We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a Sisterhood Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Oak Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Orange County, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Sisterhood Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

This lovely Bed & Breakfast was the perfect place for our first annual Sisterhood (with Grandma and Grandaughters) Weekend. The 3 large size bedrooms with private bathrooms allowed us to feel at home. Valerie, owner, was very gracious throughout our 3 night stay. She gave us a warm welcoming with a lovely cheese and wine hour with suggested wineries and restaraunts to frequent. Another perk from the Hidden Oak Inn was the winery tasting club card which entitled the card holder and guest to free wine tasting at many wineries--more wineries than one can visit in one trip!!! The Inn is located within 2 blocks of the main center of the town where casual and fine dining can be found along with gift shops and bakeries. We also enjoyed the morning walks around the quaint town. The Inn has all the amenities of home, but you are the guest!!!! A lovely place to enjoy the fruits of life along with a glass or two of wine!!!!
With high regards,

Sister # 2-- Susan

  • Liked — The location and the home-like amenities, but pirvacy also.
  • Disliked — No TV in the bedrooms...for morning and bedtime viewing-too busy other times
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Getawaygal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London W6
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

This is a well-located hotel in Sonoma, great for exploring vineyards and central enough to walk around the town. The owners are very nice and the free wine & cheese in the afternoon is great.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwardsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hidden Oak Inn this September while we were in town attending our friend's wedding. It was the perfect place to stay! Our room was perfect, the location was great for walking to the square, and we enjoyed all the comforts of home. Valerie, the Inn Owner was delightful and helpful. Breakfast was always a highlight. The wine and cheese was very fun every day. We even had midnight snacks waiting for us- freash cookies! There were snacks and refreshments provided whenever we needed it. We felt very cozy at the Hidden Oak Inn and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johannamm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

We absoulutely LOVED this palce ! Small very cute and very comfortable, exactly what we were looking for. Valerie made us feel right at home from the minute we walked in. Hidden Oak is immaculate and very nicely decorated. The very short walk to downtown is an added bonus.
Our bed was very comfortable, the bedroom was spacious. and the bathroom spotless. Our room looked out towards the mountains and at night we slept with the windows open to get the great, cool fresh air. In the morning you can watch the fog roll over the mountains. Something we don't get to enjoy here in South Florida!
Val prepared a very nice breakfast and sat with us just long enough to make sure we had all we needed.
The only bad thing about our visit was that our schedule only allowed us one night. We will absolutely stay here again next year, only for longer !

Thanks Val, see you next year!

The Palumbos

  • Liked — Reminded me of our home in New England
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CSPalumbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

we had a wonderful time at the hidden oak inn when we stayed there a few weeks ago. the location is great - just 2 blocks from the center of town. the rooms are very cute and comfortable (although they don't have TVs!) there is a pool that we didn't get to use but it looks very nice. the inn keeper is friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to eat and wineries to visit. we were there on week days so they just had a continental breakfast instead of a full hot breakfast, but everything was delicious. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ultimatejed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed for four nights during the week at the Hidden Oak Inn. We were in the Lilac room which was very large and clean. The inn is located very close to Sonoma plaza but away from any traffic - I slept soundly every night. It was close enough we could walk into the plaza for dinner/drinks every evening and not have to worry about driving.

The inn itself is larger than the pictures make it look. Breakfast was lovely and we looked forward to the wine and cheese each day at 5 and the cookies waiting in the evening when we got back. There is a large pool with lots of deck space in the back yard and a hot tub that was lovely after a hard day of wine tasting :) Also, I had originally read on here that there was no parking available, but this is incorrect; there are four parking spaces at the rear of the house available only to guests as well as space on the curb out front.

Valerie was very helpful with restaurant recommendations, and provided a book full of local menus, and loaned us a picnic basket.

Overall, a wonderful experience!

  • Liked — Lovely little details, great location, quiet & comfy bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

This is a perfectly located place right in downtown Sonoma within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The innkeeper is very helpful and friendly and each day you get a cheese plate and cookie plate in addition to breakfast each morning. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. Comfy beds, nice light breakfast, a great stay!

  • Liked — The cheese and cookie plates, nice innkeeper, great location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ACitro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Oak Inn

Property: Hidden Oak Inn
Address: 214 E Napa St, Sonoma, CA 95476-6721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A touch of old Sonoma ... Experience the warmth of this California Craftsman home in the delightful town of Sonoma. The casual elegance of this 3 room historic bed and breakfast reflects a time of serenity and beauty. The innkeepers have tried to preserve the past and added many antiques and collectibles throughout the Inn. The spacious rooms provide a restful interlude for two after a day of wine tasting or exploring the town. Amenities include: breakfast, wine and cheese tasting, wine tasing pass for complimentary wine tasting to local wineries, passes to local health club, pool and bicycles. Located just one block from Sonoma Plaza shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing