We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of An Inn 2 Remember

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
An Inn 2 Remember
Ranked #2 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

An Inn 2 Remember provided the perfect setting for a first time in Sonoma romantic getaway. My girlfriend and I were looking for an intimate and warm room to serve as a base for our exploring wine country. The inn is very convenient to town, many restaurants and tasting rooms are within a 2 - 10 minute walk. The bulk of Sonoma vineyards are within 20 minutes driving distance.

We stayed in the Wisteria room that has a fireplace, large whirlpool tub, and forced hot air heater in the bathroom. Sounds silly but we were both very much impressed by the little things in the room like the flower made out of toilet paper still attached to the roll. Other little things like providing an umbrella with threat of rain, little snacks each day, and current suggestions for both wine and food really set the inn apart.

Breakfast consisted of tea, coffee, fresh juice, a first course usually consisting of delicious fruit dishes in a variety of forms, and a second hot course. We had bananas foster french toast, an egg fritata, and delicious pineapple sausage among other things. The hotel also seems to attract people from all over, we met people from the East Coast, England, Canada, California, and Texas.

The only cons were very minor. The walls are a little thin, not terribly so but it is to be expected of most B&B's. And parking was a little tight but certainly manageable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    61
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
362
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with our stay at an inn to remember, we received a fantastically warm and informative welcome (even though we arrived a few hours early and our room wasn't ready)
Whilst we originally thought the price was a little steep for a B&B we soon realised you get what you pay for, the owners provide you with a complimentary tasting card for about 20 caves (with each tasting normally costing between $10-15pp that's the cost of your room right there in savings!) and they provide bikes if you want to bike around the valley for free which was another real bonus.
Our room was nicely decorated and well finished as was the rest of the communal areas. There is a hot tub in the back and a fire pit for guests to use when it gets a bit chilly, as well as off road parking. There is also a guest fridge if you want to chill your wine or store some picnic food overnight.
The inn is a few minutes walk from the main square and has copies of all local restaurant /cafe menus or can provide recommendations.
Breakfast is a sit down affair with all guests at 9am each day, it's helpful to swop stories and recommendations with other guests but we found this a bit restrictive as early risers by the time breakfast was finished about 9.45 we felt like half our day had gone, would have preferred breakfast to have been a bit more flexible, but the quality of the food was very good. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend as a great place to stay in Sonoma .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahstevensonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at An Inn 2 Remember during our honeymoon. We absolutely could not have asked for anything more. The innkeepers were extremely friendly and legitimately wanted us to enjoy ourselves, not just at the inn, but in Sonoma in general. We got some great advice regarding things to do, places to eat, and vineyards to visit. As for the room, it was perfect. We stayed in the Jasmine room. The room was not overly large, but it had everything we needed, including a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Breakfasts were also great. Over the past few years my wife has developed allergies to several common breakfast ingredients, including eggs, spinach, and bananas. As such, each morning the chef made a separate breakfast specifically for my wife. We both really appreciated this extra effort. As for the breakfast served to the guests without allergies, it was very easily the best breakfast we had during our stay in the San Francisco/Sonoma/Point Reyes area.

Also, the Inn is located two blocks from the main Square in Sonoma. It made it extremely convenient to walk around during the day and evening, tasting wine, eating dinner, and listening to live music. At the same time, two blocks was far enough away from the Square that it was quiet during the mornings and evenings we spent sitting out on the patio drinking coffee or wine.

Again, I really can’t say enough about this bed and breakfast. My wife and I are really looking forward to spending future anniversaries at An Inn 2 Remember.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our first visit to Sonoma was especially wonderful because of our stay at An Inn 2 Remember. The inn/rooms were a lovely Victorian decor and impeccably clean and comfortable with added amenities like the "heavenly" bed, his/her bathrobes, outdoor hot tub, fire pit table and beautiful grounds. The breakfasts are absolutely gourmet and served with a smile and good conversation. For example, we had an eggs benedict quiche (I don't even like eggs but it was just delicious!) and a yummy banana flambe French toast. And every day we came back to the B&B to find a whole platter of before-dinner appetizers waiting for us in the fridge! The owners are so friendly and hospitable, trying to anticipate our every need and giving us great advice in regards to the best restaurants, wine tasting rooms, wineries and other area activities. They even supplied us with free wine tasting passes. The location is excellent-just steps from the heart of town and a great value for all the amenities. I would highly recommend An Inn 2 Remember and on a future trip to Sonoma, won't stay anywhere else :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the Palm Garden room and it was great. The room is small so if you have large pieces on luggage it can be challenging to find storage space. I would not let that hinder me from staying again. The room was cozy and has a vintage feel. We stayed for 3 nights and it was exceptional. We were with another couple but were able to meet the other 8 guests and interact with them. We would all have our evening snacks and a bottle of wine, which we purchased in town, while sitting around the fire pit. These were enjoyable and informative gatherings to get suggestions from other guests about wineries and restaurants. Our morning, family style breakfasts with all 12 guests were incredible with Graham and his wife. The food was incredible. They were very careful about my food allergy and substituted delicious dishes. Graham is a wealth of knowledge about wine and the area so take advantage of his suggestions. The location is awesome. The Inn is one block off the square and we took hot beverages every morning to walk around the square. This could be a best kept secret in Sonoma. We would avoid the hotel chains and recommend this to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the back and not in the house. It is a little more private and quieter in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TE1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August for our anniversary for 3 nights. We thoroughly enjoyed what this amazing place had to offer. Not only was the owners and cook a delight, but the room and accommodations were excellent and made our time in Sonoma much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in Sep '12 as part of a tour/roadtrip of California.


The good
2 mins walk from Sonoma's main square with all its restaurants and shops
Great hospitality from the Inn's owner
Stayed in the Jasmine room in the back which was clean, very quiet and romantic but a tad small if you have large cases.
The Jasmine room has a massive bathroom with a super big jacuzzi tub for all sorts of splish splashing fun!
Nice extras such as the big breakfast in the morning with all the other guests, free wine tasting passes (we certainly used them to their full potential!), fire pit with evening canapés etc.
Off street parking (4 spaces)

The Bad
Room we stayed in might be too small for some people with a lot of luggage.
If you are looking for a rural wine country location this probably won't be what you are after but perfect for those that want to stay in Sonoma town.

Other points:
Eat in the Girl & Fig restaurant just around the corner on the main square. Its the best in town and outdoor seating on a warm balmy night is terrific.
Murphys Irish pub on the main square is lots of fun. We had a great night there with a wedding party the day before their wedding....lots of Guinness!...but paid for it the next day with an almighty hangover (tip wine and Guinness do not mix!!!)
Get some nice food & wine items in Whole Foods store and head for Jack London State park (15-20mins out of town) for a sunny lunchtime picnic.
Drink plenty of good vino!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are nice and quiet - Jasmine has the biggest jacuzzi tub ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portofella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Inn 2 Remember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn 2 Remember

Property: An Inn 2 Remember
Address: 171 W Spain St, Sonoma, CA 95476-5638 (Formerly Thistle Dew Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — An Inn 2 Remember 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the wine pumping heart of Northern California, an enchanted fairytale getaway awaits. Conveniently located by the historical Sonoma Plaza, experience... "An Inn 2 Remember". Your accommodations in relaxing and beautiful rooms and suites, bikes, wi-fi, beautiful gardens,the most comfortable Heavenly beds,and the winery passport to local wineries of the Valley. Light Breakfast included on each stay (in room from March/April) Some suites in the rear building will have private gardens and solarium too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your An Inn 2 Remember reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Inn 2 Remember Hotel Sonoma
Thistle Dew Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing