We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of anything missing about this inn...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hidden Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hidden Oak Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Can't think of anything missing about this inn...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

Unless you want to be right in the middle of the vineyards for your stay in the Sonoma valley (which is perfectly reasonable, in which case Glen Ellen is idyllic), I don't see what anyone could want that's not to be found at the Hidden Oak. My wife and I wanted to stay in town, since the wineries close by 6pm and we wanted to have a place to go with a nice city atmosphere, great restaurants and bars to spend a late evening, all within walking distance of where we stayed. This hotel is a block and a half from the Plaza, just far enough to be totally quiet at night yet literally one minute from the heart of town by foot. There are only 3 rooms, and people seem to keep their own hours so we didn't see the other guests too often. Our room was huge and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was perfect to get something in the stomach before early morning drinking!

Overall, a gem,

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at the Hidden Oak Inn in Sonoma. I was quite skeptical, because I normally do not like B & Bs. However, due to the location of the Inn right near the Sonoma square, as well as the good reviews, I decided to give it a try.
It was just great. The house and the rooms are gorgeous. The hosts are also very good. There is a great breakfast, and afternoon wine and cheese. You can also walk to 2 wineries from the Inn (Sebastiani, Ravenswood). We plan to return to the Hidden Oak on my next trip to wine country.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank CANIDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

The Hidden Oak Inn is a nice bed and breakfast and very tastefully decorated. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is also great! Walking distance to the town center.

The breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese and evening snacks are delicious. The innkeepers also keep a fridge stocked with goodies for the guests. Nice touches throughout the inn which made me feel very welcomed, and comfortable.

The 3 guest rooms are all located upstairs. The downstairs common area are cozy and inviting.

The only downside that I noticed is that the walls are rather thin, and there is very little sound proofing. You can pretty much hear the neighboring room, noises from downstairs and outside.

I would definitely recommend the French Lilac room if you want to minimize the street noise and the pool noise.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed in the French Lilac Room, which is large and airy, and very pretty, with a lovely ensuite. The house is delightful and within 2 mins walk of the centre. Breakfasts are good, and wine and cheese in the early evening a real treat - also the cookies at bedtime.
We can thoroughly recommend The Hidden Oak.

  • Liked — Our every need was met with friendly service.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredteacherstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

I can't say enough great things about Hidden Oak and Valerie and Don. I stayed at Hidden Oak for 4 nights in June and was in heaven. The property and house are beautiful, comfortable and Valerie is very kind and accomodating. The room was spectacular, clean, fresh, pretty and very comfortable. Breakfast time was such a treat and Valerie made extra effort to accomodate my dietary needs.

The atmosphere was just ideal. Comfortable and beautiful. The pool area was fantastic, and we were greeted the first night with a lovely glass of wine and a cheese plate. It does not get better than this. Valerie had a lot of good suggestions for dinner nearby, and we had fantastic experiences all around. I am eager to go back one day. If you have not been, you should go!!!!!!! Coming home was a real let down....boo hooo....

I will always remember this part of my 10 day trip as the BEST park.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank redcatpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

Valerie and Don are great hosts. This bed and breakfast has all of the added amenities to make you feel right at home. Breakfast is not your typical continential breakfast - homemade granola, oatmeal and croissants. After a long day of enjoying the friendly town and visiting wineries, a nice relaxing hot tub experience is perfect. When you retire to your room, Valerie has already slipped in your room with warm cookies for when you retire for the evening. This is a definite must!

  • Liked — Added amenities
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Specialtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

The Hidden Oak Inn is a gem, as is Innkeeper Valerie, who put up with 7 women during a girl's weekend out. The property is beautiful- large and nicely decorated rooms, and a great backyard with pool and spa. Breakfast each morning was delicious, and wine and cheese by the pool in the afternoon was fantastic. Can't wait to go back.....

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Oak Inn

Property: Hidden Oak Inn
Address: 214 E Napa St, Sonoma, CA 95476-6721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A touch of old Sonoma ... Experience the warmth of this California Craftsman home in the delightful town of Sonoma. The casual elegance of this 3 room historic bed and breakfast reflects a time of serenity and beauty. The innkeepers have tried to preserve the past and added many antiques and collectibles throughout the Inn. The spacious rooms provide a restful interlude for two after a day of wine tasting or exploring the town. Amenities include: breakfast, wine and cheese tasting, wine tasing pass for complimentary wine tasting to local wineries, passes to local health club, pool and bicycles. Located just one block from Sonoma Plaza shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hidden Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing