We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Kitchen

El Dorado Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
El Dorado Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Spain Street
Description: Executive chef Armando Navarro's farm driven cuisine is a collection of earthy yet sophisticated, complex yet straightforward dishes that showcase the essence of seasonal produce. Chef Navarro sources his ingredients from local purveyors and nearby Sonoma farms, a commitment and dedication that is in line with El Dorado’s overall eco-friendly green initiatives.Navarro’s deeply satisfying cuisine can be enjoyed at El Dorado Kitchen. In the center of the main dining room, parties of up to 22 can gather around a 21-foot-long table fashioned from a single wood plank reclaimed from a Vermont bridge. This table is perfectly positioned to afford each diner a view of the artistic talents hard at work in the open kitchen.An outdoor courtyard allows diners to enjoy the beauty of Sonoma. Enjoy dinner under the fig trees and the clear Sonoma sky or take your lunch pool-side in your own private cabana or on one of the inviting day beds by the pool. We also offer casual dining in our lobby, nestled next to the glowing fireplace.
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very classy and sudued atmosphere. Our server, Greer was fabulous. She waited on us two years ago as well, which was funny. The food is so fresh and delicious...I wanted to lick my plate. LOVE this restaurant! Order the vegetarian plate - awesome! Hubby went with beef & was just as pleased.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    262
    81
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One word: Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was fantastic. The service was great, professionals all around. The local ingredients used to make our dishes provided so much enhanced flavor that we did not want our meal to end. Great spot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, quality food and warm atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I hoped upon seating that the chef would accommodate two children as the pub menu offering burgers etc was not available in the dining room. As a single parent who travels often and enjoys great meals the restaurant was quick to cook two delicious burgers. I enjoyed the pork duo as it was prepared perfectly. Don't miss the dessert offerings!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pac0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go for lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The service was slower than slow. The food was prepared so unappetizing. The fish tacos were terrible...big huge fried pieces of fish...couldn't find the fish under all the fried stuff. Tasteless. Oily sauce.
The chopped salad wasn't even chopped! Terrible presentation and no goodies to speak of in the salad.
The bathrooms at lunch were out of toilet paper.
I complained to the hostess and she argued with me but did say she would speak to the kitchen.
Will never go back and I'm local. There were three of us and no one was happy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NapaDebbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Kitchen, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear NapaDebbala,

I want to extend a very sincere apology for your disappointing lunch. We're looking into what may have happened that day to make your experience fall short of the high-level of food and service that we strive for on a daily basis. We'd like to get a little more information (such as the date of your visit) and also see if we can offer to have you come back in for another visit. We're certain that we can turn your opinion around. Please contact us at info@eldoradosonoma.com.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food that finally matches the reviews given”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here on Sunday. I chose this place because they served duck and my husband loves duck. Previously we have been disappointed in the overpriced places around the downtown area but this place met the price and reviews given. The tuna tartar was great and of course we had to get the truffle french fries since everyone was stating that they are must. They were very good and both are main entrees were excellent. Not one to normally order chicken in a restaurant since thats something I can make at home but the waiter recommended it and it was one of the best chickens I've ever had! Crunchy skin with very moist and tasty meat. My husband also loved his duck. We were so full from our courses that we didn't order desserts which I would have loved to try but will defintely be back again when we visit Sonoma in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrangel6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Kitchen also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to El Dorado Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing