We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic variety

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour & lunch. We’d asked for varied vineyards reasonably close by so not... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Climber741093
via mobile
Awesome tour!

Visiting For our honeymoon. Had Chris as our guide. He made things very interesting and made sure... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Philip W
,
Bradenton, Florida
via mobile
Read all 735 reviews
  
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveler rating
680
43
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
680
43
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour wine tour cheese and crackers paradise ridge picnic lunch fun group new friends great lunch group tour great company would highly recommend this tour girls trip driver guide nicholson ranch private tour small group off the beaten path
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour & lunch.
We’d asked for varied vineyards reasonably close by so not too much travelling. (Tourists from UK who did 2000miles in 17 days!)
After a chat to work out our final preference we had a tour of great variety - medium size high end to large production to small holding with an Englishman living his dream.
Nibbles en route & lunch were lovely.

Thank Climber741093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting For our honeymoon. Had Chris as our guide. He made things very interesting and made sure everyone had a great time. Would recommend to anyone!

1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this at the last minute on the recommendation of our B&B host and was impressed by the speed of the response and confirmation of our booking. Our guide Bob was entertaining, informative and very engaging. The four wineries chosen highlighted various local styles and philosophies in wine making, and complemented each other very well. Lunch was a gourmet picnic and very tasty. As a first time visitor to Sonoma I would highly recommend this tour.

Thank majortom961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My two friends and I had an amazing time on this tour. Chris was a great host who was very attentive but also played great music on the bus. The bus was very comfortable and will conditioned. Lunch was also very good. I will definitely bring future friends who come to visit on this tour!

1  Thank njerig01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

My girlfriends and I had an amazing time with Sherman! The whole group was a ton of fun and Sherman took us to the best places. Many of the wineries we went to we would have likely never discovered on our own. The picnic lunch was great, as was the cheese plate snack. Highly recommended to any groups or couples. You don't have to worry about a thing all day- Platypus takes care of you!

Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We had high expectations for this tour given all we'd read about it and happily I can say they were exceeded. We loved this tour - had so much fun and enjoyed some great wines.

Mark our guide arrived promptly to pick us up from our hotel. He was friendly, funny, and informative.

The mini bus was really nice and comfy much nicer than we'd expected!

There was such a great variety of vineyards that's we visited and we tasted so many wonderful wines. Our favorite was definitely Loxtons as it was so great to meet Chris who owns the vineyard, and his tour of the vineyard along with the wine tasting was so interesting. The only disappoinment is that we won't be able to order any more of his wine when we return to the UK!

The lunch was fresh, healthy and delicious. We really enjoyed it.

This tour shouldn't be missed! Such a fab way to visit wineries. Big thanks to Platypus and especially Mark for making the trip so memorable.

1  Thank Alanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We had James as our guide. We reserved the tour for 2 days. He really went to great lengths in advance of the tour to ensure we had an itinerary that would be pleasing to our party. Everything was perfect. On time, great suggestions for wineries and food. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Thank CinMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were on vacation on visiting Sonoma for the first time. There are many choices for wine tours and we selected Platypus because of its high rating on TripAdviser. We enjoyed the day and met some interesting people, however we did learn much about Sonoma in the process. As a bit of a ‘wine guy’, I would have liked a more educational tour, especially since we were making our first trip to the region. Platypus seems to emphasize a relaxing and fun day, which is not a bad thing, however the only commentary from the guide seemed to be about last year’s fire damage in the area. If you want a fun day, Platypus will not disappoint. However, if you want to learn something about the region and history, there may be better choices.

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

​​​​​We learned a lot about wine making, proper wine tasting, and so much more as our guide Chris toured us around to select wineries in the Napa Valley. Light lunch included. Also, he made sure the day was fun as everyone got to know each other. On the drive home, Chris was a rolling DJ, playing hit songs on our bus, which prompted everyone to sing along. In all, it was an informative and lively way to spend the day with new-found friends! Highly recommended.

1  Thank MontyBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

This was our 2nd and 3rd tours with Platypus - and just like the first one, Platypus exceeded our expectations. The guides were great, the wineries fabulous, and of course, the wine was incredible. Our daughter and her husband recently vacationed in Napa - and based on our recommendation, used Platypus and was equally impressed.

We will continue to recommend Platypus to our friends and family and we cannot wait for our next trip to wine country!

Thank tboileau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews