We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good wine!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gundlach Bundschu Winery

Gundlach Bundschu Winery
Ranked #9 of 99 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As the oldest family-owned winery in California, we specialize in making distinctive estate-grown wines and sharing them and our property in a warm, fun, unpretentious manner.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stopped here for our picnic. Great spot. The location is very nice and the wine cave very cool. At first, the server was a bit cold, then she warmed up to us and our experience was very good. And of course we bought a bottle of wine!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank SeattleGalSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    65
    27
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique and Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stopped by "GunBun" on a weekday in late Feb. We stayed for over an hour and left with a few bottles and other souveniers. I've been able to find a few places that carry GunBun here in Denver, so now we have a new wine that we spoil ourselves with on occasion. This was one of our favorite wineries that we visited.

The service was awesome. We had the whole place to ourselves which gave us the opportunity to try everything on the menu.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank shinnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just go you won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great wine and not standard fair. Gervertraminer temparillo cab franc not your usual wines on the tasting menus. Our wine guy was not overly attentive or informative but did give us some recommendations of other wineries to visit. The property is spectacular and the wines are excellent.

Helpful?
Thank neh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine, excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We visited Gundlach Bundschu during a bike tour we took with Goodtime Touring Co. (also can't say enough good things about them) and had a great time. It was a little bit of an early start for our group of 10, but right away our guide woke us up with her enthusiasm and interesting stories and history. She was very accommodating as well, taking our pictures and feeding off of our group's interests. It was awesome to get a tour of the caves and to see the vineyards. The wine was delicious, some of the best we had during our short visit to Sonoma.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome family winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

The wine is great and the people in the tasting room are a lot of fun. The tasting room is on a hill and just outside they have a pond with great views of the entire valley, where you can picnic and have some wine - the perfect place in Sonoma, but a little off the beaten path.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank pilsen_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gundlach Bundschu Winery also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Gundlach Bundschu Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing