We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Fine Dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Kitchen

El Dorado Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
El Dorado Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Spain Street
Description: Executive chef Armando Navarro's farm driven cuisine is a collection of earthy yet sophisticated, complex yet straightforward dishes that showcase the essence of seasonal produce. Chef Navarro sources his ingredients from local purveyors and nearby Sonoma farms, a commitment and dedication that is in line with El Dorado’s overall eco-friendly green initiatives.Navarro’s deeply satisfying cuisine can be enjoyed at El Dorado Kitchen. In the center of the main dining room, parties of up to 22 can gather around a 21-foot-long table fashioned from a single wood plank reclaimed from a Vermont bridge. This table is perfectly positioned to afford each diner a view of the artistic talents hard at work in the open kitchen.An outdoor courtyard allows diners to enjoy the beauty of Sonoma. Enjoy dinner under the fig trees and the clear Sonoma sky or take your lunch pool-side in your own private cabana or on one of the inviting day beds by the pool. We also offer casual dining in our lobby, nestled next to the glowing fireplace.
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We dined here with a party of six & everyone thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Service was attentive & professional. The food was amazing! Amongst our group we tried many different starters & mains and everyone was pleased with their choices. Our server was very knowledgeble & helpful with wine selections. It was an excellent fine dining choice & we would love to eat here again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KKLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    262
    81
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude Service, Mediocre Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

After spending hours reading reviews and trying to find the perfect restaurant for our wedding anniversary dinner, I picked EDK. We had spent the whole day wine tasting and snacking and weren't super hungry for dinner, so we decided to split an entrée. Our server was rude to us from the time we sat down and when we asked if the restaurant allowed splitting an entrée she reluctantly said yes and begrudgingly took our order. If you have an issue splitting an entre, then charge a splitting fee or simply tell us no. It was as if she knew she wasn't going to make any money off our table and treated us as if needed to hurry up and get out so she could serve a table that was going to have a more expensive ticket. I get it, I've served tables but this waitress would have gotten a much outcome had she at least attempted to be pleasant. Finally, the food was just ok...we ordered mashed potatoes and literally received instant, bland, cold mashed potatoes. We were super disappointed with this restaurant and expected a much higher level of service, professionalism, and quality.

There are so many great local places to enjoy a dinner in Sonoma, just don't waste your time or money being treated like a peasant at EDK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brunch review - try the tacos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate there for lunch, and the Ahi Tuna was excellent! Some interesting cocktails, and the service was good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived in Sonoma after a full day in Carmel and Big Sur and on one of the recommendations of our hotel front deskmen headed to El Dorado for a late dinner! What a find! I had the butternut squash soup which was superb, followed by the scallops which were cooked to perfection. Our group of 4 were all thrilled with their choices. Desserts were fine but not up to the level of appetizers and entrees. Service was prompt and friendly. Waiter was well informed as to the menu choices and helpful in making choices. Would definitely go back!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food lovely patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have eaten there for a long time, since moving away we always said when we go back to our old stomping grounds we will go to the EDK.

We were so happy to see the food and service is still great. We ate lunch on day and dinner another day, we ate dinner out in the patio, we both had a couple small plates and a couple glasses of champagne. We splurged on dessert all were great. We had a wonderful waitress and that made the evening ever better. We will be sure to go back the next time we go back home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pourpartir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Kitchen also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to El Dorado Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing