We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Rustic, Quiet”
Review of Sonoma Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonoma Chalet
Ranked #6 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2007

We stayed here 9/6/2007.
We booked Sara's Cottage. It was absolutely beautiful. Very charming interior. It had no TV/Telephone/Internet (thank God) but it had a A/C and ceiling fan. That came in very useful because it can be really hot in September. The inside cooled down nicely in the evening. It was just beautiful to sit on the front porch with a glass of wine in the evening and wtch the wildlife. We saw deer and jackrabbits The bed was really good.
The breakfast was lovely. We took it on the deck outside the kitchen at the main building. It felt like we were family and mom was serving breakfast. Nice, fun, relaxing.
Very easy to get to downtown Sonoma or tour Sonoma vally wineries, but the cottage was very quiet. No street or traffic noise. Just the light brise.
I would go here again. Very friendly, easy going staff. Very nice and clean place.
Bottom line: Beautiful and relaxing, fun to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AchimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Sonoma Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2006

Sonoma Chalet is a great place if you want to get away from it all but still be close to Sonoma Plaza and its shops and restaurants and within a short drive of a number of winerys.

We needed a quiet weekend to unwind from the stresses of a hectic life and this was definitely a winner. It's situated on 3 acres of land and abuts a pasture on one side. We chose one of the cottages, Laura's Cottage and although it was right behind the main house, it was very quiet and private. The room was beautiful with a number of antiques, the bed was comfortable with lovely linens and duvet, and the room with a wood-burning fireplace and small kitchen was roomy but cosy. It was beautifully decorated and gave the feel of a french country cottage out of another world.

In the afternoon we sat on our front porch and watch jackrabbits and deer as we drank our wine. The Inn offers free sherry in your room and there's a small fridge if you want to bring your own goodies.

Although we didn't eat breakfast at the Inn, an expanded continential was offered and looked lovely. You could eat out on the deck if you liked.

Good spot for a couple looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SandyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

I've stayed twice now with a third stay planned in a couple weeks. This is charming, wonderful inn. The hosts are warm yet unobtrusive. My father and I stayed in adjacent rooms (with a shared bath) and we both raved about about the charm and beauty of the entire place. Our rooms were quite inexpensive ($110 each) yet relatively large. Beds are made with just gorgeous linens. Every room is beautifully painted with whimsical, decorative imagery.

The property is incredibly convenient to downtown Sonoma but out of the way enough to be quiet. The main house and its cabins are older (looking for sleek, look elsewhere) but well-maintained and stuffed with lovely antiques, art, knick-knacks and charm.

The tasty breakfast on the deck consists of fruit, excellent pastries, coffee and juice. My room had a private deck with a stunning afternoon sunset. Light is just magical all around this property.

The inn is clearly a work of love to the innkeepers and a favorite of this traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cubro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

The Chalet was very charming and had a warm feel. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. Just a few minutes from the Sonoma Plaza. Great place to get away.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank Calini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

As other reviewers have said, the Sonoma Chalet is definitely "shabby chic" but it is also a great bargin in Sonoma. It is quiet, a short drive to downtown Sonoma, wineries, etc, and the breakfast is fabulous. You won't get omlets or french toast but the pasteries and fresh fruit were just perfect. Having a fridge, wine glasses, plates and all of that in the cottage (we stayed in Sara's Cottage) was also wonderful for an evening of wine and cheese on the porch.

3  Thank LeftyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Allpine, CA
27
Reviewed February 5, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Sonoma Chalet last September and we wanted to share our wonderful find. We stayed in the Farmview Suite, which is upstairs and is filled with antiques. We left all our windows open all evening and never slept so good! We usually stay in B&B's and this was the most quiet inn we have ever stayed in. The chalet is tucked up against a quiet hillside, next to a pasture but still within a few blocks of downtown Sonoma. I loved watching the deer in the yard every evening. We ate our breakfast on the patio facing the hillside pasture every morning. The room was kept spotless and the host and his helpers were so friendly. We stayed the balance of our vacation in Napa, but on future trips to the wine country we will stay at the Sonoma Chalet, it was more affordable and way more quiet than our usual Napa B&B.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2005

This was a nice spot considering the prices in Sonoma. I would stay here again but it's because of the other prices in Sonoma. The decorating was described to me by a friend as rather "tired" but hey, the bed was very comfortable, pillows very nice and the bathroom roomy. Breakfast - continental but the fruit was fresh and delicious and the coffee very good.

We had a great time in Sonoma!

5  Thank korybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
658 reviews
1.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.8 mi away
The Cottage Inn & Spa
The Cottage Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Sonoma
778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Chalet

Address: 18935 5th St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-5610
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: $125 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-style farmhouse and country cottages in Sonoma Valley's Wine Country. Three cottages and four rooms with fireplace or wood stove, decorated with antiques, quilts and collectibles. Situated on three acres just blocks from Sonoma's Historic Square. Continental breakfast served on the deck overlooking a 200 acre ranch or in the privacy of your own cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonoma Chalet Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing