We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sante Restaurant is the Inn's premier dining room and has earned a national reputation for its outstanding food. Michelin rated as well as the AAA Four Diamond Award, Sante is the only restaurant in the Sonoma Valley to receive these accolades. Conde Nast Traveler said 'it's worth a special trip just to eat here' and Gourmet Magazine calls the food 'the best of the new Wine Country style.' Only the freshest local produce, meats, poultry and seafood are used to create elegantly simple dishes that let the natural flavors of the food speak for themselves. A wine list, honored with Wine Spectator's two glass 'Best of Award of Excellence' features over 500 Sonoma and Napa wines. *Sante' will offer Grand Buffet's only for Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter and Mother's Day. Please call restaurant for further details.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegant”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The food was excellent! The service was excellent! Everything from start to finish was absolutely amazing. Anyone who loves food, wine and great service must not miss this. And the restaurant was lovely.
The Manager who used to work at the Fairmont in Singapore was very kind to introduce himself, taking the comfort level up a notch.
Although there is no strict dress code - please don't come in a t-shirt and shorts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kittySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear kittySingapore, Thank you for your “elegant” review. We are delighted you so enjoyed and we thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    53
    25
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I found Sante by reading other reviews and were happy we did. The food was absolutely amazing. Dinner started with a nice amuse bouche of celery soup and a salmon tart. I was wondering how this was going to taste, but after the first sip, I would have been happy if that's all I had all night. Truly delicious. We then. Over on to an amazing black truffle risotto and an heirloom tomato salad that had the most delicious tomatoes I've ever had. We both had fantastic fish courses before moving onto a pistachio soufflé that was the perfect ending to this amazing meal. Prices are what you'd expect at such a nice resort, but worth every bite. After our meal, we wish we had gone for the tasting menu instead so we could have tried more of the dishes. If you're in Sonoma, this place is worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Pete S, Thank you for your “amazing” review. It is wonderful to read how you loved every bite. We hope you will return again soon to enjoy our tasting menu. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, but ridiculous wine list”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a formidable restaurant. The food was fantastic--certainly worth a Michelin star (which it had, or has).

But one quibble--not minor--is that the wine list was ridiculous. It came on an electronic tablet, that was hard to manipulate. And with the tablet came a sommelier standing over us and giving us the hard sell on wines in the $200+ range. And, as best as I could tell, there were no wines below $70 a bottle, and no more than a handful (both red and white) below $100. Maybe this is standard for highbrow California wine country establishments, but the wine list at a comparable restaurant in New York City would offer more choices, with at least a few at more moderate price points, without the high pressure sales tactics.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_Hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Eric_Hemel, Thank you for your post. We are delighted you so enjoyed the cuisine at Santé. We do apologize for any disappointment with our wine list, sommelier service or Ipad menu. We do have some wines under $70 and we use the Ipad menu because it links to detailed information about the wines, wine history, etc. to give our guests detailed information to read about wines they are ordering. Our sommeliers are also there to share expert information and offer pairing recommendations, and I am sorry you felt pressured into any purchase as that is never our intention. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, so we may refine our services even further. We do hope to welcome you back to our Michelin-rated restaurant again. Best regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Overall it was very nice”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I arranged to have dinner here with my wife for her birthday upon the recommendation of friends who had eaten at Sante. We arrived 5 minutes prior to our reservation and were told they were not ready for us, so we treated ourselves to a self guided tour of the lobby. When our reservation time arrived a gentleman approached us and told us they were ready to seat us. I had selected outdoor seating because of the great weather. The wait staff was exceptional. We elected to order off the menu as opposed to tasting menu but asked for paired wines. The wine selections were excellent. The food was well prepared and presentations were very nice. So why not rate the restaurant excellent instead of very good? The restaurant has a dress code of "wine country casual". My take on this dress code would be something like slacks and a collared shirt as a minimum. We elected to dress up a bit for the occasion. However a gentleman was seated right next to us wearing torn blue jeans and a dirty white undershirt with holes in it. This seemed far too casual for me and degraded the overall birthday dinner experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear NC_Hiker, Thank you for choosing Santé for your wife’s birthday celebration. We were delighted to read how you enjoyed the cuisine, wine pairings, service and patio seating with great weather. I apologize for any concerns with the dress code. We do hope to welcome you back for another memorable meal in the near future. Best regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant! Our large banquet group was thrilled”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The reward--let's say our "graduation" at the end of an intense week-long photo workshop in the wine country was a dinner for 18 at Sante at the Fairmont in Sonoma. Our students flew in from all over the US and after crawling on our bellies to get the right shot in vineyards, it was so nice to dress up for the elegant and newly remodeled hotel and restaurant.
The Sante restaurant and the hotel staff went way above the call of duty when we asked for 18 wine glasses and wine for an impromput class photo just outside the hotel. I think it was Amy on the staff who helped us choose just the right location and our instructor, Joe Baraban, was so pleased.
We had cocktails in this gorgeous alcove lined with backlit wine bottles and then proceeded to our three-course tasting menu. With each course the sommelier came in and explained the wine we were tasting. And the selections were perfect from the most vegetarian to the dedicated carnivores amongst us. Service was elegant and flowing. The adult mac and cheese was absolutely sinful. The fish was delicate and light (so I felt a bit less guilty).
Booking this event with Arun Mali, the F and B Manager was so easy that I kept worrying that I had left something out. But it all came together effortlessly and the Sonoma Mission Inn made us feel welcome and respected from beginning to end.
The room was done in muted gray tones and looked over the swimming pool. We had it to ourselves which allowed us the luxury of cross-table conversations.
Truly a night to remember.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank technokitty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Technokitty16, Thank for taking the time to post the details of your special, post-photo shoot celebration in Santé. It was truly our pleasure to ensure this was a “night to remember” for your group. We hope to welcome you back again and again for many more special celebrations. Best regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing