We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great get away !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great get away !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked a one night stay after a day of wine tasting so we could enjoy the Sonoma square and extend our wonderful day in the wine country. We loved the room! The noise of the bar only lasted a bit and died down about 11pm. We'll be back for sure. Also loved the restaurant and brought dessert back to the room.

Room Tip: Room #4 is the best with a sun room however it's right over the bar, so be prepared for a late n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbhigbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    6
    0
    9
See reviews for
8
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We didn't stay at the Swiss hotel, but we had an excellent dinner there. We sat in the shady patio in the back, and though it was rather crowded the service was friendly and quick.
We liked the Italian dishes and enjoyed the lovely wines.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the hotel was great! It had a very homey feel to it, very simple and cozy. I was just traveling with two other friends, but it would be a great spot for a couples getaway, too. Definitely would go back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated, right on the main square in Sonoma. Parking is easy, just out the back. We had a bed so large that I needed to use the steps up to it and direct access to the balcony overlooking the square. The room had a fridge, lounge area and large bathroom.

Staying right on the square and sleeping directly above a bar can be noisy. The bar quietens down not long after ten so not a problem, but the garbage trucks came round rather earlier than I would have liked.

Breakfast was fine (toast, muffins, bananas, coffee, bagels) but a little simpler than I would have expected. The kitchen effort seems to be focussed on the evening restaurant. Much of dinner takes place in the walled, heated, fairy light filled garden and I highly recommend eating here.

Expect the usual benefits and drawbacks of an old place, lots of soft towels ad hot water, some history, plenty of charm and a little eccentricity.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room upgrade and bagging the room at the front with the lounge un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a contrast to our stay at Sonoma Inn last December, where we felt as if we were staying wit a stingy old aunt in her dusty spare room, and who didn't really want us around! At the Swiss Hotel, we got a queen "room" that amounted to a suite, and everything was just fine -- fresh, well appointed and thought-out, and welcoming. We had met the owner in December, and it was his personality that made us want to give this five-room hotel a try. The next morning we were talking about his caring attention to his guests' needs with one of his receptionists, and she said, "You couldn't have a better friend than Hank." What a recommendation!

Then, dinner! God, they must have stolen their chef from one of those fancy restaurants in Yountville! Try the Rosemary Chicken, probably the best prepared I've encountered in years. Excellent service -- a well-paced, a splendid experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a historic hotel. It was dated, but clean. Don't be surprised by the slanted floors. The accommodations are like a room at a Grandmothers house. The location was great (right on the square) especially for the price. Many rooms in Sonoma were booked the night we stayed. We were pleased to stay here over a chain near the highway and not in the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

First off, this is a very simple hotel NOT fancy but, clean. Just don't stay in room #1 over the square unless you are completly deaf.

The restaurant and bar however are great, casual places to eat, drink and people watch - one of favorite in Sonoma! Snag a patio seat on the dog friendly front porch if possible. They also have a great back patio. Try the beet salad with grilled prawns for lunch. The bread and olive oil is delicious. The bar has awesome bloody Mary's. The staff is old school and super nice.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the rooms over the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Property: Swiss Hotel
Address: 18 W Spain St, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA 95476-5601
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing