We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when in Sonoma”

The Sonoma Cheese Factory
Ranked #25 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: N/A
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must when in Sonoma”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a great specialty food store!! Teriffic selection of cheese, fruits, meats and specialty oils & vinegars. If you are going on a picnic this is the place to go first. Don't miss the grill on the patio- amazing burger and brisket sandwiches. The fudge is out of this world!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    107
    50
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A MUST FOR TOURISTS TO THE PLAZA”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you want the ultimate casual tourist spot on the Plaza in Sonoma then you must not miss this long standing cheese factory. You get to sample all the cheeses, have an outdoor BBQ burger or sausage grilled to perfection. Great for families on a budget as Sonoma has few fast food outlets. Great espresso, lunch packages and deli sandwiches to die for! all you need for a picnic at one of the outstanding wineries in the area. Lots of interesting souvenirs and wines on offer too. Outdoor casual seating to the side and front. Always busy but fast service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank noosalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Outdoor Tri-Tip Grill irresistable”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

OK, mostly for cheese lovers (not me), but the outdoor grill offering tri-tip sandwiches was irresistible. Shady side walkway dining out of the foot traffic was VERY nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice spot that has an array of food and wine options.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We read reviews on Tripadvisor so we popped in. Nicely done store. Good cheese samples (but be careful with unattended children sampling cheese without picks). Very good choices loved the lavender jack and havarti locally produced. We also tried the gelato and it was great for the warm day. Wine was better priced and the sampling threw in a complimentary wine glass to keep! How nice. Didn't get to try the food though. But smelled great. Had fun!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poth94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George, Utah
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Roast Beef on Sonoma French Roll!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

O.K. I grew up eating sandwiches from this place when it was small. The baked their bread and made their cheeses.

Now they have grown and the quality is still the same when I visited there while showing my kids where I grew up.

You can eat your grub there on site or walk across the street to the Sonoma Square, and share a bench with people from around the world. Just ask, everyone is frindly and willing top have you join them.

Hit a number of shops all around the square, and don't forget to visit the Sonoma Mission just across the way.

As a kid I used to go in and watch them make cheese, I am sure you still have that opportunity.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahfooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonoma Cheese Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Sonoma Cheese Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing