We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Patio”

The Depot Hotel Restaurant Sonoma
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 7/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #20 of 138 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spain Street
Transit: Sonoma Plaza--two blocks away.
Description: The Depot Restaurant is a charming neighborhood restaurant located in an historic stone building just a block off the Plaza in Sonoma. Locals and visitors to the Wine Country enjoy casual Tuscan-inspired cuisine in the Vinoteca, in the cozy dining rooms, and on the terraces surrounding the shady Italian garden and reflection pool. Food is a passion at The Depot--whether it is making house made salumi and charcuterie, or handmade pasta, or fresh ricotta. In addition to products made in-house, the Sonoma wine country around us offers an abundance of new artisanal products. The search for the best local products is a treasure hunt the Chef enjoys--whether from the coast, local farms, or local cheese makers. Come join us for a trattoria-style lunch or dinner...or just drop into our Vinoteca for informal small plates of antipasti and a glass of wine. Our focus is casual Italian comfort food--served in an informal wine country atmosphere.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Great atmosphere. We sat at a table near the pool. It was beautiful. Had the cannelloni, which is a favorite of mine.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 178 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2019

After a long day of driving and wine tasting, we were more than ready for a nice dinner and relaxing atmosphere. We had both. Both of us ordered the veal dish, and were not disappointed. It arrived hot and well prepared. The table service was attentive, but not over bearing. The dining room was quiet, so we could carry on a conversation without competing with other diners or music. My only regret...I didn't have room for dessert. Next time.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crystal543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

We dined with another couple in the pretty garden setting of The Depot. The server evening air was thick with mosquitoes. We asked the waiter if he had any spray or lotion we could apply - he said "We couldn't do that - we can't mix mosquito repellant with food." We asked if we could have separate cheques for each couple. He said no, we can't do that, but you can break one bill onto two credit cards. When we received the bill the drinks were not itemized so we could not calculate what each couple owed. The food was generally quite good - nice salmon dish, delicious Genovese pizza, etc. But the pate our friend ordered had already been spread on toast which was laden with butter or other fat, The pate should have been served separately from the toast. The server continued his arrogant, aloof manner through the dinner. The person clearing the table tried to remove my wife's plate while she was still eating. Recommendation: apply your bug repellant or bring some with you. Be prepared for snooty servers.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

A quiet bar and restaurant a few blocks from downtown. Excellent food with good vegetarian as well as meat choices. If it's your birthday MIchael will serenade you with operatic voice aplomb!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

Calling all foodies, travelers and locals alike;
So where do I begin....this could take awhile. No I'm not going to write a novel, but what i wanted to relay is a little piece of small world history. Being a part of the Catholic high School system (attending Ursuline High School in Santa Rosa)20 some years ago, I got to know the Ghillarducci Family. Went to school, with daughter, Giana, now married to another classmate of mine John, runs the wine program at the depot hotel and restaurant. Carrying on the legacy of her late father and head chef Michael, she, her brother Tony and her mother Gia, all work the restaurant still to this day. The family bought the depot hotel in 1985.
So with that being said, my mom and I ( and long time friends) were given top notch first class wait service by the Nepal native, Pajang. He was so quick, so efficient, patient and kind. Let me also reccomend the shrimp louie salad was outta this world yummy, bread was fresh, and the pizza margherita was delicious! The bucatini looked and tasted amazing, as well as the chicken ceasar salad. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the food and wine, coffee to boot! Everything was perfect with the weather, flowing fountain in a pool outside and the lovely setting of a wedding reception venue. Statues resignate sporadically throughout the courtyard against the fountain pool. Rich colors of tuscan yellows and soft montages of browns and white in the dining rooms with white lined windows opening up to the natural air and the day's sunlight into the courtyard. It was like walking into a Tuscan villa. Im definitely coming back here again and again! Salute!

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank nade2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot Hotel Restaurant Sonoma also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Depot Hotel Restaurant Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing