We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red wine flight, risotto, steak and cheese platter”
Review of Plaza Bistro

Plaza Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Plaza Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spain Street
Transit: There is public transportation within walking distance.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Red wine flight, risotto, steak and cheese platter”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good food and wine.
1. Very good red wine flight
2. Tasty but small cheese plate
3. Delicious risotto, steak

Ok service
+pros:
1. Waitress recommended the risotto and she was right, it was great
2. we had two young children with us and they proactively shared the kids' options and did not overcharge for small plates of angel hair (as some restaurants do)

-Cons:
1. uncomfortable watching the GM bark at the bus boy
2. slow food delivery (our kids ate the entire meals before we received ours)

Nice setting
- right on the main square
- pretty dining room
- cozy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KWCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    64
    18
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lucky find on the Plaza”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Walking around the Plaza on a Sunday afternoon and choosing a place for lunch among the restaurants there wasn't easy. They are all beautifully sited and what could be prettier than looking out onto the plaza, or sitting on the plaza while you're having lunch? I'm calling it a lucky find because it wasn't anything about the outside of the restaurant that distinguished it a great deal from a few others, except that it seemed less commercial.

The the unexpected quality of the food and attentiveness of the service were what made me think it was a lucky find, not to mention being on the plaza. We felt particularly lucky to have found our way there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice happy hour”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stopped in on a Tuesday for a glass of wine before the farmers market opened. We found that they were having happy hour. We had a $5 glass of wine and a snack. The bar is quiet and the bartender is friendly. It was a good find for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Came upon it when first exploring Sonama and hot and thirsty decided to try it.
It had a good selection and the crab cakes and caesar salad were fine ,I added grilled prawns which were also good..It had a good renge of wines by the glass,There are a few tables outside on the pavement .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaPentycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice find”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I just happened upon the Plaza Bistro. We enjoyed a very enjoyable lunch. Real good food, great service and a relaxing atmosphere. We highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJL545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Bistro also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Plaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing