We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gastronomic restaurant - very elegant!”

Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sante Restaurant is the Inn's premier dining room and has earned a national reputation for its outstanding food. Michelin rated as well as the AAA Four Diamond Award, Sante is the only restaurant in the Sonoma Valley to receive these accolades. Conde Nast Traveler said 'it's worth a special trip just to eat here' and Gourmet Magazine calls the food 'the best of the new Wine Country style.' Only the freshest local produce, meats, poultry and seafood are used to create elegantly simple dishes that let the natural flavors of the food speak for themselves. A wine list, honored with Wine Spectator's two glass 'Best of Award of Excellence' features over 500 Sonoma and Napa wines. *Sante' will offer Grand Buffet's only for Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter and Mother's Day. Please call restaurant for further details.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Sante was a complete surprise, was not expecting a Michelin 3 star restaurant on site. The wine list is fantastic - I guess I should not be surprised given they are in September. The sommelier is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. The food was imaginative, and just beautifully prepared and presented. It was pricey - to be expected given the Michelin rating, but good value in my book. The staff was super attentive and helpful. We'll be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LuckyJEDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear LuckyJEDI, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed a gastronomic delight! We look forward to welcoming you back to Santé and beautiful Sonoma Wine Country. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

After spending a relaxing day in the beautiful Spa my husband and I treated ourselves to an awesome dining experience at Sante. Do not sell yourself short by trying to rush to your next activitiy. The staff from the Host to the Bread servers (yes, there are bread servers, that make the butter sound like caviar"!! ) our server, the sommelier. Mark and Mike.. exceptional.
We tried the 4 courses.. Risotto , outstanding... It was all delicious but I was almost to full to have my camel figs with crème fraiche gelato.... Save some room for dessert. It is fantastic.
If you haven't been to the Sonoma Mission Inn in a while.. GO!
Sandie
Concierge

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sansa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sansa31, Thank you for your post. We are so delighted that you had such a great day in the spa and completed the experience with a “fantastic” dinner in Santé. We hope you will join us again soon. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were looking forward to eating at Sante, and were not disappointed.
I had made reservations the minute we arrived at the Inn to make sure I would eat there.
We were seated outdoor and the temperature was lovely, although when it cooled a little they started the heated lamps and it was even better
We had the 4 course sampler with wine pairing, and in my choices was the best ever risotto, with sweetcorn and truffles.... To die for... Perfectly cooked as risotto should be...
My husband loved his squid appetizer as well .
I had salmon and he had the 3 beef plate, both excellent
Dessert..... Caramelized figs, yum yum yum
An then the little surprise at the end... It was just as good as the one I had last year in Bordeaux, truly divine
the one thing that was a bit sort of off was that we were served on by 5different people during the evening... I always prefer one ...
Anyway it was an overall excellent experience...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Sante is a highlight at the Fairmont. We had a tasting menu purchased via a coupon service. Obviously our tasting menu was different from the regular tasting menu, adapted to the cheaper price we paid. No complaints, but not the bargain we thought it was.

The menu itself was well balanced and included some true highlights. The risotto with truffles was simply outstanding, a dish to be remembered. Would also recommend wine pairings. Excellent choices to accompany the dishes and ample servings.

Service was friendly and efficient, not obtrusive in any way, but with a pleasant presence. Only one complaint - the menu could be served at somewhat faster pace. It was still acceptable, but borderline.

All in all a very nice dinner. Quite expensive. But true Michelin star quality won't come cheap. And based on our dinner, Sante deserves it one star.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Michael-Traveller-JP, Thank you for your favorable rating. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your tasting menu and wine pairings and hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We ate here on our first night and were very pleased.
The restaurant is on the main square, and had a great buzz and was nicely decorated.
The menu offerings were great, and the wine selection was also very extensive.
We would def go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gocanes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Boyes Hot Springs, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sante at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing