We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy yet comfortable”
Review of Bungalows 313

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalows 313
Ranked #6 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Classy yet comfortable”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here 5 nights while visiting the wine country. The accommodations were wonderful. We stayed in Luna, which I think was the least expensive. It had a nicely sized kitchen with everything you might need (including wine opener and glasses), small fridge stocked daily with OJ, water, and milk (they even bought me soy milk since I'm lactose intolerant). The bed was very comfy. There was a small bistro table and chairs upon which to eat breakfast--a similar set outside on the patio that was perfect for wine and cheese in the evening. The bathroom--oh my! We called it the "grotto shower." Wonderful rain shower in a tiled round showerstall.

The only things I missed were more counter space on the sink and a sofa; I'm sure they were present in the more expensive units. But if you're staying more than a couple of nights, I would recommend getting one of the larger units just for those reasons.

Breakfast included homemade granola that was excellent; I make my own granola, but this was even better than mine. And each morning I eagerly awaited the bakery "drop" of the day: every day was a different bakery item from the local Basque bakery--and every thing was so delicious. We actually ate lunch at this bakery one day just to get more of their yummy goods.

The owners, Denise and Tony, were so very hospitable. When we arrived, Denise set us up with winery recommendations and coupons. And it seemed like each day, Tony would stop and chat with us either on our patio or in the lovely courtyard with the charming fountain. We really enjoyed their hospitality.

And the location is within walking distance of shops and restaurants, which made it very convenient. We would definitely stay here again, but probably in a larger unit, and I would recommend Bungalows 313 to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplehatartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    50
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
43
230
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We recently based ourselves in this wonderful little B&B for 5 nights to tour Northern California. The place was so cute, our room fabulous and the staff was delightful. The amenities (especially the homemade granola) were wonderful and we truly felt like we were coming home at the end of the day. Our room had a private courtyard with a firepit (although weather didn't allow us to use it) and a semi-private courtyard with a bistro table and candelabra....what a nice touch! The owners seem to have thought of everything.....we highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

This was our first romantic get away since getting engaged over New Years. We loved the charming ambiance and the host & hostess were so attentive. We are planning a small wedding in the Fall and have decided this would be the perfect spot!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathybethell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in Sonoma numerous times over the past ten years, but the first time we had even heard of Bungelows 313. Our daughter and son-in-law gave us a gift certificate there. The place has five bungelows and we stayed in a "loft" style bungelow with the living and kitchen downstairs and bedroom and bath upstairs. We really enjoyed our weekend, quaint, charming and romantic little place. Nice grounds surrounding the bungelows. We liked that it had a kitchen so we could buy healthy breakfast items from Wholefoods and save calories for the evening and wine tasting. Although, the pastries they deliver in the morning were so delicious, we couldn't help but try these great muffins and croissants ---ah, sooo good! And the homemade granola is fabulous. Fresh fruit on the table was also great to take along on our wine tasting excursions along with cold bottled water. Great walking distance to the center of town and shopping. They don't have a gym, but you can get passes from the front desk to use at the Parkpoint Health Club -- which we thought was also nice. I liked the Aveda products in the bathroom. But most of all, friendly and great service! One thing that was different from our previous stays in Sonoma at other facilities was that they didn't have a wine and cheese happy hour. But that was not important to us -- we had already been wine tasting all day and didn't need more. We will definitely come back!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spinchick011761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I had the pleasure of visiting the hotel for one night and was pleasantly surprised by the accomodations. We stayed in the Vita bungalow, which is a two-story house that includes a full kitchen, back porch/patio, nice living/dining area, and an upstairs master bedroom / bathroom. Overall, the lodging was very quaint and well-designed. Bed and bedding were above expectations, espcially for a bungalow. The morning pastries and homemade granola and organic milk are a very nice touch and taste phenomenal. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliFLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Bungalows 313 for three nights. If you are looking for a nice, private room close to shopping this fits the bill. However, if you also want the service and hospitality of a traditional bed and breakfast, this is not the place for you.

First, we asked for an extra fire log for our fireplace so we could have a fire in the morning and the evening, but they said only one per day came with the room. Ridiculous for a room costing $300 per night. When we got there they were out of kleenex, we also kept having to ask for extra bathroom tissue, running out at one point!

The breakfast was only a couple of cold pastries in plastic bags.

All in all, I would not reccomend even though the rooms were spacious and nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccmmhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

With only three days to escape the hustle and bustle of New York City we packed our luggage and jetted off to beautiful Sonoma. Not having been before it was by reccomendation that we came across Bungalows 313.

Just an hour north from the San Francisco airport, we rented a convertable and enjoyed the stunning wine country scenery on our drive to "the square" in downtown Sonoma. The location was perfect - a block away from quaint shops and great restaurants, but tucked quietly away on a sidestreet with the property surounded by a high garden wall.

Beyond the wall was the most amazing coutyard; complete with a fountain, bistro tables and lush vegetation - very European. We walked to the office, were warmly greeted and brought to our room. The staff was very friendly and always accomodating.

We stayed in Terra II, a bright sunny two bedroom unit on the second floor of the main house. It had a full kitchen with all ammenities, a large bathroom with the most luxurious two person soaking tub, a full living room and master bedroom with plush white linens and big french doors. In the mornings we sat on the front porch and drank the gourmet coffee, which was provided, and ate either the homemade granola (to die for!) or the decadant fresh pastries that were dropped at our door. No detail was left behind.

After spending our days wine tasting (the staff will provide you with tour suggestions and maps) and cruising the rolling hills of northern California, we came back to dine at one of Sonoma's fine resturants, and then retired to the porch for champagne and cheese. It's so quiet and the air so fresh - the venue induces romance, relaxation and a feeling of ahhh. Zen.

I highly reccomend staying here should you find yourself in Sonoma. It's been one of my most memorable hotel/b&b experiences and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorktraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows 313? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows 313

Property: Bungalows 313
Address: 313 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bungalows 313 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows313 has 6 intimate luxury vacation rentals uniquely located 1 block from the Historic Sonoma Plaza. This European styled boutique features private suites with full kitchens or kitchenettes nestled in a charming Tuscan-style courtyard with a fountain and fire-pit. The emphasis is informality, comfort, and privacy surrounded by the natural beauty of the Sonoma Wine Country. Located 500 feet to the Sonoma walking/bike path (East and West); and the Sonoma Overlook Trail just to the North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bungalows 313 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows 313 Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing