We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tour”

Gundlach Bundschu Winery
Ranked #9 of 101 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As the oldest family-owned winery in California, we specialize in making distinctive estate-grown wines and sharing them and our property in a warm, fun, unpretentious manner.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our first tour in Sonoma, so we don't have much to compare. We did the "harvest tour", which was fairly informative. The guide was friendly and explained a lot about Gun Bun's history. We were able to taste 5 different wines, including a "reserve" inside their cave. It was an enjoyable way to spend some time in the lovely Sonoma weather.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LScilingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    67
    29
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Great chardonnay and pinot noir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was probably our favorite winery that we visited in Sonoma. All of the wines we tasted were excellent, but the chardonnay and pinot noir were incredible. The staff was helpful and we loved the tasting room with its memorabilia. Don't miss!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family winery in Sonoma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We reserved a space on the patio for our wine tasting. The staff was super friendly and the weather could not have been better. I would recommend visiting here if you are in or near Sonoma.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerpinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of Washington, DC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“eh. I didn't get the hype.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice setting, but overpriced tasting for a small variety of average wines. Would have expected more from one of the more established wineries in the region. Tasting room staff was not very helpful in descriptions of character of the wines, seemed more interested in clearing the space for the next paying customers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oldest family winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was born 71 years ago about two miles from Gundlach Bundschu.
It is, I believe, the oldest family owned winery in California.
Many hundreds of California wineries have tasting rooms where their award-winning wines are
available for tasting and purchase.
So does GB.
With all those tasting rooms and limited time, How to choose?
If in Sonoma, I recommend only two- Buena Vista for the wonderful history display and GB for history, for great wines- and for FUN !!
Why "FUN"? Try it and see

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gundlach Bundschu Winery also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Gundlach Bundschu Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing