We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at The Swiss”
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunch at The Swiss”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I were there in early December for lunch. The prices were reasonable and the food was great. The hostess was a tad snooty, but we wound up eating in the bar which was a good move. Service was very attentive and the servers were pleasant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TakeMeBack76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    7
    0
    9
See reviews for
11
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel gets extra points because of its age and history, but do not expect modern luxury. There are four large rooms (suites, actually) on the second floor of this two story building. The restaurant takes up the first floor. The bedroom floors slope and all the furnishings are shabby without the chic. The refrigerator in our room didn't work and there was a large wet spot around the refrigerator. BUT...there is a great covered veranda that runs across the front of the hotel with a view of the town square. On a warm night my husband and sat out late and shared a bottle of wine.

This was our second stay at the Swiss hotel, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stopped by the Swiss Hotel for lunch this week and enjoyed it a lot. Always nice to sit outside on the patio and enjoy the fall sun while being under the patio cover. Food and service were very good as always. We have been going here for lunch or dinner for over 30 years.

Room Tip: Eat outside if possible. Have a drink in the old bar too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stopped in Sonoma for lunch during a tour of a few wineries. We chose the restaurant in the Swiss Hotel where we sat out on the back patio. Service was great, food was very good. I had the Eggplant Parm sandwich, H had the pulled pork sandwich. We enjoyed our choices very much. Very tasty. Plenty of parking in rear lot. Nice little town for shopping.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Songbird811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on our way to Sonoma last minute. With never visiting Sonoma, the pictures don't reveal the charm this hotel has. Great location, affordable price and historic feel. Staff is extremely helpful and showed they would go out of their way. I would stay here again for sure!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karrie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed one LONG night. There's no elevator for the physically challenged; the air conditioning didn't work (Sept. heat wave) and we couldn't open the balcony door or windows as the bar is located below and outside this room; the TV didn't work and we ran out of hot water in the morning. Miserable night-would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't get room #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The staff was very friendly! The second day, they were calling us by our name! The restaurant is delicious and its close of everything. There is also a great park to hang out in front of it. When i'll return to sonoma, I will definitly reserve there again!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Property: Swiss Hotel
Address: 18 W Spain St, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA 95476-5601
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing