We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of The Breakaway Cafe

The Breakaway Cafe
Ranked #29 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: A Sonoma Wine Country Bar & Cafe serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails for 20 years Locals rave about our grass fed burgers, brunches and fresh fish specials.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have been to Breakaway a few different times and always come away frustrated with how long everything takes. The food is good, but a little overpriced for what you get, other than some fantastic lunch specials they have at times. However, it is not a good place for a lunch break or anything where you care about time. It doesn't matter how empty the place is, the food takes forever and the service is slow. Coworkers often want to go there, but we know we won't have time so we usually end up having to choose someplace else. If you are looking for a good diner meal and want to just spend some time in the restaurant hanging out, then this is a good choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    67
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellen, California
1 review
“Great Service”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great food, excellent service. Staff very professional, One of the best burgers in the area using local grass fed beef.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
“One of Sonoma's Best!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I go with friends, meet the family, take the grandkids, or pop in by myself. You'll can run into lots of locals, see folks you haven't seen in a while, table hop to catch up, or quietly read a book or catch up on the news. Great calamari, wonderful salads, tasty fish tacos, and the shrimp and guacamole are the best. So are the burgers (ask my grandson) and their chicken dinners. I missed the braised scallops, but I'll get them next time around. The service is friendly, they accommodate large gatherings, and the waitress will hide the engagement ring for your son and serve it with a mimosa to surprise his fiancé.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Find”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for great food, with generous portions, in a wonderful locale, I highly recommend The Breakaway Cafe, in Sonoma, CA. This place is spacious. The service is good ( could be better, more attentive). And it is local. Not a chain. Do yourself a favor and make this place a destination.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gm12347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Dinner”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

What we love most about Breakaway Cafe is that everyone can have the type of meal that they want; from a wonderful steak dinner to a great patty melt or a plate of yummy tacos. This is where the locals meet and greet. Breakfast here is super too.

Helpful?
Thank Podgieree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakaway Cafe also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Breakaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing