...pastry selection is terrible...with a great bakery three blocks away, lots of kids in the pool. Workout room is ridiculously small.

If you are seeking a great Sonoma location as we were, with a pool, this is the place for you. We walked to the bakery for pastry in the am and spent little time in the room, so our stay was a good one. We were there for three days and found the pool quiet between 1 PM and 3 PM. Ask for coupons for local wineries...they had them for two we planned to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel is really substandard compared to all Best Western hotels we've stayed before. Room was lousy, staff unfriendly and the pool disgusting... We booked a room with a fireplace for a healthy upgrade compared to a standard room, and guess what? There was no firewood available. Talking to the front desk about the fact that a fireplace is pretty useless without any single log, we only got the answer that this wouldn't be their cup of tea and we could either wait half a week until the manager is back from the extended weekend or just complain with the booking agency we go the room from... Talk to the hand... Sorry, that's simply lousy. Never again, there a far better places to stay at Sonoma than this one.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeetTomBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We only stayed at the Best Western, but it was amazing. Clean, spacious and beautiful grounds. The beds are so comfortable. Best of all, you get free wine passes to Cline and Jacuzzi Winery. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_gala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

originally booked in for one night and paid cash, decided to stay another night as hotel was very good and paid cash for this too. When we checked out we were told we had nothing more to pay. Luckily we kept our receipts as when we returned to England and received our credit card bill we found that the hotel had charged us for both nights on the credit card. We sent numerous emails to the hotel explaining this. Unfortunately they were not helpful and our last correspondence to them advised them that our credit card company would deal with them direct. We had to wait 3 months for the credit card company to credit our account and received no apology whatsoever from the hotel, therefore we have no intention of returning, so beware!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saphron51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing