We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and owners”
Review of An Inn 2 Remember

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
An Inn 2 Remember
Ranked #2 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Summit, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and owners”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

An Inn2Remember is run by friendly owners who provide great breakfasts and helpful advice. Graham, the chef, is also extremely knowledgeable about the local vineyards. Give him a favorite type of wine and he will tell you which vineyards you should visit first.

The location is perfect - a short walk to the central square and several excellent dining options.

The only flaw is one shared by too many bed and breakfasts. The rooms are overly decorated. The four-poster bed in our room blocked the TV and was so high that a stool should have been provided, plus there was no place next to the bed to put my glasses.

Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    66
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
385
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Firstly, if you are going to stay in the Napa area, I can't recommend Sonoma enough. It is a cute, old beautiful town with wonderful restaurants and architecture. Secondly, the place to stay is an Inn to Remember, which is literally 50 metres from the town centre. In the year that Kym has owned this B&B, she and her husband have done an amazing job of decorating and furnishing this old cottage, and the outside rooms in a special and opulent way. They are so helpful and knowledgeble and will go out of the way to help. Their staff are wonderful, and the breakfasts are to die for.

Outside is a pagoda with a firepit and it is great to meet up with other interesting guests there at night and have a wonderfully relaxing vino. We met some wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We arrived in Sonoma around 8 pm from Carmel. We didn't have a hotel reservation and were anxious to get settled and have dinner before everything closed. There was a town festival going on and parking was limited. While circling looking for a spot I saw the Inn sign. I called and the Inn Keeprs said to "come on over." They showed us several rooms and we chose a quiet room in the back of the property which came at a pretty good rate for Sonoma. As the others have said, the ammenities are very nice and they take good care of you here. We received snacks and a bucket of ice upon check in. The robes are wonderful and the grounds are very pretty. Lots of flowers and pretty birds flitting around. If we stayed another night we would have taken advantage of the bikes and fire pit. One of the best things for us was the location. We ate a late dinner at The Girl and the Fig and it was so nice to have a short walk back to that lovely jetted tub and comfy bed. The breakfast was great and Dana was a good host. I agree with another reviewer that Sonoma is the way to go. I found Napa too "commercial." We stayed in Glen Ellen after Sonoma and enjoyed it as well. Thanks to An Inn to Remember. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLP144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Wonderful all around ... Inn keepers, accommodations, outside fire pit, decks, hot tub and oh my the breakfast!!! We are already planning our next stay. Janet & Philip

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetmac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I spent one night here in the Cornflower room and it was wonderful. We were in town for a cooking class at Ramekins and chose this B&B because it was one of the very few that would accept a one night stay. Most other B&B’s require a two night minimum. Everything from the bed to the breakfast to the amenities was absolutely fantastic and we wish we could have stayed here longer.

Breakfast – It was delicious. We had donuts and strawberries drizzled with chocolate, crustless quiche and tasty chicken and pineapple sausage. The sausage was so delicious I asked where it was from. We’ve been to Trader Joe’s since then and haven’t been able to find it. I wish we could have spent more time here to experience the variety of different breakfasts they serve. Be sure to come to breakfast on time at 9am sharp or Graham (the chef) will make a snippy comment about you being late.

Room – We stayed in the Cornflower room and it was cozy and comfortable. This room is small with a king bed, lots of natural sunlight, a comfortable bed, and four plush pillows. I wanted to take the pillows home with us. I’m seven months pregnant and haven’t been able to sleep very well but I slept very well here. If I can sleep comfortably in this bed with my big belly, I think anyone will enjoy sleeping in this bed. The bathroom is well stocked with shampoo, conditioner, lotion, makeup remover towelettes, two soaps, a hairdryer, plenty of towels and two bathrobes. The only thing I can think of making this bathroom even better is a handheld showerhead. The Cornflower room is right off the dining room in the main building. We would recommend one of the rooms in the rear house if you desire more privacy.

Additional Amenities – Our room came with a TV and dvd player so we were able to borrow a dvd from their library and watch it after dinner. Afternoon snacks and juice are provided daily at 5:30pm under the gazebo outside. There were cheese, crackers, chips and dip. We had a 5:45pm dinner reservation so Les was kind enough to have the snacks ready for us at 5:30pm sharp. We were also given a card for complimentary wine tasting. There are three wine shops within walking distance of the inn. We visited two of them so my hubby could sample some wine.

Location – The inn is within walking distance of the square which is surrounded by restaurants, bakeries, shopping, and even a movie theater. Ramekins is only a few blocks away.

We recommend taking a cooking class at Ramekins and eating dinner at the Girl and the Fig. We also went to the coolest vintage five and dime store called Tiddle E Winks. We wanted to try some of the pastries at the Basque Boulangerie Café but didn’t have the time. Next time we would like to stay in one of the rooms in the other building for more privacy. This was such a pleasant stay, it left us wanting more. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try a room in the rear house for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsScubap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Sorry for the delay in writing this, but we spent three wonderful nights here in early May with another couple from Maryland. Kym and Les were the hosts you can only dream of. We shared some wonderful time/wine/cheese with them after our daily excursions and enjoyed very much their plans for the inn. As nice as it is, they continue to improve on their recent acquisition. They were very generous and friendly, and obviously care about their guests. Others have written quite nicely about all the great amenities so I won't repeat those but do have to reiterate that if you want a quality/affordable place with great location, wonderful food, and fabulous service from the owners and staff, this is the place to stay in Sonoma.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodnWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We're a couple from Norway who decided to travel to Sonoma for wine tasting, so we booked two days at an Inn 2 Remember after *a lot* of research; Googling both Sonoma and Napa Valley inns. We went for the Palm Garden room - not the largest room; it was mostly a big bed, but it was a good one! It also had a private backyard available, and a fireplace in the room.

We ended up staying an extra day because the place was so enjoyable. And we were on a tight schedule so that says something.

Some highlights:

* The owners (Les & Kym) are extremely nice people, and very hospitable
* The breakfast is something new every day and is always delicious (and made by an interesting British chef with a lot of stories, hah)
* You get a card which will give you free wine tastings in a lot of different wineries
* They have bikes which you can use to bike around. Perfect if you prefer to swallow the wine you're tasting ;-)
* The place is a 2 minute walk from downtown Sonoma, so you're close to everything.
* They have a jacuzzi which you can use whenever
* Every afternoon there is biscuits and snacks in common area

BTW -- We also had a though time deciding between Sonoma and Napa Valley before we went .. I think we made the right choice; Sonoma was a really cosy and laid back town and the people in the wineries and everywhere were all supernice.

Anyway, I could not recommend "An Inn 2 Remember" more. Just book:)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjorn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Inn 2 Remember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn 2 Remember

Property: An Inn 2 Remember
Address: 171 W Spain St, Sonoma, CA 95476-5638 (Formerly Thistle Dew Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — An Inn 2 Remember 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the wine pumping heart of Northern California, an enchanted fairytale getaway awaits. Conveniently located by the historical Sonoma Plaza, experience... "An Inn 2 Remember". Your accommodations in relaxing and beautiful rooms and suites, bikes, wi-fi, beautiful gardens,the most comfortable Heavenly beds,and the winery passport to local wineries of the Valley. Light Breakfast included on selected suites. Some suites in the rear building will have private gardens and solarium too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your An Inn 2 Remember reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Inn 2 Remember Hotel Sonoma
Thistle Dew Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing