We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Hunter Winery - CLOSED

Robert Hunter Winery
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

the gardens are amazing the views are wonderful and the wines are Splendid, if you like wines in the French style then this is the place for you to visit. You feel like you are strolling thru a friends garden then partaking of wine on their patio. The Champagne is one of my favorites in the Valley, served very chilled while enjoying the company is quite a treat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Gardens, great wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Really liked this vineyard and the historic perspective from the guide/business manager. A very intimate experience, with the widow of the late Robert Hunter stopping in to say hello during our tour. The gardens are historic and the plants are carefully curated from the mistress of the house's private plant collection. Was on the expensive side for tasting, with $25 tour/tasting fee which was not waived with the purchase of several bottles, but the pours were certainly on the larger side during the tasting. Be prompt; Kurt called us when we were turning onto the drive at exactly the time of our appointed tour (we were there within 4 minutes of our start time at 10 am). He told us he would have begun the tour without us had anyone else been present for the tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CMS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stop to this small producer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Made an appointment based on past reviews. Great stop! Kurt was a gracious host and took his time to explain the history of the vineyard and the landscaping around the house. Also great chards and sparkling wines. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doverho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing/Low Key”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

After you've done several wineries, seen the vines and vats, you really don't need to see many more. At Robert Hunter we sat in a very nice garden/patio and sipped some excellent wines without the hassle and time of wandering around acres and buildings. I'm glad they charge a little fee, it attracts more interesting people. Be sure to make a reservation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlennDetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is my 2nd tasting at this winery and I would say if you like a very pleasant comfy no pressure garden like setting for a tasting then go here the wines are excellent, i love the Champagne, my favorite, but there is something for any taste preference, at Robert Hunter. this time I joined the wine club so looking forward to my wines .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Hunter Winery also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing