We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and yummy food”
Review of Red Grape Pizzeria

Red Grape Pizzeria
Ranked #7 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Creative and yummy food”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We live in Sonoma, and go to the Red Grape often. They even do take out. Their pizzas have lovely, thin crusts, with regular, whole wheat and gluten free crust options. What we love is the variety of toppings -- either create your own or order one of the Red Grape's own "red" or "white" combinations. The choice is amazing. We particularly love the Mediterranean, the Sonoma, and the gorgonzola, pear and hazelnut pizzas. Although we usually get a pizza and a salad to share, this time we each had pasta specials. The main room inside can be noisy; the restaurant is almost always full. The patio in back is great and our favorite place. Look for specials every month - a recent pizza uses fresh vegetables from The Patch, one of our local farm stands.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    251
    73
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My grandson and I drove to Sonoma from Sacramento to celebrate his Grandfather's birthday at the Red Grape last Saturday. The weather was beautiful so sat outside on their lovely patio. I know that Grandpa and grandson's meals were very satisfactory (burger w/onion rings and a meat dish); but, I ordered the Gorgonzola salad and cup of soup. The salad was just okay.....way too many sweet nuts for my taste; but, the disappointment was the soup. The waiter suggested the Clam Chowder. Since it was lukewarm I told the waiter it was not hot. He took it immediately and, apparently, instead of a fresh cup from the pot, he must have put it in the microwave for a very long time. It ruined the clams and had a burned flavor after that. I would try the place again but probably order their pizza as it seems to get rave reviews.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingspans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Huge variety of Pizzas!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We found this restaurant by accident when we stayed in Sonoma a few years back.

Sometimes, my husband and I would drive down to Sonoma on a Sunday when we lived Rocklin, CA (an hour and a half) just to have pizza!!!

The pizzas are individual round pizzas served on a metal pizza plate - enough for one person - and just like they are made in Italy. The dough is thin and cooked in a wood oven - which is the BEST way to cook pizza!!! There are at least 25 (if not more) of red (tomato based) pizzas and at least 25 (if not more) white pizzas. The salads are great. My favorite was the white pizza with pear, gorgonzola and hazelnut. My husband was partial to the clam and shrimp pizzas.

It's on a side street and parking can be a bit tricky but doable. This place is SO worth taking the time to find!

This review required when we visited but unfortunately it has been a long time because we moved out of California in 2009 but I'm certain this restaurant is still there and serving up fabulous pizzas!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seralynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
362 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Tasty fresh, BUT a billing problem”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We had quite a tasty GF crust Sonoma pizza and a Gorgonzola salad for lunch on Memorial Day. Very happy they were open! Prompt and courteous service. All was good till we discovered a day later someone else's $115+ bill had also been charged to our debit card. Took a call by us to initiate a correction. Though promised, the mgr never called back. Eventually another staffer did and I learned the hold on our account would be there for 3 more days. Not too classy.

Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a casual meal!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was a great little restaurant in walking distance to the Best Western where we stayed. They offer some really good pizzas, as well as salads, burgers, and some "fancier" entrees. The service was good, and we were able to sit outside to enjoy the beautiful weather.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Grape Pizzeria also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Red Grape Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing