We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a QUick and Easy Sat Night Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of E-Saan Thai House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
E-Saan Thai House
Ranked #84 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Orange County
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fine for a QUick and Easy Sat Night Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The place is small 20 seats. We got right in on Saturday night. The service was prompt and the food came out fresh and hot. The Pad Thai was made with glass noodles. I found that a bit unusual and a bit tasteless. Tom Yum soup was good and hot and hit the spot on a cold night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A few observations before you go.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We live in Sonoma and had always gone to RINS, our favorite Thai restaurant..........but RINS closed this year, much to the town's dismay. E-Saan was usually pretty good and once RINS closed, we began frequenting E-Saan more often. At one dinner, upon examining the bill, we noticed that we were charged (I think it was ($2.00) for each Iced tea refill. That's odd we thought. So, the next time, we looked on the menu and sure enough, it says they charge you for Iced Tea refills. That seems like a blatant rip-off, no one charges for Iced tea refills, and more importantly, they just come around with the pitcher and fill up your glass with more Iced tea................ first of all folks aren't thinking they are getting charged and for each refill you're charged $.2.00........ what a nice way to pad the bill!

The following visit we avoided the Iced tea dilemma by simply not ordering iced tea, we silently protested the rip off practice but thought we would just enjoy the food. I ordered the Chicken pumpkin curry. You could immediately tell the chicken was old, or the dish was old, chicken gets that dried out stale taste when it has been cooked and sits around for awhile. In addition, there were pieces of chicken liver attached to the all dark meat in the dish, very little chicken and it was all dark meat, it was not very good.

We ordered the mango with sticky rice for dessert which we all just love. The rice tasted as if it had sat in the rice cooker and the bottom had burned, it had that slight taste of burn. We had raved about it to our guest and we were now embarrassed about the taste, it should not have been served at all.

These are pretty severe issues, padding the bill to unsuspecting guests, serving old food, serving food which has burned and is not good, we were really disappointed and have no intention of returning again.

Buyer beware. If you do go, ask about the Iced tea or any refills and the cost. Ask if the food is fresh. Send it back if it isn't or really, just don't go. They had a wonderful opportunity to gain the entire clientele of RINS which was always packed due to the terrific FRESH food, and in my opinion, E-saan blew it by cutting corners on the very thing you go to a restaurant for, fresh food cooked well and a sense of good value, not being charged almost as much for an iced tea as you would pay for a martini in a bar...................don't go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie33107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate there for lunch. I had the pumpkin curry. The sauce was great but the pumpkin was a bit overcooked. My wife's dish was excellent. The restaurant is small and very quaint. The staff was very attentive and friendly. We would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Thai but not Great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sometimes the quality of the chicken or pork used is not the best. Bland PadThai. Nice outdoor setting, but sometimes poor service outside.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine81D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have been dining at this Thai restaurant for several years, and it is by far my favorite. It is very clean and comfortable. It is small, but the service is friendly and fast. The food is delicious and fresh and prepared with care. The price is certainly reasonable and well worth it. If there is any downside at all, it is that the parking is limited, but since it is such a small place, the parking is adequate. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justthemessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E-Saan Thai House also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to E-Saan Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing