We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hiddem gem - favourite stay in California” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonoma Chalet
Ranked #6 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hiddem gem - favourite stay in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Absolutely loved this place! My favourite stay during my trip to California this spring. The cottages are a 15 min walk from the main plaza - accessible, but far enough so that you have the countryside on your doorstep. At the side of the cottage is a nature reserve, where you can see wild deer and beautiful birds. The cottages themselves are so unique and kitsch. The rooms and common areas are adorned with trinkets, furniture and ornaments - its like The Little House on the Prairie meets the opulence of Bollywood, with a periodic feel. Its absolutely bananas in a wonderful way! Each room has a little balcony where you can sit and catch rays in the evening, enjoying any purchases from your wineries that day. Breakfast is served in a cosy little kitchen. A beautiful table is set by the owner Jo. The breakfast is fab - great coffee, cereals, fresh fruit, eggs and pastries to die for! Jo is a wonderful host - smiling and charming, yet unimposing. He was so kind and welcoming during our stay. He also provides you with a voucher (provided by B+Bs who are members to a syndicate in Sonoma) which gives you free wine tasting in many wineries. Given that my partner and I visited six wineries over our stay, I reckon this saved us about USD120 approx. Amazing. I really love this place. Would love to go back some day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I only stayed here for two nights, but it was a great time. I stayed in the Farm View suite, which is in the same building as the dining room. It was a wonderful old structure, and the old fashioned, rustic furniture and decor suited it perfectly. The room was a good size, including a couch and fireplace. As the name suggests, the room overlooks a farm with cows and goats grazing along a gentle slope, and hills provide a nice backdrop. Sonoma Chalet is in the middle of a residential neighborhood, so I wouldn't have expected it to be there if I was just passing through. The narrow dirt/gravel driveway leading up to it adds to the secluded feeling. Downtown is a short drive away. Sonoma is a pretty small city, so that wasn't a big problem. My GPS had the address on the right street, but a mile or two from the actual location. Google Maps is correct - the driveway is at the corner of 5th Street West, and Verano Avenue.

Breakfast was good but simple - juice, coffee, plenty of fruit, pastries, a selection of grains and cereal, and hard boiled eggs. The proprietor, Joe, was extremely friendly and accommodating.

Sonoma itself is much quieter and down to earth than nearby neighbor Napa. There are far fewer sprawling mega-wineries, and a lot more small operations. Wineries tend to be a little bit further apart, but that's OK. Rather than trying to hit up as many as I could in as little time as possible, I only went to three. It was a nice, relaxing day. I highly recommend stopping by Benziger winery. They have a great tour and the wines are fantastic!

I would definitely consider staying at Sonoma Chalet again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khuang82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Picturesque and quiet location make the Sonoma Chalet a superb getaway. We were warmly greeted and given wine tasting cards for the nearby wineries. We stayed in Leslie's cottage (there were three of us but the host was flexible and provided a futon as we were desperate for a cottage) which was charming and beautifully decorated. Sherry, board games and lovely porch to bring your wine back to! Breakfast is served on the deck overlooking the rolling hills. Absolute paradise. Just a 15-minute walk from the plaza - try to go on a Tuesday when there is a bustling farmers' market on the plaza until 8pm.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was our second stay at the Sonoma Chalet and it just keeps getting better. The setting was beautiful and our room was clean and nicely appointed if somewhat unique. The owners have done excellent work toward making thing comfortable and the Inn is exactly what they advertise online (unlike many places). For the price, you can't beat it. Ruth and Samantha were gracious hosts and we enjoyed every breakfast out on the beautiful deck.

If you are looking for a good value and a lovely stay that will leave you relaxed and refreshed after a day of traveling the wineries, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The Indian room for us was the best value. It has a private balcony for two and its own bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbob27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We visited Sonoma with another couple in the late summer/early fall. The setting for the b&b was beautiful, convenient to downtown and all the wineries, but far enough away that it was a very peaceful, relaxing setting. We stayed in the Mural Room while the other couple took Sophie's Room. We shared a bathroom. The rooms were quaint, though obviously older. Everything has a patina. There were some odd knick-knacks and the broken doll sitting at the top of our closet was a little creepy. Fortunately, that's right up my husbands alley. The bathroom was nice, but the tub/shower was short for me, and I'm only 5'3". My 6' husband had a particularly hard time showering. The floor boards of the room upstairs were quite creaky, you could hear the music the people above us were playing and the beds weren't the most comfortable ever, but after a day full of touring vineyards and wineries or a day trip to the Winchester House, it wasn't too difficult to drift off to sleep. Breakfast was delicious. Fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and a selection of pastries (served warmed). Tea or coffee and orange juice was available. There was no tv and no internet, but the disconnect was a nice thing. The service was wonderful. We'll definitely stay again should we make it out to the west coast again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmb367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

we have stayed here since 2008. This trip we were in Leslie's cottage. There is no wifi, tv,, newspaper or phone. Thank goodness! It is quiet and peaceful. Joe is the perfect host. We have stayed in most of the rooms or cottages and we love them all. Leslie's and Sara's are the best but Sara's cottage is hard to book because everyone wants it. Staying here is like staying at "the lake cabin:" or grandma's house. The place is always clean but the furniture is old and often antique. The beds are super comfortable in every room we've been in. It just has that comfortable, kick your shoes off and relax vibe. They get the morning pastries from the bakery on the square, in town, the rest is fruit, granola and hard boiled eggs. If you are in one of the cottages Joe brings you breakfast if the weather is funky or you request it. You can walk or bike into town. We both work in very high stress, demanding jobs. After two or three days of rest and relaxation we are ready to go back and do our thing. We have stayed in B&B's from Monterey to Mendocino and this is our go to place for peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed in Sara's Cottage for 3 nights. The building is attractive and spacious, but the kitchen and bathtub need updating. We did not want to cook, but there was no counter space to even make coffee and the sink needed work. The first night with rain an animal was under the floor. Joe "reassured" us that it was only a skunk. The last day we found a mouse inside. It is a little like going to your Aunt Millie's cabin at the lake. A little rundown, but all right if you like rustic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmiller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cottage Inn & Spa
The Cottage Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Sonoma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.8 mi away
An Inn 2 Remember
An Inn 2 Remember
#2 of 11 in Sonoma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Chalet

Property: Sonoma Chalet
Address: 18935 5th St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-5610
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-style farmhouse and country cottages in Sonoma Valley's Wine Country. Three cottages and four rooms with fireplace or wood stove, decorated with antiques, quilts and collectibles. Situated on three acres just blocks from Sonoma's Historic Square. Continental breakfast served on the deck overlooking a 200 acre ranch or in the privacy of your own cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonoma Chalet Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing